Day 2 – First Monday of Advent – Waiting for You, My Lord

1 Dec

Today I lit a Christmas candle

blog-matthew 5.16

moving from a bountiful Thanksgiving week of thankfulness, and all those daily reflections of what I am thankful for to advent – to a season of bountiful joy.

IMG_0806[1]

May you be filled with JOY this Christmas season and every day.

Advent is a time of preparing for the expectant waiting and celebration of the coming of Jesus Christ.  It is a time of rejoicing in His birth.  It is a time we thank Him for the precious gift of Him so long ago – a gift we have to cling to every moment of our lives knowing He is coming again.  He is the greatest gift,

IMG_0811[1]

KING of Kings!!!!!

the greatest illustration of joy, and our greatest source of joy.

IMG_0809[1]

May you be filled with unspeakable joy this year.

 It only took a few minutes to run upstairs and grab a candle as I rushed up from my morning study and read my first Ann Voskamp free no-stress manifestos –  great reminders for each one of us and a gift from Ann for this December.

I am waiting Lord.  This December will not become a production in my home, in my life – it’s all about You!  May I remember that not only this Christmas season, but every day of the year.  May I reflect this day as I decorate for this season only on You.

IMG_0810[1]

“J” is for Jesus born on Christmas day!

  May I look at that candle, that crown, that Jesus candy cane, those joy ornaments and be reminded of You, the Light and know I am the light in my home and everywhere I go.  May I shine for You.

I pray you catch a glimpse of the Light, of His light.

 Remember He is the reason for the season.

You can print out all of Ann’s sticky notes here or find her on Facebook where she started sharing the sticky notes today.  I printed them off on card stock and putting them on a ring.

Photo: Hey Soul? December 1st! Okay -- deep breath -- not only is this month going to be okay --- it's all going to be Beautiful!<br /><br /><br /> No-Stress Holidays this year --  because simply? quietly...<br /><br /><br /> we are hushing the hurry & waiting for you, Lord.<br /><br /><br /> And when we know it's all about Jesus -- there. is. no. stress.<br /><br /><br /> And we whisper it:<br /><br /><br /> I will not let December become about making a production<br /><br /><br /> when it's simply about not. missing. You.<br /><br /><br /> Miracles happen throughout Advent --<br /><br /><br /> whenever I slow.... whenever I still.... whenever I simply look for small and unlikely shoots of Jesus' love everywhere...<br /><br /><br /> because this grows deep in Jesus' love for everyone.<br /><br /><br /> ~ from #TheGreatestGift<br /><br /><br /> www.TheGreatestChristmas.com</p><br /><br /> <p>#Day1 #TheGreatestGift #LookForTheSmall </p><br /><br /> <p>[ yep, free 25 No-Stress Manifestos for every day of December,<br /><br /><br /> like an Advent Calendar for Big People, so we unwrap *Jesus* & not *stress* :) ... free Stress-Free Holiday Sticky Notes for Your Soul, right here: http://bit.ly/NoStressHolidayManifesto ]

8 Responses to “Day 2 – First Monday of Advent – Waiting for You, My Lord”

  1. Mary Bankert December 1, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

    Love the Ann sticky notes series! I printed them all out to use but plan to share too! THANK YOU for writing about them too! Simple and focused on Jesus, that is my goal this year!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking December 1, 2014 at 1:36 pm #

      AMEN Mary. I’m just overwhelmed more and more each year. Yesterday as we put up our lights and went next door to Mix’s mom to do hers I just savored it all. We never, never know who won’t be here next year. Been a little melancholy a couple of times as I got out ornaments yesterday Mom had given us and today putting up the beautiful nativity she gave me years ago. Got the Christmas music playing and about to finish up ironing and then mopping and more decorating. Loving that school didn’t call today.

      Like

  2. joanneviola December 2, 2014 at 7:30 am #

    May this season of waiting be special for you & your family. May we both take time each day to savor Him & how He shows up in our day. So glad I visited from Titus 2 Tues. Blessings!

    Like

  3. tmpresser December 5, 2014 at 6:24 am #

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful post at Good Morning Mondays. I have never really thought of the Advent period being a lead up to Christmas and the preparation and expectation we should have, thank you for reminding me. Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking December 5, 2014 at 8:08 am #

      I have never really studied the advent, but as I do this year it’s becoming really special.

      Like

  4. readywriterbr December 1, 2015 at 6:40 pm #

    this is my first year to celebrate Advent, and I’m using the materials from Ann Voskamp, as you are. My desire is that this process will help our family keep our focus on the true meaning of Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

