PROVERBS 9 – SOAK – The Beginning of Knowledge

5 Aug

proverbs-89-10.

SCRIPTURE:  Proverbs 9:8-9 (KJV) 

Reprove not a scorner, lest he hate thee: rebuke a wise man, and he will love thee. Give instruction to a wise man, and he will be yet wiser: teach a just man, and he will increase in learning. The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding.

OBSERVATION:    

I think all of us have been:

  • scoffed at (mocked at)
  • rebuked (criticized)
  • given instruction

Evert been on the receiving end of criticism.  It sure can be difficult or at least it is for me.  And how does it feel when we think we are right?  These verses remind me that a wise man will be okay when rebuked and will become wiser, he will have a teachable spirit because the Lord is the beginning of wisdom.

I am glad I am learning about this verse because I can have my feelings hurt like sometimes when I speak up because someone is wrong and my hubby gives me a look.  We have one person in particular who is always right no matter what and will not listen to anything when they have their mind made up.  Well honest me wants the facts to be right and I’ll jump in.  How dumb is that?  I know it won’t make a bit of difference so why do I do it?  I am hoping after soaking these verses I will keep my mouth shut and I won’t get that look from my hubby that always hurts my feelings.  I need to love him for trying to help me become better because he knows I am wasting my time because that person is not going to listen.

The fear of the Lord to me is respect and awe and worship of Him.  The more I grow in awe of Him the more I want to know about Him.

APPLICATION:  I believe God is saying here that wise people will be open and receptive to constructive criticism.  In turn, that person will grow and learn.  The scoffer hates correction.  I don’t want to be that scoffer.

KNEEL IN PRAYER:  Lord thank You for showing me how to have a teachable spirit.  Help me to listen and learn from those who are wise than me.  May I take that wisdom and apply it.  In your name I pray.  AMEN.

You can read my past blogs on Proverbs below:

Proverbs 1

Proverbs 2

Proverbs 3

Proverbs 4

Proverbs 5

Proverbs 6

Proverbs 7

Proverbs 8

You can find the Good Morning Girls Proverbs study at the link below:

Blogging through bible with GMG button

8 Responses to “PROVERBS 9 – SOAK – The Beginning of Knowledge”

  1. Stephanie Finley August 5, 2015 at 5:01 pm #

    Love your posts on Proverbs! At first I was wondering what SOAK meant but then I saw that you had is all spelled out down the side. Thanks!!

    So glad we were brought together at Declare. Really enjoyed our time together. Steph

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 5, 2015 at 9:58 pm #

      Hey Steph. I was just showing my hubby pictures of us I had put on Facebook. Had a great time and hope we can go back next year.

      Like

  2. Mary Geisen August 12, 2015 at 8:33 am #

    May we all have a teachable spirit and allow God to mold us as He has planned. It is so easy to be that runaway train that veers off in the direction that we believe is best or to advise others when we just need to let God keep us on course. Glad to be your neighbor today at Messy Marriage.

    Like

  3. Kristin Hill Taylor August 12, 2015 at 3:46 pm #

    Good application! I know I haven’t always had the most teachable attitude! 🙂 Thanks for linking up at #ThreeWordWednesday.

    Like

  4. Stephanie August 15, 2015 at 11:53 pm #

    Another incredible post, my dear! You are right, it is hard to receive criticism, yet it can be so beneficial when we alllow ourselves to listen and to grow. Thank you for sharing this encouraging post with Roses of Inspiration. Hugs!

    Like

  5. Jennifer | The Deliberate Mom August 18, 2015 at 8:41 pm #

    Ah yes, I struggle with criticism… and rejection. In my mind, the two are equal but realistically, I know they aren’t.

    Thank you for sharing this scripture.

    Thanks for sharing and for linking up to the #SHINEbloghop.

    Wishing you a lovely evening.
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

