SNOW MOMENTS, GIFTS FROM HEAVEN, SHOW-N’-TELL MOMENTS

26 Feb

snow moments

Snow is coming down again today.  I’ve been sitting in the den with my big cup of coffee and gingerbread creamer looking out at the trees, birds, waterfalls flowing into the pool, and beautiful falling snow.  I am welcoming every single savoring moment of this beautiful, cold, glory day.  So white, so beautiful, so clean, so gentle, so hushed, a reverent hush.

snow pool

It has been an unusual week in Texas.  We plummeted from the 70s last Saturday to the 20s today, thunder sleet and ice on Monday and Tuesday.   And this little guy came to visit one of our feeders as it began to sleet.thunder sleet

A beautiful “accumulating snow” yesterday and more snow and ice predicted through this Saturday.  Only in Texas.  That snow yesterday only lasted until afternoon when the sun poured out light and 45 degrees melting every single bit – but today it’s here again for just a while and I am loving it.  God is showing off this week as the Heavens continue to declare His awesome glory and showering us with gifts from Heaven we just might miss if we don’t pause and give thanks for the moment.

snow day

bird

Take a moment, even a few moments today and find some beauty.  It’s really easy to take a moment to reflect on how God has blessed us.  Are you savoring His beauty?  Are you delighting in His beauty?  Are you seeing the wonders of His love today in all those blessings He puts right in front of you?  Are you missing them?  Find some things and be awe-stricken by what He has given you.    Think about the “stuff” – the “little stuff” of life – the things you look back on now that happened long ago.

birds2

Here are some things this week I have taken the time to praise God for:

  • This hot cup of coffee with gingerbread creamer.  I bought several of those creamers and stuck them in the freezer so I could enjoy them for many months to come. YUM!
  • My hubby coming in after a hard’s day work this week and making it home safe on a couple of days on icy roads.
  • My hubby leaving in the morning and savoring a hug, really hugging before he walks out that door.  This week I have spent some extra special moments making that hug last a little longer – that kiss a little sweeter.
  • Getting out on a snow day to run errands with my daughter and grandson yesterday and lunch together and she treating me.
  • Hearing that new grandson really cry when he got hungry.  He’s only 3 weeks old and holding him – answered prayers for a child we thought would never be born.
  • Unexpected messages from friends checking up on me because well because of things with my health.
  • Texts from my kids with pictures of the grandkids this week.
  • The reminder to slow down and see those microscopic moments that provide only a taste of who He is
  • That hot pot of soup I made last night enjoying every here in the moment –  cutting up squash, onions and spinach and cooking for the man I love and the new pasta dish I am preparing tonight.
  • Snow dripping from my rooftop after the sun popped out and the sun shining knowing I could get out on the streets and go pick up my daughter.

cows

Snow moments cause us to  pause and reflect on His majesty.

In One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp I read this. “I only deepen the wound of the world when I neglect to give thanks for early light dappled through leaves and the heavy perfume of wild roses in early July and the song of crickets on humid nights and the rivers that run and the stars that rise and the rain that falls and all the good things that a good God gives.  Why would the world need more anger, more outrage?  How does it save the world to reject unabashed joy when it is joy when it is joy that saves us?”

bird a

“The very face of snow is such an amazement.”  Roger Ebert

frozen waters

When I no longer thrill to the first snow of the season, I’ll know I’m growing old.

-Lady Bird Johnson 

snow eccles 3.1

Snowflakes are kisses from heaven.
-Author Unknown

 And my friends if you are visiting here from one of those sun-shiny states that never see snow, I pray you can find some glory right here seeing God’s magnificent beauty in my show n’ tell moments.  May He cause you to slow down and reflect on His majesty.

This post was featured on Home and Garden on March 4, 2015.

 

48 Responses to “SNOW MOMENTS, GIFTS FROM HEAVEN, SHOW-N’-TELL MOMENTS”

  1. Jen February 27, 2015 at 7:09 am #

    This is such a great post and reminder to be thankful in all things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 9:49 am #

      Thanks so much Jen. Loved your blog.

