I Am My Daddy’s FAVORITE

3 Jul

Favorite

Good morning.   It’s Friday and today I finally have a few moments to blog.  It’s been a busy, busy, busy summer, but I can say I love every moment of it in my Bible studies, in my home, in my church.

It’s Five-Minute Friday with Kate Motaung, and the writing prompt word of today is favorite.

My precious Daddy had three daughters.  He’s been gone so many years now, but I can tell you I don’t think a one of us ever felt we were not his favorite.  Today as that came to mind it brought  a few tears  and thoughts of my childhood and my adulthood.    I had never thought of how much my earthly Daddy truly loved us girls and how he did it so we all felt special.

I think back about some of Daddy’s favorites besides us girls.  He loved fishing.  He loved to eat chicken fried steak and that’s what he ordered when we went out to eat.  He loved banana bread, and us girls often could be found carrying him a loaf of banana bread after we married. He loved his country and he loved the Lord.  He loved coffee and he loved cigarettes (which were not good for his heart).  Daddy loved my mother so much.  He took care of her with such love.  Daddy loved his grandkids, and did he have a favorite? Absolutely not!!!

I have a son and daughter.  Do I have a favorite?  I can absolutely say never.  How could I?  God blessed me with both of them after many years of pain and heartache walking through miscarriage after miscarriage.  My son is my favorite.  My daughter is my favorite.  My daughter-in-love is my favorite.  My son-in-love is my favorite.  I have two absolutely adoring grandsons and they are so stinkin’ cute and no there is no favorite.  How could I have a favorite?  I can’t.  They bring so much joy.

That’s exactly how our Father in Heaven wants us to feel – like His favorite – because we truly are. Have you ever looked at another and compared yourself with them?  Have you ever wondered if He loves you as much as them?  Oh my friend He loves you just like He does me.

I am His favorite and you are too.

Acts 1034

18 Responses to “I Am My Daddy’s FAVORITE”

  1. Tondra Denise July 3, 2015 at 1:12 pm #

    Yes, I know for sure that I am my Daddy’s favorite… I am an only child! But I also love how God has a way of making me always feel as if I am His favorite as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kristi Woods July 7, 2015 at 8:50 am #

    It sounds as though you were certainly blessed to have your father. I’m certain you’re blessed to have the Father….and to be His favorite. Love it! Cheering you on via #raralinkup.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stephanie July 7, 2015 at 11:29 am #

    Sweet friend, what a darling post! Yes, we are indeed precious in God’s eyes. Thank you for sharing this sweet and touching post with Roses of Inspiration. Enjoy your day! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Coupon Diva (@RealCouponDiva) July 7, 2015 at 5:15 pm #

    still working on that one 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heather July 7, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

    Very sweet post! it is a good reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Susan B Mead July 8, 2015 at 8:24 am #

    And you are too. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mary Geisen July 8, 2015 at 8:33 am #

    Beautiful! So glad to know you are part of the FMF community. One of my favorite group of writers that I hang out with every week. When I wrote my post for “favorite” last week, I also wrote that we are all God’s favorites because He chose each of us and gifted us uniquely. Blessed to be visiting you from Messy Marriage.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 8, 2015 at 10:09 am #

      Love that Mary. Just read your blog. God just speaks to us and reinforces over and over. Love how He does that.

      Like

  8. Katie M. Reid July 8, 2015 at 9:10 am #

    Thank you for linking-up with Three Word Wednesday. Great reminder- we really are all His favorite, right? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Debbie Kitterman July 8, 2015 at 11:58 am #

    So glad you had a chance to write last Friday – such a good post. – – Hey, I am My Fathers favorite too 😉 Found you over at Prayer girls link up.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. bluecottonmemory July 8, 2015 at 12:11 pm #

    My dad wasn’t involved in my life (divorce) – and my heart so hungered for the love of a father like you describe. God has filled up that hole in my heart, though – and become that father. It took me a long time to know what it was like to feel like a favored child – and to believe it. Some days I do that better than others. However, I so love reading father-daughter stories:) It’s like God saying, “I’m that for you.”

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Being Woven July 8, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

    Blessed I feel knowing God loves me so. I know that my Daddy loved all three of us girls equally too but he died when I was only 12. My sisters were 10 & 7. We lost so much when God called him home. But Mama raised us and we all turned out well. Praising God for His everlasting love and provision.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Being Woven July 8, 2015 at 9:39 pm #

      PS…I also want to say that I did not come to know Jesus until I was 45 so that “Daddy hole” stayed unfilled all those years. But it has my Lord there now, never to be empty again.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. kchripczuk July 9, 2015 at 1:14 pm #

    I think it is the depth and breadth of love itself that keeps us from choosing favorites – each of my children has awakened and inspired a new kind of love in me. Thanks for linking with #SmallWonder.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Holly @ While I'm Waiting July 14, 2015 at 1:35 pm #

    I am constantly telling my kiddos (and their friends too!) that “you are my favorite!” with a little wink. It’s not so much that you actually have favorites it’s more than you treat them as if they are. They love it (and so do I)! Thank you for sharing at Waiting on…Wednesday! Hope to see you back tomorrow!

    Holly @ http://www.iwillservewhileiwait.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Joanne Rawson July 7, 2016 at 2:58 pm #

    Aw that’s so sweet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

