New Year – 2015

31 Dec

happy new year 20151

It is hard to believe it’s the beginning of a new year.   It’s like the beginning, a new start of a new book for 2015, and the ending of a book for 2014.  We can start today to write about our lives for 2015, and close that book for 2014.  It’s the first day of 365 days, it’s the first day of a new chapter, a day and a year to start over.  Write it to His glory this year!  Start today moving into a new year with a fresh start and fresh attitude. What is your story going to look like this year?  Write out some goals.  Choose one word.  Chose a Bible verse.

A new year, a new me!  A new year, a new beginning!  Goals set, goals broken! Promises made, promises failed. Resolutions made year after year, resolutions broken year after year, but several years ago I changed that.  I focus now on “one word”.  I choose one word to reflect on it all through the year, and it is so much easier.  In 2014 I chose the word simplify and wrote about it here.   For me it was just simpler to pause and reflect on that word as I worked on my home and my health.  In 2013, my one word was less – less of me, more of Him.

My Word for 2015 seems a bit more difficult, and I thought about several like focus, obey, healthy, and organize, but finally settled on:

picmonkey-image-60

The word, focus just kept coming back to me, and it seemed to encompass most of the things I want to accomplish this year.  I want to wake up each morning asking God what I need to focus on today – is it family, is it organization, is it blogging, is it encouraging others, is it exercising?  So much more than a New Year’s resolution.  It is focusing on Him in all areas of my life as a wife, mother, grandmother, mother-in-law, aunt, cousin, niece, teacher, leader, etc..  Waiting to whisper this new word this year and keep it close when thoughts start making me think I can’t do it or I’m not good enough.  I’ll think about that word and focus and fix my eyes on Him.

picmonkey-image-5

I not only chose a word for 2015, but also started a new tradition this Christmas where I shared a verse with my family and gave them each a card for their wallets, that I will be praying over them in 2015.  As I selected this verse I remembered even in 2014 how God has been so gracious to our family and blessed us.  His face has shined on us.

picmonkey-image-61

Our friend :Genoa shared this picture and I added the verse.  Now our family can pray over Genoa and her Mom as we pray for each other.

As I read back over my blogs for the past few new years, I had hopes of Colt my grandson being cured of EB. Today I believe he is cured, and from all we know from people all over the world, he has the lightest case there is and he is doing very well with some minor issues with his feet.  My husband and I still pray daily that God will make those feet strong.  Who would have thought a year ago he could crawl and walk and run.  He can.  Shoes still bother him, but right now we are able to buy soft ones.

I also had dreams of more grandchildren the first of 2014 knowing that might not happen because Colt’s parents would not be taking a chance and our daughter had been trying for many years with no success, but we continued to believe and pray.  I had dreams and hopes on January 1, 2014  and guess what our daughter became pregnant in May, and that little boy is due January 28, 2015.  God was good last year to our family, and I thank Him for making my dreams come true, for continually answering prayer.  You can read about that here. Our son and his wife are looking into ways to have another child, and hopefully January 2016 I’ll be writing about another child on the way, and it will be part of my story for 2016.

I also wrote about  New Year and New Me last year.   For me this year I’ve grown so much in my Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies and can’t wait for what is in store for me as I FOCUS.  It seems whatever study they have chosen that God hand-picked it just for me.  Our first one this year is Keep It Shut by Karen Ehman.  I can’t wait to learn when I need to be quiet and when I need to talk.  Come join us!

Aren’t you glad for new beginnings and second chances?  I know I am.   One word, one verse, one commitment.

Welcome 2015!  Thank you God for allowing me the awesome privilege of seeing a New Year, and for the opportunity to grow and become more of what You want me to be. Thank you for friends and family.

Thank you my audience for following me and for your encouragement to a writer wanna be.

May His favor shine on each and every one of you reading this in the coming year.

blessings

This post was featured on http://relaxedthairapy.com/wake-up-wednesday-linky-party-27/

Images created using Pixelscrapper and Picmonkey.

14 Responses to “New Year – 2015”

  1. Dawnita Fogleman January 1, 2015 at 6:53 pm #

    Focus is a great word to start the year with! Mine is Joy. I need to recognize the joy in the everyday chaos of my life. God has blessed me so much, but I get so caught up in the things that need to be done. I pray the LORD blesses you with special focus this year!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking January 2, 2015 at 9:42 am #

      Dawnita joy is my favorite word. I have so many things out at Christmas that say joy.

      Like

  2. Barbara January 1, 2015 at 10:12 pm #

    Happy New Year!!! I had 4 words for 2015 and the word that was the strongest was Seek…In 2014 my word was Serve and that was indeed my word for 2014. In 2013 my word was Peace. I need to seek Him more and more. Blessings to you and your family.
    Barbara

    Liked by 1 person

  3. grtlyblesd January 3, 2015 at 12:21 am #

    I’m not doing a word this year. I have done a couple in the past, and even made wall hangings that have my word on them, but my family teased me about them. 😛

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking January 5, 2015 at 7:37 am #

      So sorry your family teased you. Perhaps it was because they didn’t have a word. I would say do it.

      Like

  4. RavenThreads January 3, 2015 at 10:42 am #

    I love the idea of focus as a word for the year. I often have difficulty being still enough to focus on what I need to. God has brought me to the picture of Mary and Martha in Luke 10 several times recently as a way that I am to still my worries and concerns and just focus on Him.

    Like

  5. thepeacemaker55 January 8, 2015 at 3:10 am #

    Thank you for another inspiring blog. My one word is Hope. My verse to accompany my one word is Isaiah 40:31; “But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not faint.” I also considered Focus as my one word for 2015. And I still think it will have an impact on my life in 2015. My church is having a revival starting January 25; and our pastor asked the members to fast and pray in preparation for the revival. I am fasting television during the day when my husband is at work so that I can commit my time to spending quiet time listening to the Lord for wisdom, guidance and direction for this new year. I am #underconstruction. I am longing to grow in my spiritual maturity. I want more of Jesus. Jesus spent many hours in prayer and he is closer to the Father than anyone! I have asked the Lord to refine my listening skills, to fill my heart with compassion and to open my eyes to see those whom He would have me help, to build up in some small way through an encouraging word. I have purchased boxes of encouragement cards that I can send out to the senior members of our church that are not healthy enough to attend church or to others that need to know that someone is praying and thinking about them. I enjoy writing words of encouragement to help lift the spirit of others. I have prayed that the Lord would show me how He wants to use me in His Kingdom and to let my light shine for Him.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking January 9, 2015 at 8:25 pm #

      I have been doing a study on the Chronological Bible – reading through the Word this year with a group of ladies. WOW I never knew I had missed so much and we are only through a week. It is blessing my heart.

      Like

  6. Relaxed Thairapy January 1, 2016 at 1:37 am #

    Thank you so much for linking to my blog and having a wonderful article in the linkup!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wake Up Wednesday Linky Party #51 - January 14, 2015

    […] have a one word for 2015 and a verse to pray over my family.  You can read about those here.  I decided I am going to try two other things this year, as if my calendar is not already […]

    Like

  2. Wake Up Wednesday "Linky" Party - June 28, 2015

    […] have a one word for 2015 and a verse to pray over my family.  You can read about those here.  I decided I am going to try two other things this year, as if my calendar is not already full […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

