Cardinals – Spots of Red in the White Snow

6 Mar


cardinal 1We have had so many cardinals at our house recently that I decided to try to find some facts about them.  I’m in Texas and we have had two solid weeks of sleet, ice, and snow so we have been filling up three bird feeders and enjoying the birds – lots of doves and cardinals.

I wondered why all the cardinals (also called “red birds”) are still here and not down in South Texas.  I found they don’t migrate.  My husband had been telling me only the males are that bright-beautiful red color.

cardinal 3

cardinal 2

As I compared pictures, I noticed each one of these males had a little different black around their faces. He brought a bird book into the kitchen today as we were watching and

My husband went to the bookcase and brought a bird book into the kitchen today as we were watching, and yep he was right.

We also realized the ones we thought were new, younger males are really the females – they are a much tan/gray color.

cardinal6  cardinal4cardinal8cardinal7

The younger ones don’t have the colored beaks.  They are the only one with a crest in the United States.

Cardinals are the only one with a crest in the United States so, for me, it’s a give away when I see that crest.

As we watched out the kitchen window we saw at least four bright red ones and two of the tan/gray colored ones so looks like we’ll have many more in the years to come to enjoy.

Last week when it snowed, I would stand my grandson on the kitchen counter top and he would squeal and wave his little hands each time one of the bright red males flew in.  We had to be careful because they are spooky and fly off.

It appears the male birds like many others, feed and help take care of their mate during mating season.  They usually have about three to six eggs.  I love this because next year we’ll have babies.  Wish I could spot a nest and watch them hatch.

In National Geographic I found that “their average life span is 15 years, they are 8-9 inches, they weigh 1.5 to 1.8 oz., and unlike many songbirds both male and female sing, and the female often vocalizes from her nest.”

In Birdhouses101 I found something very interesting I loved.  They “eat 51 kinds of beetles, four types of grasshoppers, termites, ants, flies, dragonflies and 12 kinds of homoptera which includes leaf hoppers, cicadas and aphids.”  Oh yea, red birds come eat those grasshoppers, termites, flies and ants, but PLEASE leave my dragonflies alone.

I also read today they are protected by the Migratory Bird Treaty Act of 1918.  Who would want to kill one?

And here is a picture of two that were on the other side of the driveway so hard to shoot under some trees, but they appear to be male and female mates.  Sooooo stinkin’ cute.

cardinal5

SLOW DOWN and catch a glimpse of a beautiful cardinal!  Thanking God for these moments these past two weeks and so many, many more.

65 Responses to “Cardinals – Spots of Red in the White Snow”

  1. TheMomCafe.com March 6, 2015 at 9:43 am #

    Oh those are such beautiful pictures and truly beautiful birds!! I love that we have such a glorious bright and beautiful part of winter we can spot and enjoy!! Thanks for sharing all those neat facts about them! I’ll be keeping my eyes out more now, thanks to you!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 6, 2015 at 9:45 am #

      Thank you. The grandson is coming back today. The snow’s gone but the birds are not.

      Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 6, 2015 at 10:04 am #

      Keep your eyes open. They are probably right there. I love sitting on the porch with that grandson in the spring and summer watching them.

      Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:45 am #

      ENJOY them. It is relaxing and habit forming.

      Like

  2. Angela March 6, 2015 at 9:50 am #

    Does it usually snow in North Texas? It’s been unusually cold I know in many parts of the country. Great pics. Makes me want spring even more. We just got dumped with a foot of snow yesterday but hopefully the last one of the season.
    Angela @ Stepping into Motherhood
    #fridayfundayhop

    Like

    • Hillary March 6, 2015 at 11:33 am #

      My dad would love these pictures. He really loves cardinals, including the St. Louis variety – haha. Thank you for sharing your truly beautiful pictures; a bright red cardinal in the snow is one of the most gorgeous images ever.

      Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:44 am #

      Angela it does not usually snow in North Texas. A foot of snow is only fun in Texas because it will melt, but I have only seen that twice in my life.

      Like

  3. carolapv March 6, 2015 at 10:31 am #

    Lovely photos! I enjoy the cardinals that I see and hear when I am in our backyard. I truly enjoy the song of the cardinal, and will look for the singer. Often the male is at the top of a tree. I’m visiting from Grace and Truth.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:43 am #

      Thanks Carol. I haven’t distinguished who is singing in my yard yet. There are so many birds, but I see they have videos to watch so doing that this Spring.

