Planting Seeds – He Is With Us

20 May

This post was originally written ten months ago during a Bible Study called What Happens When Women Walk in Faith.  I am editing it just a bit today for Suzanne Eller’s #Live Free Thursday. 

As we began Chapter 7 of What Happens When Women Walk in Faith which was titled God Is With Us, I could not help repeating this song:

“He is with us, he is with us  – ALWAYS.” Love that song, and I love this Bible study.  Yes He is with me, little ‘ole me and He is with you too.

Have you ever felt God calling you to do something, and your mind jumped into that “impossible” mode?   I have and do. Lysa was convinced that there was just “no way” she could fit two more lives into her already busy  life. She was in the middle of the “famine stage” and knew that something would have to give so she began to pray and watch an answer from God.  She went to a retreat and each person was handed a name of God – her’s was “The Way”.  What a confirmation from Him!

That part of the chapter reminded me so much of me, and I bet it does you too in some way.  Fitting more in my already busy life seems to be the norm.  This past 20 months I have fit two grandsons into an already busy schedule of housekeeping, yard work, volunteering in on-line Bible studies as a team leader, blogging and substitute teaching because they are things I feel that really matter in the Kingdom.   It could be impossible for some, but I know right now that God has called me to do all I am doing.  Sometimes I think it’s just too much, and I need to give something up, but then when I pray about it He gives confirmation that “He is the Way”, His plan is perfect, and He will help me each day as I go His way, not mine, and some days I just have to depend on Him each step of the way.

I look at all I’m doing today and honestly sometimes I am tempted to doubt that God called me to substitute teach after I retired. End of year subbing is hard – all the teachers are using vacation days and many subs have dropped out and honestly some days I want to drop out when that phone is ringing and the computer is dinging. Did I hear Him wrong?  Does He really want me out in the worldly community ministering to teachers and students?  Like Lysa said when these doubts abound, “we are looking at the entire mountain and losing sight of the part God wants to help us move today.  Don’t try to make your whole dream come true at once.  Just fulfill the small part of the mission He’s asking you to do today. Just carry that one rock.  Ask God, what is my assignment for today?”  So I’m taking it one day at a time, still have a full calendar even though I’m R-E-T-I-R-E-D. I find my assignments right now are what is important and first it is my family.

1-corinthians-3_7

Plant seeds today.  God makes them grow.  His plan, not mine.  His instrument.  What is His assignment for me TODAY?

YES, He is with us ALWAYS.  Go plant those seeds or water some that have already been planted.

By the way…….”if you are influencing people, you ARE a leader. You may not stand before crowds, or be the next Kay Arthur, but in some way God will use you to lead others through your influence in their life.” – Lysa TerKeurst

 

15 Responses to “Planting Seeds – He Is With Us”

  1. Susan Gaddis May 21, 2015 at 10:19 am #

    So encouraging to read your words of fitting so much into your busy life and knowing God has called you to be there for your grandkids and students AND teachers. If you can do this, so can others. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lori Ferguson (@Ready2Encourage) May 21, 2015 at 11:16 am #

    Yes! Such an important question to ask God: ” What is my assignment for today” Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. stultsmamaof4 May 22, 2015 at 9:25 am #

    I really love this phrase “Just carry that one rock.” Taking one step at a time, one thing at a time. I’m stopping by from Faith Filled Fridays today. Thanks for this! 🙂
    Jen @ Being Confident of This

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Debi Caspall Thurow May 23, 2015 at 10:56 am #

    Inspiring words! Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop!

    Like

  5. Wise Hearted May 23, 2015 at 7:38 pm #

    One rock at a time is a great attitude, we only start to stress when we carry more then one and when we pick up someone else. Good post.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. inspiredbyjune May 24, 2015 at 12:44 pm #

    He isn’t just waiting for us at our destination, He is there alongside of us throughout our JOurneY. He goes before us and guards behind us, and walks with us! What a comforting word! Thank you for the inspiring post, Debbie! Have a blessed week!

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 7, 2017 at 8:01 am #

      Thanks June. You have a blessed week.

      Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 7, 2017 at 8:03 am #

      Thank you June. You have a blessed week too.

      Like

  7. Lisa @besidestillwaters.blogspot May 25, 2015 at 5:02 pm #

    Charming photo paired with your message! Visiting from Still Saturday 🙂

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 7, 2017 at 8:03 am #

      Thanks so much Lisa.

      Like

  8. Jann Olson May 26, 2015 at 11:21 pm #

    I know that he is with me and so willing to help! All I need to do is ask. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Stephanie May 30, 2015 at 12:47 am #

    Oh how encouraging, my friend. These are words that I will take with me and ponder. Thank you so much for sharing with Roses of Inspiration. Hugs and blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. gakeman75 May 30, 2015 at 11:19 am #

    Thanks for the inspiration and joining the Small victories Sunday Linkup. Please join again.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lyli @ 3dlessons4life.com March 24, 2016 at 12:49 pm #

    Powerful. Thanks for re-sharing this, Debbie. Happy Easter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 1:24 am #

      Thanks Lyli.

      Like

Leave a Reply

