PROVERBS 4 – SOAK – FIXING MY GAZE DIRECTLY BEFORE ME

17 Jul

Proverbs 425

Have you ever been driving in a downpour of rain where you can’t see, or a winding road in the mountains where you are clutching the steering wheel with both hands, and your eyes are straight ahead on the highway not looking to the left or to the right.  Proverbs tells us we are to be like that all the time.  I know I get distracted.   How about you?  I go to the bedroom to put something up, and the first thing I know I’m doing three or four things and lost my focus, or I’ll be writing and a message pops up on my screen and thirty minutes later I have gotten involved on another site.  Or how about the times we let our fears, anxieties and thoughts sidetrack and get our eyes off Jesus.

Jesus spent His time on Earth always looking ahead to His Father.  Hebrews 12:2 reminds us that Jesus was the perfecter of faith and He is our role model.  He never varied, always looking at the task ahead.

S: Scripture Proverbs 4:25 (NIV)   

O: Observation – Negative situations, negative thoughts, daily busy lives can pull us right down and distract us.    Each step we make can be a step closer to Him or a step further from Him.  Each thought can be a reminder to focus or not to focus on our past,  but what God has waiting for us ahead.

A: Application – I need to look ahead to Him and not get sidetracked by things or thoughts or fears.  I need to focus on the eternal one, and not the things of this world.  I need to focus on the task at hand, and not get sidetracked doing something else and never accomplishing anything.

K: Kneeling In Prayer – Father God thank You that You are always there.  I just need to keep my eyes focused on You.  Father gently remind me that You are there.

You can visit my other writings on Proverbs here:

Proverbs 1

Proverbs 2

Proverbs 3

You can join in the study at the link below.

Blogging through bible with GMG button

4 Responses to “PROVERBS 4 – SOAK – FIXING MY GAZE DIRECTLY BEFORE ME”

  1. Crystal Walton (@CrystalLWalton) July 22, 2015 at 10:10 am #

    Hi Debby, I’m stopping over from the RaRaLinkup. It’s amazing how easily we can get sidetracked, isn’t it? Not just in everyday responsibilities, but in heart matters too. So many outside factors sweep in and steal our focus. And of course, all kinds of turmoil follow once we take our eyes off the Lord. I run into that all the time as an author. But I’m so amazingly grateful for His grace to draw me back to Him again and again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. allthatsjas July 24, 2015 at 9:45 pm #

    Beautiful post and a reminder! I lose my focus way too often…Thanks for linking up with us at Thursday Favorite Things!

    Like

  3. Stephanie July 26, 2015 at 8:36 pm #

    My dear friend, how I appreciated this post and encouraging thoughts. How I pray I am always looking ahead to my Heavenly Father!

    Thank you for sharing with Roses of Inspiration….I hope you’re able to join us again this week. Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