      Like

  4. Clare Speer March 6, 2015 at 10:36 am #

    Wow – Very very pretty pics of these birds… this certainly reminds me of growing up in New Jersey, where we had Cardinals, Blue Jays, Sparrows, and oh so many more – these are so pretty – you really captured their beauty!

    Like

  5. allthatsjas March 6, 2015 at 12:01 pm #

    Cardinals are my favorite and they are national bird of my state, Indiana. They are even more gorgeous against the white snow. Great photos! Thanks for linking up at Thursday Favorite Things, please visit us again next week!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:41 am #

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I’ll be back if I can get a new blog written.

      Like

  6. momoencourages March 6, 2015 at 1:49 pm #

    Thank you for your great photos and all the facts. I don’t get to see cardinals around my home (west coast) but when we go to visit my daughter in Pennsylvania I usually get to spot a couple of them. Watching those beautiful red birds just makes my heart sing. I found your post on Faithful Friday link. I’ll be following you, I really like your style. One little hint – you had repeating sentences in your post – between your photos in that little paragraph, and then at the start of the last paragraphs after your photos. No biggie of course, I just thought you might like to watch out for those. Blessings!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:38 am #

      Thank you for following me and thanks for the hint. I’ll pop over there and fix it NOW!

      Like

  7. Janet March 7, 2015 at 7:08 am #

    I love your pictures! We have a pair living in our backyard, but I haven’t been able to catch them on camera. Thanks for the information. Such intriguing birds.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:37 am #

      It took us a bit to get pictures. They are spooky. I walk up to a door slowly and if I am doing it through my kitchen window like most of these my husband told me to make sure the kitchen light is out so they don’t see us so well. It worked.

      Like

  8. Jess Elyse March 7, 2015 at 11:39 am #

    Great pictures! I love Cardinals! They have always been my favorite to spot. My mom loves bird watching and feeding the birds. If you walk out onto the back porch at my parents house at the right time, it might look like a bird sanctuary! 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:36 am #

      Thank you. I believe the older we get the more we appreciate God’s beauty, and now it’s something to do with the grand kids.

      Like

  9. leelee March 7, 2015 at 12:12 pm #

    I love cardinals too. They are so cheerful during the darkest parts of winter.

    Like

  10. Chris Malkemes March 8, 2015 at 11:34 am #

    I so enjoyed coming to your house today from Spiritual Sundays. Even here in Florida we have cardinals. Go Cardinals (and I’m not talking about that St Louis type baseball thingy). Blessings ~ Chris

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:35 am #

      Go cardinals and now I am wanting more bluebirds. Saw a couple flirting in our trees on Saturday but we don’t have a blue bird house.

      Like

  11. Lyli @ 3-D Lessons for Life March 8, 2015 at 2:07 pm #

    Debbie,
    Thank you for sharing these lovely pictures with us and encouraging us to slow down and take notice. So lovely to connect with you through Sandy’s linkup this weekend.
    Blessings,
    Lyli

    Like

  12. Rose @ Walnut Acre March 8, 2015 at 5:12 pm #

    What beautiful pictures! We’ve had a lot of snow but I haven’t seen any cardinals.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:34 am #

      Keep a look out. They are a little spooky. I have to make sure the kitchen light is out.

      Like

  13. Mary Geisen March 8, 2015 at 7:17 pm #

    Beautiful pictures! We have a lot of cardinals that will start appearing here in Ohio. Thank you for sharing this knowledge of cardinals at The Weekend Brew.

    Like

  14. enthusiasticallydawn March 8, 2015 at 11:08 pm #

    I love the cardinals and we have so many hear in the East (Rhode Island!) – I put black Sunflower seeds out all winter for the birds but wish we could keep water for them as well. I really love the female colors, and we have about 4 couples that are regular. Whenever we spot the male we know the female counterpart is close by and vice versa! Hard to believe they live 15 years! Lovely post, I am after you at the 5MFF link up. Love the birds- they bless so, with little lessons from God. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  15. Christine from So Domestically Challenged March 9, 2015 at 3:58 am #

    Aww! Thanks for the lesson in cardinals. They’re so cute! I saw one the other day and nearly ran my car off the road looking at it. They’re so uncommon in our area. Stunning little cuties 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:32 am #

      They are in abundance here, but I think it’s because we’ve had the feeders for a couple of years.

