Resurrection Sunday – Easter – Looking To The Cross

27 Mar

1 Thessalonians 510I look at that crown and think about my Savior who wore a crown of thorns on His head carrying my sins to the cross.  That brings tears to think of all my ugly, ugly, sin.

Resurrection Sunday, or as we grew up calling it Easter Sunday, is the oldest of the Christian holy days, and I would say it is the most important day of the church year and in the Christian life. It is typically the highest day of church attendance in the year at our church with four packed services. WHY!  Because we are celebrating the resurrection of Christ.  We, Christians believe that Jesus Christ died on the cross, and after three days He arose.  The death is commemorated on Good Friday, the Friday before Resurrection Sunday.

Resurrection Sunday is also the end of the Lent season for some – a time of fasting and prayer, solitude, and reflection. This year I have participated in Lent for the first time.  You can read about that here and here.  For me it has been a time to not only give up, but also give.  I’ve enjoyed time blessing others, and plan to do this year after year, and I have also reflected on my health with more exercise and healthier eating.  For me this year, Lent has been about preparing my heart – it’s been an awesome holy season reflecting on Jesus.  It’s been almost 40 days of reflecting on Him and the cross.

At this time of the year I think about our new creation in Christ – our “new life“.

2 corinthians 517

Spring is all about new life. Christ died for our sins and He rose. Every sin that I and you have ever committed nailed Him to the cross.  He died so that you and I can live.

Can you picture Jesus dying on that cross and arising from that tomb to give you and I grace?  Can you picture all of those death rags perhaps having words on them like fear, doubt, worthless, sinner, etc. being torn off?   On my best day, I am nothing but filthy rags.  On my worst days, He is there giving me grace. How do we experience that glorious grace?  By looking to that wonderful cross.

john 116

Today we portray the cross as something beautiful in the way we wear them – beautifully designed, and the beautiful crosses we hang in our homes, and for me outside on the house, in the flower beds.  For me it is beautiful knowing what Jesus did on that cross for me.

Do you realize what a horrible meaning the cross had in Jesus’ time?   It meant horror, it meant torture, it meant being nailed to a cross, nails driven through the wrists most likely, but possibly through the palms, and Luke depicts Jesus’s sweat becoming as blood.  It mean being spat upon, struck, scourged with a whip, ultimately with the skin of the back in ribbons, and a crown of thorns pressed upon his head, stumbling and falling as he was forced to carry his cross, nails driven through his feet, being unable to get a fresh breath of air and that’s only a small part of what the agony and pain our Christ suffered on that cross for each one of us for six long hours.   Does that break your heart?  It does mine.

I love the song “When I Survey The Wondrous Cross“.   When I survey the wondrous cross…………….OH the wondrous cross bids me come and die and find that I may truly live…….love so amazing, so divine demands my soul, my life, my ALL!

galatians 614

This week as we continue in this blessed season I have to stop and ponder daily of all He has done for me and my family. How about you?   Do you realize that he died humbly, willingly and lovingly for us?

Why didn’t He come down off that cross?  He could have called to His Father to save Him, but He willingly I am overwhelmed as I think how God sent His only begotten son to die for my sin, and I am overwhelmed to think of my sin – ugly sin that creeps up even when I am in the Word and spending hours with Him in prayer – that ole’ ugly sin of mine.  But those sins, those cracks He will use them to show His glory and grace.  We are vessels filled with His grace.  His grace and love are immeasurable.

I am overwhelmed as I think how God sent His only begotten son to die for my sin, and I am overwhelmed to think of my sin – ugly sin that creeps up even when we are in the Word and spending hours with Him in prayer – that ole’ ugly sin of mine.  I am overwhelmed by His love for me and my family.

My daughter and I were on a trip last year and we saw this beautiful cross up on a hill.  I could not help but to stop and gaze and snap a picture thinking of the ultimate sacrifice He made for me.  I could not help to pause and think Him for healing one grandson and for the trip we were on together with her carrying our future grandson (who by the way is here now and a part of us in this holy season).

  OVERWHELMED and THANKFUL and BLESSED!

How do you look to the cross?  For me, the cross is my center in Christ.  If I am not looking to the cross, I am not in the center of the cross.  He chose those nails for you and me.

John 316

Our sins nailed him to the cross, but His undying love for us and His Father kept Him there.  Amazing Grace.

In the shadow of his glorious cross how can we forget? Resurrection Sunday is today and every day!  I’m looking to the cross.  How about you?

