Uncategorized

Running, Running, Running But Not Empty

clockdads

How do you spend your days? It’s not funny but I’m running, running, running all the time, and I know most of you probably are too – but I’m RETIRED.

I’ve been running this week to try to have a garage sale and last night the pedometer had over 14,000 steps.   I went to bed at 10:15 and was up a short time later for the night.   Got back in bed at 2:30 and up at 4:30 to finish preparations for the sale. I am so thankful I can run, so thankful I am able to go on a long walk and savor the beauty of my neighborhood – little bunnies out playing, horses and cows and chickens and llamas and beautiful yards.  Yes I love doing prayer walks and praying for my neighbors and finding those triggers in their yards is just the thing I need to know how to pray for them.  I am thankful that God has blessed us with adult children who enjoy doing things with us and grandchildren.  So thankful I have family and friends to run for and with.

My to-do list in this retirement stage includes all the things I love like watching two grandsons, participating in on-line Bible studies, substitute teaching, reading, walking, and genealogy.  My to-do list is subject to change at a moment’s notice, and I promise you it is all the time.  School calls and needs a sub and I’m off.  The kids call and need a sitter and I say, “bring him on.”  Years ago I would get upset when my to-do list plans changed.  That’s nonsense.  Life is short – enjoy the moments.   The to-do can wait.  Life with family can’t.

If you are running, if your to-do list seems impossible it’s ok.  STOP for just a moment and count your blessings. They are all around you.  Be thankful you have a home to clean, money to buy groceries, children and a spouse to love and you are not bored.  Be filled with joy today knowing tomorrow you may not be able to run.  Take time to stop and share some joy.  Walk in the light – don’t run.

Participating in Suzanne Eller’s Live Free Thursday

12 thoughts on “Running, Running, Running But Not Empty”

  1. Just this week I had commented that I seem more active now at 55 than I ever was! And much of it is self-imposed! lol. It seems I love to stay busy at this stage of my life.

    You really put into words what I have been feeling, that at this stage of the game, it is important to savor the moments and just go with the flow.

    Thank you for sharing such an encouraging post! 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh, how I needed this! It seems like I have been going, going, going for the last few weeks. Yes, I need to simply stop and take time to count my many blessings 🙂

    Thanks for sharing with Roses of Inspiration. Hugs!

    Like

  3. This post makes me think about presence. I have been thinking a lot about how worry takes my eyes straight off of Jesus. May I not be focused on to do’s but on today. Cheering you from the #RaRalinkup on Purposeful Faith.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

