It’s Time To Draw My Line In The Sand – What Happens When Women Walk In Faith Blog – Chapter 2

25 Apr

Draw my line in the sand]

Chapter 2 – A Line In The Sand

“To honor God COMPLETELY, you need enough faith to leave with Him.  Leave the way you’ve always done life and start doing things differently with God.  leave the attitude, leave the stubborn pride, leave the right to be right, leave the control, and BIGGEST of all, leave the UNBELIEF.”  We can not let our past define who we are, but rather let God refine us as we leave the past behind.

Lysa gave us a formula and that is to start by “leaving the old” and starting something new.  “OUCH”!  What “stuff” do I need to leave behind?  When I find myself focusing on me, I know in my heart I am not focusing on Him.  We have to let go of the “stuff” before God can use us.

What about you?  Are you being left behind because of past hurts, anger, bitterness or bad habits like laziness, over-eating, drugs, drinking to excess?  It’s time to put it behind us, draw a line and move forward, making space for dreams and new adventures that He has planned for us.  We have to let go of those things that cause us to look back.  In order to walk in faith we have to draw that line, move ahead and not look back.

Philippians 313-14

Moving into the famine phase may make us feel like we are in a drought, we might become discouraged and feel stuck and unloved, but “on the other side of leaving is a famine.”  “Oftentimes it is something we were comfortable with.”    A famine of your comfort zone.

I loved the story she shared about rear view mirrors and shared a couple of statements that spoke to me:

“We can’t go ahead with God to new and exciting places if we are spending too much time looking back.  We must leave our past behind, draw a line in the sand, and determine to proceed forward with God.”  We can’t look behind and look ahead all at the same time.

Do you worry about the future?  I do sometimes as I’m aging.  I want to watch my grandchildren grow up and we are not as young as most first-time grandparents.  I worry about the forecast especially right now with tornadoes, hail, and wind predicted for the next three days.  Yes it’s that time of the year, and I often find myself like last Saturday evening when it started hailing asking God to calm the storm, and He did, and brought a double rainbow at the end of that storm, and then again last night more hail and 60 mph winds and guess what another rainbow.

She asked us to read Hebrews 11 and referred to it as the “Hall of Fame”.  As I read it I was touched by all the imperfect people of faith in this one chapter of the Bible that God used.  Oh my what an amazing chapter in the Bible about people just like you and I but you see all these highlights:

IMG_2136[1] IMG_2137[1]

  • By Faith Abraham
  • By faith Isaac
  • By faith Jacob
  • By faith Joseph
  • By faith Moses
  • By faith the walls of Jericho fell down
  • By faith the harlot Rahab did not perish
  • Who by faith Gideon, Barak, Samson, Jephthah, Samuel and the prophets

As I read through this chapter it was like by faith Debbie.   By faith Debbie where do you draw the line.  By faith Debbie do not look back.  By faith Debbie it’s time to move to the next step.

“But the LORD said to Samuel, ‘Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.’”1 Samuel 16:7 (NIV)

At the end of the chapter, Lysa talked about how God gave Abraham the new name of Abram and shared what her name means and asked us to asks us to research the meaning of our names.  I looked up mine here and the meaning is Hebrew and it means bee, to speak kind words.  The verse I found to go with my name was:

Proverbs 1624 Go read What Happens When Women Walk in Faith, you’ll be glad you did, and it’s not too late to check out P31 studies. These studies are so easy to do with us or go to later because previous studies are still right there for reference on the blog.  I’ve been doing them for three years now and every single one of them have blessed my soul.

Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Studies

I am part of the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies.  We are in week 2 of What Happens When Women Walk in Faith by Lysa TerKeurst.  All quotes are right out of the book.

Walk in Faith Book

4 Responses to “It’s Time To Draw My Line In The Sand – What Happens When Women Walk In Faith Blog – Chapter 2”

  1. IntentionallyPursuing.com April 29, 2015 at 11:10 am #

    Visiting you from Wedded Wednesday, and what a delight, Debbie, to find you speaking about what is on my heart right now. I am loving the “What Happens When Women Walk in Faith” Bible study with P31. Thank you for your encouragement to leave the past behind and by faith …. step into all God has called me to. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking May 8, 2015 at 5:11 pm #

      So neat to find someone else in the study. It’s awesome isn’t it and I just got my book today for the next study. Can’t wait.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Stephanie April 29, 2015 at 6:17 pm #

    “We have to let go of the stuff before God can use us.” Amen, my friend. I truly appreciated this post and am so glad you shared it with Roses of Inspiration – thank you 🙂 Hugs and blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shandra April 30, 2015 at 9:23 am #

    Stopping by from Coffee for Your Heart link. Thank you for sharing your words,your Courage to take a stand. Bless you indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

