PLAN

14 Mar

Plans change

I’m a planner.  I make lists. I don’t like to veer off my lists, but oftentimes I have to, or God takes me or shows me a different direction.  My plans may change, but my God never does.

In 2014 my “one word” was simplify, and I chose it knowing who is in control of all the intimate details of my life, knowing He establishes my steps.  I wanted some simplicity so that when those trials and storms come I would be prepared, and my house would not suffer or my heart because of neglect to them both in a way that is unpleasing to the Father. Did I get there?  NO!

Many times our plans, our dreams, our hopes, and our future are crushed sometimes by death, sometimes by a cheating spouse, sometimes financially, sometimes a horrible illness/disease, sometimes terrible storms, but God has a plan and He will bring back that hope, that prosperity and that future.

I have a precious friend, Genoa who has been through so much – cancer, a divorce she did not choose, having to relocate, but she knows God has a plan, and she is constantly a bulwark of faith.  She shares a lot of pictures that bless my heart of barns since she had to move from Texas to West Virginia.  Here is one she took, and in honor of her  I had to add a verse that reminds me of her and share it.  She blesses others all the time even through her trials, she has never forgotten her one true love.

jeremiah-29_11-2

♥We plan our course, but He establishes our steps, and we must be obedient in whatever steps He chooses for our lives, and allow Him to guide us.♥

In 2014 we were in the midst of remodeling a pool which is still being tweaked, I was subbing a lot when a teacher left unexpectedly and that lasted for 5 long months, and so many other things that were IMPORTANT to me and honored God. This year I chose the word “focus” to remind myself to focus on what really matters and that is God, family, friends, people.

We’ve all heard that term “Cleanliness is next to Godliness”.  I have not found that verse in my Bible (it’s not there), but I do know that He wants me to have a pure heart and love others even more.

I am focusing more on people and at the same time doing small things to make my home more organized.  I’ve been working through 40 Days of LENT and acts of kindness.  You can read about my initiative here, and what I’ve done so far here.   I’m still trying to get organized, still trying to do some decorating in the house and it’s all on the “to-do” list (get more wallpaper down, more painting done, more popcorn off the ceilings, new den furniture and on and on),   proverbs 169

I look back at how God has blessed us through so many “storms” and literally big storms in our life and seasonal storms that wreaked havoc on our house and trees, but I look at all He has allowed us to accomplish in the midst of it all and how we can look back today and thank Him for all He has done.

♥He puts us in situations to change us!♥

That picture is me sitting for hours on a warm August day in Texas to meet some precious friends in Austin.  Well, I never made it.  I left early that morning excited to meet them for the first time, but a horrible accident had happened during the night and we were stranded for many hours.  They ate and left before I was half-way there.  But God is good, in September I met them both at a retreat in North Carolina and even shared a room with one of them, and who knows what would have been ahead had that accident not happened.

He puts us in situations to change us.  The plans He has for us are seldom what we planned.  I look back and see how perfect his record for me has been.

matthew 2239

Today my “to do” list includes at least one phone call to someone I haven’t talked to in a long time and a letter – yes a real hand-written letter to a dear friend I used to work with when my kids were small.  Last night I talked to a cousin I have not seen in probably thirty years.  I’m writing that hand-written letter on some pretty stationary to my friend in Oklahoma, got the recycling in the car to take to church tomorrow and a handful of notes to mail on the way, and baking a gluten-free banana bread for my hubby and a big caesar salad for him when he gets home from fishing.

What are you doing today to bless someone?  How has God changed the course of your life today, and are you using it like Genoa for His glory?

Joining Kate Motaung at Five Minute Friday.  The one word prompt this week is PLAN!

This post was featured on http://www.glamgranolageek.com/ladies-collective-linkup-8/ on 3/25/15.

This post was featured on http://ericabarker.com and on 10/30/15

34 Responses to “PLAN”

  1. kcgroves March 14, 2015 at 10:28 pm #

    I often wonder about making future plans. I have my day to day plans and come up with fun ideas for the future, but figure that those ideas only work if it’s what God has planned for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 19, 2015 at 9:43 am #

      I agree with that. “Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.” Proverbs 19:21

      Like

  2. TheMomCafe.com March 14, 2015 at 10:32 pm #

    Oh the plans God has for us are rarely anything that I had planned!! lol I love how your friend, Genoa is so steadfast in her faith, through all her trials!

    I have learned to trust His plan, as the years go by and I can look back and see His record. His dream for us is bigger than we can dream. And sometimes, His plan takes turns downward, in which we must cling to Him and grow even more trusting that He will rise us up with a purpose in it all. There is always a purpose. That gives me hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 18, 2015 at 8:55 am #

      Such truth. I look back at the past and can see His perfect plan – six miscarriages but look at the son and daughter we were blessed with who would not have been had we not gone through that pain and so many other things. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  3. Bonnie Lyn Smith March 14, 2015 at 10:40 pm #

    Wow, this completely resonates with the conversation my husband and I had at dinner tonight. “Simplify” and “Be Still” have been what our journey through my son’s mood disorder has taught us. We need to get back to the basics and not take on more than we can handle. We go slower now. We try to suck less out of a day. Great Scripture and examples! Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 18, 2015 at 8:47 am #

      Thanks Bonnie. Sorry you are having to deal with a mood disorder with your son. I just stopped and prayed for all of you. Thanks for stopping by. Headed over to your blog.

      Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 18, 2015 at 8:53 am #

      Thanks Bonnie. I just stopped by your lovely blog and wish you well if you do start that espresso shop one day. Sorry about your son and I paused for a moment to pray for all of you. I teach with special needs children and I know it is hard on parents. Blessings!

      Like

  4. Patty Chamberlain March 15, 2015 at 12:40 pm #

    Debbie, I am so glad I read this today. I have a word this year “intentional.” God wants my life to be intentional. The past several months, as you know, God and I were fighting a battle with cancer. Let me give you a little back story. When I got the news in June of 2014 that I had cancer, I immediately went into my bedroom and sat on the bed. there I began talking to God. I said to him “God, what do I do now? My husband lost his job in Oct. of 2013 and now this.” I sat there waiting and God said “We can fight this.” Immediately I felt confident that no matter what happened I could not loose with God on my side. So we fought the battle together and won. I am now in remission (as the doc. calls it) I say I am healed! God is awesome! I still see the doc. on a regular basis. And go through the test they require. I trust God’s work and it will not be back. My faith is stronger now than ever before. I have been seeking God for what it means to live intentional. He says that my family and home come first. So I have been working in my home one room at a time; purging and organizing. I am even working on a planner to help me succeed. It is amazing how much junk we collect over the years. Well some of that “junk” things I don’t use, have been donated and I am organizing the things I am keeping. For me it is a long process because I have to sit often, (back problems) but I keep working a little at a time because I know God wants me to do it. Clutter is an enemy that I can’t allow to live in my home anymore. It keeps my mind off the important things, especially off God. Thank you for sharing today. It makes my heart happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 19, 2015 at 9:41 am #

      Patty it makes me happy to see you well and like you I’ve been working on clutter in my life and my heart too. I am tackling one little or two or three projects a day. That’s a start, right. So glad to see you here my friend. Hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ann March 15, 2015 at 8:45 pm #

    I so agree with what you wrote about making plans…especially when you wrote, “We plan our course, but He establishes our steps, and we must be obedient in whatever steps He chooses for our lives, and allow Him to guide us.” Whenever I say I plan on doing something, I often end with “God willing” for He truly establishes our steps.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sheila Kimball March 17, 2015 at 6:43 pm #

    He puts us in situations to change us. So true. To help us learn to love better and be more like Him. And I love Genoa’s barn pics. I’ve taken a few myself and they are just so captivating. God bless her with all she has been through. I know the pain of an unwanted divorce and it is devastating, BUT GOD…Thanks, Debbie. #RaRaLinkup

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Carol March 17, 2015 at 8:01 pm #

    What a wonderful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Stephanie March 17, 2015 at 10:56 pm #

    MY dear friend, what a well-written post full of wisdom and encouragement. My heart was so blessed by your words and the words from God’s Holy Word. I am so thankful that God has everything in His hands…He IS in control.

    Thank you so much for sharing this with Roses of Inspiration. You richly blessed my evening.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lperkowski March 18, 2015 at 12:34 am #

    I have been through some emotional storms, but have lived to see the beauty from the ashes. God is so good! He is always working behind the scenes on our behalf. Great reminder here that God holds us in His palm if we allow Him to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 18, 2015 at 8:03 am #

      Thanks Laura. Been through so many storms myself, and yes if it were not for Him I could not have walked through those storms.

      Like

  10. tmpresser March 18, 2015 at 3:27 pm #

    There are so many ways that my plans were changed and only later did we see God’s hand in the situation. I pray we use all situations to Glorify God. Thank you for sharing at Good Morning Mondays. Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 19, 2015 at 9:37 am #

      Thank you. Some times it takes years to realize His hand and give thanks. For me, it was 6 miscarriages and sitting in a prayer meeting one night with a couple who had just lost a baby and God spoke to me and in tears I said, “I can give God thanks today for all that pain to see all that He has done with the two children He gave us.” His timing is perfect.

      Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 19, 2015 at 9:38 am #

      AMEN to that. Through the pain of 6 miscarriages, I eventually was able to give thanks seeing the wonderful two children He gave us and how they had grown up.

      Like

  11. Laurie Collett March 18, 2015 at 6:13 pm #

    Life is what happens while we’re making plans! God has been dealing with my heart recently on the importance of trusting Him instead of making my own plans without consulting Him. Beautiful post! I’m linked up with you at Testimony Tuesday — hope you’ll stop by Saved by Grace for a visit!
    God bless,
    Laurie

    Like

  12. sandraj2015 March 18, 2015 at 10:30 pm #

    Thanks for the wonderful thoughts on plans. I have a poem that helps me make sense you’ve probably heard the line ‘some disappointments are God’s appointments’,allowing for interruptions! You incorporate loving others in so well with your plans, a great reminder!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 19, 2015 at 9:29 am #

      Thanks so much Sandra. I have heard that and I believe it’s true. Nothing just happens. Headed over to visit your blog.

      Like

  13. Betsy @ BPhotoArt.com March 21, 2015 at 8:32 pm #

    I love Jeremiah 29:11. Thanks for sharing your thoughts at #SmallVictoriesSundayLinkup (pinned!)

    Like

  14. Stephanie March 24, 2015 at 8:47 am #

    Good morning! I wanted to let you know this post has been featured at Roses of Inspiration. Thank you so much for linking up 🙂

    Hugs and blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Kim October 24, 2015 at 11:18 pm #

    Oh I love to plan. . . It can be an idol for me at times. I’ve had to learn to listen to God’s leading for my day. My list is not always his list. Great post!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ladies Collective Linkup - #8 - Glam Granola Geek - March 25, 2015

    […] Plan- Blogger Loves The […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