And here is one more I love by Chris Tomlin – Amazing Grace, My Chains Are Gone.

31 Responses to “Resurrection Sunday – Easter – Looking To The Cross”

  1. Michele Morin March 27, 2015 at 11:49 am #

    Looking forward to celebrating the resurrection! Glad to run into you at Faith filled Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. readywriterbr March 27, 2015 at 12:43 pm #

    What a beautiful reflection on the Cross of Christ.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bluecottonmemory March 27, 2015 at 4:30 pm #

    When I think of those nails and the agony He endured – I cannot fathom it – I cannot fully wrap my brain around it – yet because of it I am His – I am a beloved part of His family – He has redeemed me – and I can wrap my heart around that! Beautiful photos – beautiful message! So glad I stopped by for this Holy remembrance!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 29, 2015 at 8:29 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Loved your picture and poem on Kate this week for break. I could not think of anything to write this week.

      Like

  4. Yolanda DeLoach March 28, 2015 at 9:04 am #

    Hi Debbie, I’m coming over from Faith N friends blog hop. What a beautiful reminder of God’s sacrifice for us. Thank you for this!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rose @ Walnut Acre March 29, 2015 at 6:16 pm #

    Overwhelmed and Thankful and Blessed. That is such an accurate description of the feelings I get when I think of everything Jesus went through to provide for my salvation!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Angela Parlin March 31, 2015 at 6:30 pm #

    Thank you for this beautiful post this week…so glad I made my way here from #RaRaLinkup! I love the cross on the hill. Thanks for sharing that!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Aundi @ bravelyimperfect.com March 31, 2015 at 9:15 pm #

    Beautiful reminder of the value of Easter, thank you for writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jennifer @ A Divine Encounter March 31, 2015 at 11:17 pm #

    You nailed it, friend: the cross for you and me is an invitation to come and die, so we can truly live. Thank you for sharing this truth with us at Grace & Truth!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Liz April 1, 2015 at 11:00 pm #

    Love your comment on lent: that it’s not just a time to give up, but a time to give. Beautifully said.

    Visiting from Tuesday at Ten!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Cindy April 2, 2015 at 9:15 am #

    Enjoyed this so much today! Praise the Lord He is risen! Happy Easter. Hugs and blessings, Cindy

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Karen Beth April 2, 2015 at 12:05 pm #

    Hi .. thank you for posting your link in my Tuesday at Ten Link up … I did notice that there is no link up to my website or button used at the bottom of your writing for the word “Blessed” I ask writers and bloggers to post that this is a Tuesday at Ten writing so that the link up can go from person to person…

    if you go to my website under the Tuesday at Ten, you can download the button under the Tuesday at Ten … http://www.findingthegracewithin.com/?page_id=8607

    Thank You …. Lovely post .. and thank you again ..

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2015 at 8:39 pm #

      Hi Karen. It’s there. i see it, but you have to go to my page on the right. Scroll down and see linky parties. These are the ones I visit off and on and I see your button there under Tuesday. The ones on my blog page are the ones I have been featured on. Thank you.

      Like

  12. Jennifer 'Miner' Ferguson April 2, 2015 at 3:31 pm #

    I love that song, too. I enjoyed reflecting on your Lenten and Easter thoughts. The cross is so necessary and deserves my reflection and thanksgiving.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. gakeman75 April 2, 2015 at 6:57 pm #

    Thank you for joining the Small victories linkup. please join again.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. latisha2015 April 3, 2015 at 6:05 am #

    I really appreciate the visual you painted here, the mental picture of Jesus dying for our sins and what it truly looks like. Thank you for this time of reflection. I truly appreciate this being shared at TGI Saturdays. Have a blessed Good Friday and Easter weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Stephanie April 4, 2015 at 12:46 pm #

    This is a beautiful post to get us ready for Resurrection Sunday. Oh, how thankful I am to have such a loving Savior…a Savior that willingly went to the cross for my sin. What grace and mercy He has bestowed upon us. We serve a LIVING Savior 🙂

    Thanks for sharing with Roses of Inspiration. May you have a blessed Resurrection Sunday! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Letetia April 7, 2015 at 12:12 am #

    Resurrection Sunday is indeed everyday! Thank you for sharing at Motivate and Rejuvenate!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anticipating Resurrection Day — 5 Minutes for Faith - April 4, 2015

    […] Resurrection Sunday – Easter – Looking to the Cross @ Glorifying Him by Debbie […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

