Uncategorized

Lord, Change Me As I Embrace Walking in Faith

I’m enjoying a study on What Happens When Women Walk In Faith, and trusting God to take me to amazing, new places I have never dreamed about, and some that I have, but haven’t had the courage to pursue.

I’ve been blogging through chapters but so far behind right now with my blogging. In an effort to catch up, here are some nuggets I’ve learned from Chapters 5 which talks about the famine stage of our walk in faith – a dry, barren time for us.  It’s a time we have to press through, a time of trust and knowing He has a perfect plan even in the midst of our discomfort.

Lysa reminded us in Chapter 5 that we “must go to the place where we pay more attention to God at work in our daily lives”  and “we must get to the place where we pay more attention to God at work in our daily lives.  If we are unaware of God in the small things, we’re probably living unaware of His presence in the big things as well.”  Are you aware of the small things – a rose, a baby bird, a crawling baby, a parent in good health, a child doing well in school?

For me, that has been easier as I am growing older.  When I retired a few years ago, my husband gave me several bird feeders.  It was a perfect gift although I wondered why he was giving me those.  I find myself looking out all seasons, but especially this winter at all the birds, and a special added blessing is our oldest grandson (20 months old) loves watching them as much as I.

.cardinal 1And then there are all the beautiful flowers this time of the year.  How can we not just oooh and aahh when we walk outdoors right now and see all the flowers in bloom.  Stop a moment and look at your flower beds or drive down the street and look.

What I treasure today is what I invest my life in!  May I treasure Him first and all else will fall into place.

Some of my favorite quotes from Lysa TerKeurst:

“Faith is found through life.”  I can only say that is a true statement, and if we are not growing in the valleys and the joys something is wrong.  No matter what we are experiencing right now in the everyday happenings we should be experiencing God in the messiness and in the good times.

A couple of my favorite verses from Chapter 5:

Blog 1 Samuel 167

Blog - Matthew 621

Treasure definition from Dictionary.com

  1. 1. wealth or riches stored or accumulated, especially in the form of precious metals, money, jewels, or plate.
  2. 2.wealth, rich materials, or valuable things.
  3. 3.any thing or person greatly valued or highly prized:

What or where is your treasure?  What does the Lord see in your heart?

Here are my previous chapter blogs:

Join our studies at Proverbs31.Org.  What Happens When Women Walk In Faith
12 thoughts on “Lord, Change Me As I Embrace Walking in Faith”

  1. Great quotes, thanks for sharing! Really loved the point that seeing little things in life builds up faith. Someone at my church always calls such things “faith boosters.” Love it! Love from a fellow #TestimonyTuesdayblogger!

    Like

  2. Wow, what a powerful post, my dear! May I treasure Him first…. oh, may that be my desire every day. Thank you so much for sharing with Roses of Inspiration. Hugs and blessings!

    Like

  3. May we store His Word in our heart so we may not sin against Him! Praise God that He knows our heart and loves us anyway! Thanks for the beautiful post. Linked up with you at Mondays @Soul Survival — hope you’ll stop by Saved by Grace for a visit!

    Like

  4. I agree with you, it has become easier with the age to be changed and to embrace that change. When I was younger I wanted to be ready at once, I wanted to have it all and be all and do all, right at this moment. Of course it was not possible. Time has brought wisdom and patience, and also helped to understand that sometimes there is a reason why we need to wait.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Joanna for stopping by and commenting. Yes time and knowing God more does bring so much wisdom.

      Like

  5. Thank you. This was a lovely reflection and reminder that God is in the everyday. I write about this a lot (wrote a book about it too) on my blog to help seekers learn to have eyes to see God. GREAT post! Thank you! Blessings from “Espressos of Faith” via #MakeADifferenceMondays!

    Like

  6. I have found that looking for God in the small things is such a rewarding process. There is so much life in the things I could normally just breeze on by. It has increased the number of times I express my gratitude throughout the day, which always makes my heart sing.

    Like

  7. Beautiful post! I see his hand in everything! I stroll my gardens daily and an in awe of all the beauty that he has provided for us if we just nourish it. Love watching birds and any kind of nature for that matter. How anyone could ever believe there is no God is beyond me? Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

