What We Don’t See In Our Busyness

11 Jun

wh

What is it we don’t see?  What do we miss each day because of our busyness?  In Luke 10:41-42, Jesus talks to Martha about her busyness and how few things are needed, but indeed only one – and that ONE THING is Jesus.

What keeps us from seeing Jesus?  What are things we miss and don’t see because we are too busy.  Is it those texts, emails, tweets, selfies?  Is it that to-do list calling us type “As” to get the next thing done NOW.  We fail to see Him because of all our busyness in working and the demands we all have raising families, taking care of parents, stressful jobs, etc..

Sometimes we don’t see Him because we don’t call on Him.  Difficulties bombard our lives, and we forget that He is there every moment and ready to walk us through it.   We come home so exhausted and too tired to take time to sit at His feet and call on Him.  Remember that He heals the brokenhearted.

We even miss him in nature. Have you ever looked up in awe at the night sky with millions and millions of stars – stars that He created He calls them by name. Have you ever just stopped and marveled at what He has done?

Do you ever just take a walk when life seems crazy?  I can throw on my tennis shoes and walk down the road and come home a different person.  It’s little things while I am on that walk like seeing a rabbit, a blue bird, a beautiful flower, a horse and most times it is all of them.  It’s the intricate details of a flower or a butterfly created by a glorious artist.  It’s the miracle of a baby designed by a divine engineer.  How long has it been since you soaked in a sunset?  How about a storm that is so loud the walls are shaking, the hail is hitting the roof, and the rain is pouring down?  We’ve had a lot of those in Texas this year and lots of flooding.  Have you laid in bed praying for God to calm the storms, and watched Him do it.

Charles Finney said “A state of mind that sees God in everything is evidence of growth in grace and a thankful heart.

“When you see God in small things, you’ll see God in all things.”  Donald L. Hicks

Lord teach us to see you in everything.

Participating in #LiveFreeThursday with Suzanne Eller. LIVEFREETHURSDAY

This post was featured on http://www.mysnippetsofinspiration.com/ on 7/2/15.

8 Responses to “What We Don’t See In Our Busyness”

  1. Karen Del Tatto June 11, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

    Thank you for sharing such an encouraging post.

    I liked how you shed light on today’s busyness such as social media, emails, etc. as the “new busy” which isn’t any different from the “Martha busy” because it keeps us from our Master’s feet.

    Tonight, I did enjoy God’s creation out on a lake fishing with my husband with the warm evening breeze and watching a beautiful sunset while listening to a robin’s night song in the distance. It truly does, as you say, “make us a new person”.

    I liked the following quotes you shared,

    “Charles Finney said “A state of mind that sees God in everything is evidence of growth in grace and a thankful heart.

    “When you see God in small things, you’ll see God in all things.” Donald L. Hicks”

    I’m so glad I visited! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. stultsmamaof4 June 12, 2015 at 1:12 am #

    I’ve read so many posts on busyness lately – the Lord must be trying to tell me something. 🙂 I appreciate you sharing this with us at Grace and Truth last week!
    Jen @ Being Confident of This

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Winter June 12, 2015 at 2:18 pm #

    I find great perspective in nature, it can take the grumps right out of me! So blessed by your encouragement today! Stopping by from Counting my Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sizzlesue15 February 19, 2016 at 5:51 pm #

    This is such a popular topic because I think life is just too fast and we don’t take the time to reflect and appreciate what we have. I love the title of your post as it says it all – we miss out on so much when we are caught up in the busyness of day to day living. Have lovely day! #FTAF

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking February 19, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

      Thank you Sue for dropping by. I don’t want to miss anything, but I know I do every single day.

      Like

  5. The Cold Texan February 20, 2016 at 7:17 am #

    Wow, this is one that speaks to me this week for sure! I know these aren’t exactly the words you said but in my roundabout way of thinking, seeing him in everything also means not taking things for granted or as simply coincidence. I had one such instance Thursday this week. In a very odd turn of events my language class that is 5 hours a day 5 days a week, government mandated as part of my emigration,was randomly cancelled. At 9 am when I normally would have just left, my fur baby found an advil under the bed and thankfully didn’t succeed in ingesting it but only because I was home to catch him. If things had happened any other way, he wouldn’t be with us anymore. I spent the WHOLE DAY and still now constantly feeling thankful.

    Thanks again for joining us at FTAF.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 20, 2016 at 9:08 am #

      Thanks Ashley. You know it’s not by chance. On Mother’s Day 2 years ago one of our fur babies had been sick – in and out of he hospital – and was doing better. We came home from our son’s lunch for us and he followed me to the bedroom while I was changing. He died. I know he was waiting for us to get home. I’m thankful we were here to hold him, but it was tough.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roll Out The Red Carpet {for great blog posts} Thursday #8 - Snippets of Inspiration - July 2, 2015

    […] What We Don’t See In Our Busyness […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