      Like

  16. 4gazpacho March 9, 2015 at 9:00 am #

    Love, love, love those pictures!! These are the ones you want to keep in albums and ooh and ah over in future years.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 9, 2015 at 9:31 am #

      I think that’s why I am blogging to hopefully leave a legacy for my kids and grand kids. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  17. jenschon March 9, 2015 at 9:21 am #

    Beautiful pictures. I love cardinals. We see them out our back windows. Blue jays too. They add such a great touch of colour when you’re getting tired of winter.

    Like

  18. momssmallvictories March 9, 2015 at 7:54 pm #

    What beautiful photos and great reminders to take a pause to appreciate nature’s beauty! Thanks for sharing with Small Victories Sunday Linkup. Pinning to our linkup board and hope you join us again this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. JES the Pilgrim March 10, 2015 at 8:06 am #

    Good morning! What neat photos and information! Thank you for sharing this on the Art of Home-Making Mondays 🙂

    Like

  20. Dana March 10, 2015 at 9:49 am #

    I do adore cardinals. They are so beautiful! One year, we had a cardinal nest in a tree near our back door. We got on a ladder and could see the eggs, and eventually the little babies. I was amazed at how quickly they left the nest. And we never saw the cardinals use that nest again. I suppose we were too close for their comfort!
    (Visiting from #RaRaLinkUp)

    Like

  21. Ellen Chauvin (@eechauvin) March 10, 2015 at 9:52 am #

    I love cardinals and love your pictures! Visiting you today from #RaRaLinkup!

    Like

  22. Kelly Deal March 10, 2015 at 10:38 am #

    I love the cardinals that visit my yard! There were at least 8 cardinals at my feeders last week. What I find kind of cute is that the female has a more pointy head then the male and that if actually observed the male feeding the female. So cute!

    Like

  23. Carol March 10, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

    Such pretty birds. We don’t get them where I live.

    Like

  24. Donna Reidland March 10, 2015 at 8:35 pm #

    What an interesting post. My grandson and I both enjoy watching the birds that visit in our part of Texas. Our favorite are some ladder-back woodpeckers. Thanks for linking up at Mondays @ Soul Survival. Blessings!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 11, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Donna. I saw a woodpecker a couple of weeks ago. Took some pictures – need to share.

      Like

  25. Conniecrafter March 10, 2015 at 9:54 pm #

    we have alot of cardinals around us too, so neat when they come out to our feeders

    Like

  26. JenJenny March 11, 2015 at 8:14 am #

    These are beautiful images. I love taking pictures of birds, especially cardinals.

    Like

  27. Gentle Joy March 11, 2015 at 9:37 am #

    Great info…. we like our cardinals… but now we will love our cardinals, knowing they are working to eat up the bugs in the garden. 🙂

    Like

  28. Crafty Spices March 11, 2015 at 12:14 pm #

    Very lovely shots, these birds are so nice.
    Happy WW, and have a wonderful rest of the week.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. tmpresser March 11, 2015 at 3:31 pm #

    What beautiful birds and the red is so lovely and bright. We have blue wrens in Australia and the males are the ones that have blue on them the females are just brown. They are the same shape but different colour. Isn’t Gods creation just wonderful and awesome. Thank you for sharing at Good Morning Mondays. Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Jann Olson March 11, 2015 at 3:50 pm #

    Gorgeous! We don’t see Cardinals here. Nothing like that brilliant red against the white snow. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Stephanie March 11, 2015 at 8:36 pm #

    Your images are stunning! We do not have Cardinals here so seeing your photos is a sweet blessing 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing with Roses of Inspiration – I truly appreciate you linking up. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Kelly Balarie March 13, 2015 at 6:51 am #

    Adorable! Love to see God’s beauty in birds. I cheer your words from the #RaRalinkup on Purposeful Faith.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. womenwithintention March 20, 2015 at 8:54 am #

    I think cardinals are really interesting birds. We have several that live at my mom’s home and the females are brown and the males are red. I loved your photos! Thank you for sharing at Women With Intention Wednesdays! I look forward to reading what you share this week! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

