PROVERBS 5 – SOAK – ARE YOU CONTENT?

17 Jul

me-and-mix5

The whole chapter of Proverbs 5 is clearly about immorality/adultery.  Solomon was addressing his son.  As I read through it, there are so many beautiful words about being content and satisfied with the spouse we have, and letting God do the work in him.

Marriage can be hard.  It can be wonderful and beautiful, but it takes a whole lot of work.  Romance and intimacy are by products of that hard work and commitment.  We can’t let day-to-day to-do-lists and upsets distract us from prioritizing our husbands, and we can’t throw in the towel when things get hard.  Trust me even though today may be tough if you stick with it you will see it is worth it. I can truly say that after 46 years of marriage.

Take some time to say a kind word to your spouse.  Reach for his hand.  Tell him thank you for the little things.  If he helps clean off the table, helps fold a load of clothes, watches the kids, or fixes something simple say a kind word of thank you.  Watching television together remember just scoot over and lay your head in his lap.  When he walks in the door don’t start sharing today’s problems, but allow him to wind down a little while.

Are you rejoicing in the husband of your youth so that he can rejoice in the wife of his youth as it talks about in Proverbs 5:18 (KJV).  “ Let thy fountain be blessed: and rejoice with the wife of thy youth.”    Are you letting your husband be a fountain of blessing for you?   Do you thank God for Him every day?

“For the Lord sees clearly what a man does, examining every path he takes.” I think this is a great reminder to all of us to really pay attention to the paths that we walk in everyday, and if we are uncertain the Lord will always give us a way to escape. All we have to do is ask.  Choices have consequences.  Think about the choices you have made that caused grave consequences.

Even though Proverbs 5 is specifically about marriage, the same points throughout it can applied in all areas of our lives.  Are you content where you are right now?  Are you satisfied?  We should never be content where we are.  There is always room for improvement.  The longer I study the Word, the more I want to change about me.

My favorite verse that I chose to SOAK was verse 21.  God sees everything even those unspoken things – thoughts and motives, and through all the ugly and pretty, He still loves us.

S – Scripture

For the Lord sees clearly what a man does, examining every path he takes. An evil man is held captive by his own sins, they are ropes that catch and hold him. He will die for the lack of self control; he will be lost because of his great foolishness. Proverbs 5:21-23 (NLT)

O – Observation

He sees clearly everything we do but that word examining is piercing because sometimes His eyes must be piercing at the stupid things I do. Truly I am held captive by  food and my lack of self-control, and that is foolishness and I might die if I don’t learn to control it.  What a reminder today as I make out my shopping list and menu for the week.

A – Application

It’s time to CHANGE. It’s time to exercise more and eat less and healthier. Making progress, but God keeps speaking to me about it.

K – Kneeling In Prayer

Dear Father I pray for forgiveness for all these years I’ve wandered. I pray that You continue to convict me, continue to strengthen me, and teach me Lord and send people to teach me how to eat better. In your name I pray. AMEN.

You can read my past blogs on Proverbs below:

Proverbs 1

Proverbs 2

Proverbs 3

Proverbs 4

You can join in the study at the link below.

Blogging through bible with GMG button

12 Responses to “PROVERBS 5 – SOAK – ARE YOU CONTENT?”

  1. Learn. Grow. Love. Thrive. July 22, 2015 at 11:21 am #

    Stopping by from Word Filled Wednesday. Yes, marriage does take work. But it is so worth it. It breaks my heart when folks throw in the towel right in the middle as things get hard. I want to come along side them and say, “Hang in there, the great stuff is just around the corner and you will look back on this time and see how it helped to knit you together even stronger.” It makes me sad. Love your blog.

    Like

  2. Kristin Hill Taylor July 22, 2015 at 12:12 pm #

    Good words here. My husband and I are getting ready to celebrate 13 years of marriage – and we’re grateful that we’ve gotten through some hard seasons together. Thanks for linking up at #ThreeWordWednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking December 30, 2015 at 7:33 pm #

      I hope you had a wonderful celebration. So sorry I missed your comment months ago. I’m cleaning out emails and it was like gee whiz.

      Like

  3. nikkifrankhamilton July 22, 2015 at 11:00 pm #

    Thankfully my husband appreciates me as I appreciate him, and through God we have been thankful to have found each other and stick together through thick and thin. Thanks for your words and teaching us to apply those words to all areas of our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kristenkjohnson July 22, 2015 at 11:20 pm #

    That SOAK thing is pretty cool. What a great tool! Good thoughts on marriage too. Visiting from #threewordWednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ivyoverjoyedAnastasia August 10, 2015 at 1:17 pm #

    This was beautiful. I have had friends talk about divorce within the first year of their marriage, and it makes me wonder why they got married in the first place. I’m almost to three years, and we have certain had our issues. I love posts like this, because it helps me to be a better wife. Thanks for sharing. #MarriageMondays

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 14, 2015 at 9:41 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by. Marriage is a lot of work at times, but for us it has gotten better and better with age. I think even when a couple divorces they are going to have problems. We are just different and we have to learn to appreciate those differences and look for all the good things.

      Like

  6. Kelly S August 22, 2016 at 9:48 pm #

    This came at the perfect time! Not only is today my anniversary, but Proverbs 5 is next up in our nightly reading with the girls! Thank you for this helpful post. And thank you for linking up. I love what you brought to the table!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 24, 2016 at 6:57 pm #

      Thank you Kelly. You blessed me as I read this right now. Hope your girls enjoyed Proverbs 5. Thanks again for the link-up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

