It’s Spring At Our House

20 Mar

hosea 63

I love the sounds of Spring – the birds chirping every time I walk outside, and when it warms up I can throw open the windows and hear all those happy sounds.  I love the bees humming around the plants when I go out to work in the flower beds.  See that little one on the plum tree.

Spring has sprung.  Yes, yes it is the first day of Spring.  I know for some of you, it hasn’t with the snow that is still around, but for us here in Texas it is here and arrived just as the calendar said it would.  We had snow just a few weeks ago, which is unusual for us and not just once, but we went through several weeks of ice and snow.

Spring brings sunshine, longer days and storms (still waiting for that sunshine here).

I love Spring, but for us it generally means severe weather and the threat for storms and tornadoes.  From the end of March until the end of May, it’s a time to be on the watch for damaging hail and winds.  That’s the only part of Spring I don’t enjoy, and I’m sure that some of you are not enjoying the snow that is still hanging around.  But this is the day our Lord has made, and I’m rejoicing that I am here to enjoy it no matter what the weather is like.

Yesterday I mowed just a little of our acreage, and my husband came in and finished up.  It takes hours to get our yard done.  Yes, we live in Texas and Spring for us also means lots of mowing when there is lots of rain, and there has been this year – snow, sleet and rain almost every day for over three weeks now.  In fact the weather man said this evening that it has rained fifteen of the last twenty days this month.  Not complaining at all.  We have been in a drought and it’s raining again today, tonight and tomorrow.  WOOHOO!

Spring brings new beginnings.

Here are a few pictures I’ve been snapping of spring at our house this week, and all the new life and splashes of color that are just popping out all over – daffodils, tulips, our orchard trees (peaches and plums).  It felt so good to get out just an hour last evening and start weeding flower beds.  We have a whole lot of them, but over the years have downsized because it was so much work.

Psalm 8512

As Spring is springing, and I see all the beautiful green lawns sprouting out and flowers all over the neighborhood, I can’t help but reflect and being constantly aware of new life, and new beginnings because of Christ.

God is such an artist!

bunting 2

I see tulips sprouting out, or at least the leaves are that my Daddy planted, and the shasta daises that Mom loved so much. There were even two yellow butterflies outside as I was walking to the mailbox yesterday.- Mom loved them too so my thoughts go to memories of her when I see one, and two were a double blessing.  These shasta daises are coming up everywhere.  Love them!

song of solomon 211-12

BlogHopShasta1

Spring is the perfect time to sit on the front porch and rock my grandsons, or put them in a stroller and take a long walk!

As the rain came down today, I took my 19-month old grandson out on the porch with his blanket and sit a bit and watched it come down looking out over the front flower beds and all the new life.

Spring means weeds and working in the herb garden.

???????????????????????????????

Ecclesiastes 311

21 Responses to “It’s Spring At Our House”

  1. Mary Geisen March 21, 2015 at 8:49 pm #

    I love the splash of color that you discovered. Beautiful bird. I love the beginning of spring and the newness that pops out sometimes over night. Thank you for sharing at The Weekend Brew.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 25, 2015 at 11:14 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Mary. So good to see your smile. Been awhile since we were on P31 blog together. So glad to be able to share on your blog.

      Like

  2. pjkuhn March 22, 2015 at 10:05 am #

    A beautiful walk through spring. I wish I lived in Texas. Ha! In Indiana we are still waiting despite what the calendar says. “God is such an artist!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 25, 2015 at 10:34 am #

      It’s up and down here. Cold front on the way and storms. Got to work in the flower beds two days but it’s getting cool again.

      Like

  3. joanneviola March 23, 2015 at 12:09 pm #

    I so enjoyed seeing your signs of spring as we still have about 2′ of snow on the ground. But I am noticing the winds starting to change & that brings me hope that growth will soon be sprouting. Have a blessed day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 25, 2015 at 10:35 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Joanne. Hope you see spring soon. I love it, but the storms are scary here and we have them coming tonight. Hopping over to visit you.

      Like

  4. hopeful50 March 25, 2015 at 11:47 am #

    Enjoyed your pictures! We live in the mountains of the Blue Ridge in NC – it is Spring here as well with daffodils blooming and tulips pushing up out of the ground. The lilac bushes are beginning to get little nubs of life on the branches. It is a wonderful time of year. I am your next door neighbor at Holley’s today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 26, 2015 at 8:41 pm #

      Thank you neighbor for stopping by. I am heading over to visit you. I love NC. Was up there at a retreat in Sep at the Billy Graham Retreat Center.

      Like

  5. Ann March 25, 2015 at 2:22 pm #

    Yes, I am SO looking forward to enjoying the beauty of springtime again!! (Even the Dandelions look appealing! LOL!) Thanks for sharing beautiful photos and verses!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. JES the Pilgrim March 26, 2015 at 7:30 am #

    Lovely photos and sentiments of spring 🙂 Thank you for sharing this week on the Art of Home-Making Mondays!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. carolapv March 26, 2015 at 9:52 am #

    We are seeing signs of spring in Illinois–along with one more burst of snow. The tulips and hyacinths are poking through the softening ground. I am grateful that snow and rain are providing water. I love the Bible verses that you have chosen to go with the photos. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 26, 2015 at 8:35 pm #

      Thank you so much. My Dad had family in Chebanse IL. We had one last burst of snow too the end of Feb and then lots of rain.

      Like

  8. FitTriangleMom March 26, 2015 at 10:53 pm #

    Beautiful pictures. My boys have been enjoying sitting on the porch swing with their Grandma too. Thanks for sharing on Small Victories Sunday link up.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. tmpresser March 27, 2015 at 3:30 pm #

    What a wonderful time of the year spring is, new life and growth in everything around us. We are heading into our winter here now and it is also a good season, of rest and recuperation. I must admit I enjoy winter and the ability to stay cozy and warm inside, but then spring comes and it is wonderful to throw open the windows and enjoy some fresh air. What a blessing all times of the year are and thank you to our God for them. Thank you for sharing at Good Morning Mondays, it is always a blessing when you pop by. Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 29, 2015 at 8:30 pm #

      Thank you so much. I love popping those windows open too. Haven’t gotten to yet, but it was in the 80s today, but cold front tonight.

      Like

  10. mummywhiskers March 30, 2015 at 5:18 am #

    Lovely post! I love spring but have to say autumn is my favourite 🙂 #briliantblogposts

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 30, 2015 at 9:01 am #

      I love all the seasons. I love Autumn because of all the decorating. Hard to take them down when it’s time to start Christmas. Thanks for stopping by. Checking out your blog.

      Like

  11. Jann Olson April 1, 2015 at 12:38 pm #

    Spring has sprung here as well and I love it! My favorite time of year. God truly is an amazing artist! Nothing quite like the sounds of nature. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

