Honoring Him in the Daily Mundane Tasks – What Happens When Women Walk in Faith – Blog – Chapter 1

22 Apr

Mundane Tasks

I am participating in the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies.  We are in week 2 of What Happens When Women Walk in Faith by Lysa TerKeurst, and it is my hope to have time to blog through this book.  All quotes below are right out of the book.  Go read it, you’ll be glad you did, and it’s not too late to check out P31 studies, and it’s easy to do the study with us or go back because previous studies are still right there on the blog for your future use.

Chapter 1 – The Map

“God does not call the qualified.  He qualifies the called.”  What are you going through right now?  He is qualifying you for the call. No matter what I am going through today, He is using that to qualify me, Debbie for whatever calling He has for me.  He knows exactly what He is doing.

“And yet what we call mundane is, in some very important ways significant in God’s school of preparation”.  Did you hear that?  In our everyday lives, will we honor Him?  I did that today washing the sheets and thinking about how much my hubby loves it every week coming home to clean sheets, shopping for groceries, washing and folding clothes, scrubbing toilets, and cooking dinner.

Colossians 323

Will we honor Him washing clothes?

Will we honor Him folding them?  I sit here many days folding my husband’s clothes and praying over him.  I did that with my children too, and now for my grandchildren as I wash their bedding, towels, bibs.

 Will we honor Him when we sit down and read a story to our kids or grandkids and tasks go undone?

 Will we honor Him when our children are not making wise choices?

Will we honor Him changing stinky diapers?

Will we honor Him in that job we don’t like being a witness to those we work with that are not Christians?

Will we honor Him as we check off those to-do lists?

 Will we honor Him when our parents health is failing, and they start slipping away?

 Will we honor Him when we’re taking our last breaths?

 Will we honor Him in taking care of our bodies?

Everyday life – will we honor Him?  Everyday life are you  “serving, loving, and enjoying those whom God has entrusted to me” (you).  In order for God to use us, we have to honor Him in all we do.  Everyday we have a choice – a choice to honor God or not to honor.  “If you are a woman (or man) who honors God right where you are, you are in ministry.”

Our memory verse this week:

Hebrews 1035-36

We have to choose to be confident in Him.  We have to persevere/endure.  We have to keep our eyes on the promises He has for us.  Paraphrased it is saying, hold on, don’t give up, honor Him in all I do, confidence plus endurance will equal God’s promises.

Step by step He will show each one of  us how to walk in faith.

14 Responses to “Honoring Him in the Daily Mundane Tasks – What Happens When Women Walk in Faith – Blog – Chapter 1”

  1. Susan Gaddis April 23, 2015 at 11:21 am #

    Needed questions to ask ourselves, and often ones we forget. I tend to forget to honor Him when I check off my to-do lists. I guess I just get in motion and want to get them all done. But I need to stop and honor Him as I complete each one. It’s so logical, but I often miss it. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:50 pm #

      Thank you Susan. I try to wake up each morning thanking Him for what I will accomplish that day and as I do it.

      Like

  2. Ann April 23, 2015 at 9:07 pm #

    During a time in my life, when I was between jobs, I was a stay at home mom. I fel like I was “missing my calling” because I wasn’t doing some grand service to God (in my eyes). Thas was till my hubby reminded me that motherhood is truly one of the greatest callings a woman can have. When I put it into perspective, I realized that wherever I am in life, God uses that. I knew I had to serve, even at home, to the best of my ability by glorifying Him and letting Him use me in all that I did! Lovely photo verse!! Blessings, Ann

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 24, 2015 at 5:27 pm #

      Thanks Ann. I realize any thing I’m doing now should be for His glory. Thanks for stopping by. Going to stop by your blog in a moment.

      Like

  3. elizabethfstewart April 25, 2015 at 11:19 am #

    Endurance is my word for 2015! I loved finding it in your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Janet April 25, 2015 at 3:22 pm #

    Thank you for this beautiful summary of what you’ve learned so far!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jann Olson April 28, 2015 at 10:14 pm #

    Being teachable is so important. If we put our faith in God he will teach us! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:20 pm #

      Thanks Jann.

      Like

  6. Jennifer @ A Divine Encounter April 29, 2015 at 7:20 pm #

    Oh, how I long to steward well every single blessing our Lord grants me! Thank you for encouraging us to view through the lens of stewardship even those aspects of life that are rather ho-hum. He is glorified when we do so, and we must resist any lie that tells us otherwise. I’m glad you linked up with us at Grace & Truth!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:15 pm #

      Thank you so much Jennifer. Love linking up to Grace and Truth.

      Like

  7. The Cold Texan April 20, 2016 at 10:17 am #

    Such a wonderful message! Thanks for joining us at FTAF!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:15 pm #

      Thank you. Enjoy FTAF!

      Like

Leave a Reply