      Like

  2. Tammy Provins February 27, 2015 at 8:25 am #

    Yes, thanking God and finding the beauty in each day. I love your snapshots of God’s creation, so beautiful. Thank you for encouraging us to praise and give thanks. Have a blessed weekend! Tammy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:06 am #

      Thanks Tammy just finding this comment in my approval folder. So sorry. I just visited your site and tried to comment but can not find the button on the Dwell in The Word post. Loved your acronym.

      Like

  3. Barbara February 27, 2015 at 9:18 am #

    Hi Debbie, Your snow pictures are beautiful and the scriptures that you used are wonderful.Thank you so much for sharing your pictures.I live in Georgia and we got some snow also.I am doing the OBS with Proverbs 31 and haven’t gotten any emails from them since Wednesday. I have really missed my emails from them. I hope all is well. I pray Debbie that you will have a bless day and be safe in the snow and ice. Barbara

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:07 am #

      Thanks so much Barbara.

      Like

  4. Barbara February 27, 2015 at 9:22 am #

    I just went to my emails and PTL I got an email from OBS. So happy to see this email.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Erin @ Nourishing My Scholar February 27, 2015 at 10:09 am #

    Your pictures are gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:17 am #

      Thank you so much Erin.

      Like

  6. kcgroves February 27, 2015 at 5:11 pm #

    I am not a person who likes snow at all, pictures of it make me cold 🙂 That being said, it’s always amazing how very bright it is when the sun is shining and off the snow and it is so brilliant a white! You have some pretty pictures here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:19 am #

      Thanks so much. I’m not a huge fan of snow either, but here in Texas it comes seldom and usually is gone in a day so I can tolerate it. It’s the ice days I don’t care for.

      Like

  7. Oh My Heartsie Girl Friday Linky February 27, 2015 at 6:40 pm #

    I too love the snow, however, I dont live where I can enjoy if anymore but I have my memories of when I would get up in the night, open the door and watch it snow, the wind would blow and the snow would swirl around keeping it moving. It would be so quite I enjoyed those nights. Thank you for sharing your story on The Oh My Heartsie Girl Friday Feature this week. Nice to visit your blog to read your post.

    Hope you enjoy your weekend,
    Karren
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:19 am #

      Thanks Karen. xoxo

      Like

  8. 4gazpacho February 27, 2015 at 9:30 pm #

    I absolutely love the background you are using!! And those pictures are gorgeous! Thanks for reminding us that we have so much to be thankful for!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 11:57 am #

      Thank you so much!

      Like

  9. Katherines Corner February 27, 2015 at 11:15 pm #

    Lovely post. I like snow but we haven’t had much this year. Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things blog hop. God bless xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:29 am #

      Thanks Katherine.

      Like

  10. Rose @ Walnut Acre March 1, 2015 at 4:34 pm #

    Beautiful pictures and beautiful words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Gentle Joy March 2, 2015 at 10:34 am #

    Beautiful words and pictures…. It is so good to enjoy each precious moment…. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:29 am #

      Thank you. I just found a bunch of comments I had missed in my spam/approval folder. Loved visiting your site.

      Like

  12. Jann Olson March 2, 2015 at 10:49 pm #

    Gorgeous photos! There’s so much to praise God for each and every day. I see his hand in so many glorious things! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:27 am #

      Thanks Jann and thanks for the link-ups.

      Like

  13. Christine Duncan March 3, 2015 at 8:34 am #

    Over here in Ontario, Canada, we’ve had so much snow that we’ve had to work hard at appreciating it! But nature does look wonderful when that first snow lands, totally pure. Very much like His grace and love for us. It’s a good reminder to stop, and rest there in His provision for a moment.
    Connecting today through the #RaRaLinkup

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:26 am #

      I don’t think I would appreciate the snow so much if we got a lot, but we seldom get it in Texas. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Stephanie March 3, 2015 at 9:41 am #

    The birds, the snow, and the Scripture all make for a beautiful and refreshing post. Thank you for sharing this blessed encouragement with Roses of Inspiration. Have a wonderful Tuesday! Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:22 am #

      Thank you Stephanie.

