Mirror, Mirror – Not Looking Back – It’s Not About the Mirror

20 Jan

blog James 123-25

Do you ever find yourself gazing in a mirror and thinking:

  • I am not beautiful and not even pretty.
  • Look at those lines.
  • I’m so fat.
  • I’m getting so old.
  • My skin looks awful.
  • My hair looks bad.
  • I need to go get my hair cut, colored, permed.
  • I am a crumpled mess.
  • I am broken.
  • I am unloved.

Scripture says we are God’s masterpiece.  What if we looked into a mirror and see what He sees?  What we should be thinking when we look in the mirror is:

  • I am loved.
  • I am God’s masterpiece.
  • I am valued.
  • I am beautiful.
  • I am forgiven.
  • I am redeemed and set free.

It’s not about what we are looking at in the mirror.  It is and should be about who we are trying to mirror.  I need to look in the mirror and say, “Thank You Lord for how You created me”.  I need to look in the mirror and die to my self every day.  I need to look in that mirror and examine myself in faith and God’s eyes.  We need to be asking God who we are, and looking to be more like Him by studying what the Word says.  We need to spend time in our mirror – the Word – and not just glancing in a glass mirror.

Do you ever finding yourself looking back to your old life as you gaze in a mirror?  Remember Lot and how his wife looked back?  Just as God told her not to look back, we should not look back, but rather gaze in the Word moving forward and looking ahead to all that God has for us leaving the past, the hurts, and doubts behind just like looking in a rear-view mirror.

May you begin to look at yourself differently as you pause in front of a mirror, and feel the confidence that can only come by seeing yourself and others through God’s mirror.

10 Responses to “Mirror, Mirror – Not Looking Back – It’s Not About the Mirror”

  1. aladyinfrance January 20, 2015 at 12:22 pm #

    I think I have come a long way in looking at myself through God’s eyes, rather than my own usual way of thinking (which is always negative). Your post is a great reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. devonne January 20, 2015 at 1:37 pm #

    Absolutely love this! Especially about Lots wife! Great writing! really touched home.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rachaeljdebruin January 23, 2015 at 10:22 am #

    Beautifully said. It’s HIS perspectives we should all embrace, but I know it is often a struggle to in our beauty obsessed culture.

    Thanks so much for linking up with us on this week’s Mom 2 Mom Encouragement Party! I hope you join us again for the next one 🙂

    Rachael @ Diamonds in the Rough

    Liked by 1 person

  4. RaZella January 26, 2015 at 11:43 am #

    ” I need to look in the mirror and die to my self every day.” – Absolutely LOVE this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