      Like

  15. Tina March 3, 2015 at 4:53 pm #

    What a wonderful thought, to use the snow moments to rest in Him. I love all the beautiful pictures that reflect each moment you were able to pause and give thanks. Is the dove a wild mourning dove, or a young ringneck. I used to have a mourning dove, but now have a pair of ringnecks. They are such lovely birds. So graceful and their song so peaceful. Thank you for sharing with us today at #RaRaLinkup, Debbie! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:22 am #

      Thanks Tina.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Jeannie March 4, 2015 at 2:45 am #

    We live in Alaska and am so glad to hear someone from the “outside” as they say up here, appreciating the snow and ice! Beautiful pictures! Thanks for lifting praises up to the King!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 6, 2015 at 10:00 am #

      Hey Jeanie I just might not be able to be so happy with snow if I were in Alaska although I love Alaska. We took a cruise there on our 25th anniversary so, so long ago. Thanks for stopping by. Gonna head over to your blog.

      Like

  17. katelaineransom March 4, 2015 at 4:23 pm #

    Debbie – absolutely beautiful! I will be featuring your post in this week’s Home and Garden Thursday,
    Kathy

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 6, 2015 at 9:54 am #

      THANKS Kathy for the comment and the feature. Blessed my socks off today and my feet are cold!

      Like

  18. aduross5 March 4, 2015 at 4:55 pm #

    What a great reminder to stop and take in the beauty all around us. Love the obvious love you have for your family! So blessed!

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:21 am #

      Thank you.

      Like

  19. Kelly Balarie March 4, 2015 at 6:21 pm #

    Thank you for helping me to see snow positively. I am starting to hate it. HA! I needed this. Cheering you from the #RaRalinkup on Purposeful Faith.

    Like

  20. Jennifer @ A Divine Encounter March 5, 2015 at 3:30 pm #

    I needed an attitude adjustment about the snow we’re getting in my neck of the woods today. Even my kids responded with “Not again!” as the fat flakes fell. But it IS beautiful, and in looking for the beauty, I can see a glimpse of God’s glory revealed. Thank you for nudging my heart back in the right direction. 🙂 I’m so glad you linked this with Grace and Truth!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 6, 2015 at 9:46 am #

      Jennifer so glad to give you that nudge. I know sometimes it’s tough being inside so much. I just want to take a walk but we are out in the country sort of (used to be) but there are no sidewalks. The sun is shining today and the snow is melting and the grandson is on the way for us to enjoy more birds.

      Like

  21. Carol March 5, 2015 at 7:33 pm #

    I really enjoyed reading your list of things to be thankful for. Lovely!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 6, 2015 at 10:06 am #

      Thanks loved your quilts. My mom quilted. I have a quilt top and a smaller quilt top that I want to get quilted. Wish I could quilt, but don’t have that talent.

      Like

  22. Latisha March 6, 2015 at 7:02 am #

    What lovely pictures and an encouraging post. This post would be a wonderful fit for my Sunday Show ‘n’ Tell Link-up. I post a new one every week, but the Link-up runs all month long. come check it out- http://www.asklatisha.com/sunday-show-n-tell-march-week-1/.

    Like

  23. tmpresser March 6, 2015 at 2:24 pm #

    What a beautiful post and beautiful pictures, thank you for sharing your list of praise points at Good Morning Mondays, Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:20 am #

      Thank you.

      Like

  24. JES the Pilgrim March 7, 2015 at 8:42 am #

    What beautiful photos and inspiration! Thank you for sharing this on the Art of Home-Making Mondays this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 5, 2017 at 10:19 am #

      Thanks Jes.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Home and Garden Thursday - A Delightsome Life - March 4, 2015

    […] at Glorifying Him shared beautiful Snow […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

