FINDING TIME WITH GOD

21 Aug

Bibled

How do you find time to spend in studying and learning more about Him?  That’s a question for all of us in the busyness of life. Yes I know that it does not matter what stage of life we are in that today, it is a busy, busy World.  We are taking care of babies, running kids to all kinds of practices or school, taking care of aging parents, working outside or inside the home, taking care of our yards, and on and on and on.  I retired a few years ago, and let me tell you it’s true when they say you are busier retired than you were working.

So I will just share how I have FINALLY found time to really, really study the Word and grow like I have never before.

Find a Bible study at church or on-line.  Our Bible studies at church are in the evening, and honestly I do not want to be gone in the evening because that time is for my husband.   Shortly after I retired I found Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies and my life changed and changed.  I thought I was very close to God, but I found out I was NOT.  Check out the P31 website.  You won’t regret it.  Our next study  starts September 8th and is called “Taming The To-Do List”.   tamingtodolist2.  Spend some time in prayer each morning or evening or better yet, how about both?  Actually, I try to spend time on my knees in the morning before I lead my team of group leaders with Proverbs 31.  Yes I was just a group participant a few years ago, but I fell so in love with these studies and when I asked to volunteer as a leader, I did.  I love to start the morning before I enter my team in prayer for them, my family, my friends, neighbors, church and country.  I love running to Him no matter how my day starts – joyful or struggling with the pains that come with life.

3.Choose a time to study and try and keep that time commitment.  Maybe it’s early morning before the family gets up.  For me it is as soon as my husband walks out to go to work, but if I am subbing at school it may be a little in the morning, and a little at lunch.  Try to be consistent, but also be ready to adapt.

4.  Find a place to have your quiet time.  Most days I am just sitting here on my den sofa, but occasionally I’ll go out on the front porch or out by the pool.  I have been known to sit at the kitchen table.  Make it comfortable and relaxing with no distractions.

5.  One of my favorite things that I recently started is called the First 5 App.  It is offered for our phones and downloads each morning with a five-minute devotional.  They are absolutely the best devotions I have ever followed.  They are transforming and who can’t give their first five minutes to God.  Check out the First 5 App here or just go to your phone and search apps.  It’s FREE.

  FFIphone1

5.  Know how to study and research.  They have taught us a whole lot about how to study our Bibles using search tools, etc..  We learn a bit each study.  Here is just one amazing example.

6.  Keep Notes – I love keeping notebooks of what I am studying.  I love all sorts of pens and markers and I DO highlight my Bible favorite scriptures and write notes in the margins.

7.  Memorize Scripture.   I love memorizing scripture.  We are given one verse a week during our Bible studies.  While we have breaks I will go back to be sure I’ve memorized.  Here is an example of how I post scriptures around the house to help me.  Store up His Word.

DSC03248

Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee. Psalm 119:11 (KJV)

Joining Kate Motaung in Five-Minute Friday today.

This post was featured on Grace At Home on 9/3/25 and on Meandering Mondays on 9-6-15.

20 Responses to “FINDING TIME WITH GOD”

  1. Stacey Patrick August 22, 2015 at 12:12 am #

    I am your neighbor from Five Minute Fridays. Can I just say, I absolutely LOVE how inviting you are in your post? I felt immediately welcomed like I was sitting with a close friend. You are SO right about finding time to spend with the Lord. It’s so necessary, no matter what stage of life we are in. You laid out some really good tips.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ifeoma Samuel August 27, 2015 at 5:11 am #

    Hello Debbie, I just want to say a BIG THANK YOU.
    This post touched my heart. Bible study is very important!
    God Bless

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lissette August 28, 2015 at 9:19 am #

    Thank you Debbie for sharing these great tips at the #FridayFunday blog hop!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mary Geisen August 28, 2015 at 9:35 am #

    I love these practical ways to digging into God’s word. YOU have laid it out so well for anyone to follow easily. Blessings on your day and weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dawn Boyer August 28, 2015 at 9:41 am #

    I love the way you closed this powerfully packed lesson on diving into His Word so that we are changed. All scripture is God Breathed and I have hidden His Word in my heart… The ‘summarizer’ in me looks and says… I am taking His whispers and I am planting them in my heart and out of the abundance of the whispered word, I will sing praises! 🙂

    God is so good and I appreciate your encouragement to pray,seek, and study Him in His word.
    Blessings,
    Dawn

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Debbie Prater August 29, 2015 at 8:55 am #

    We need those quiet times with Jesus badly. And wow His Word, it’s like digging in a gold mine.

    Like

  7. Kristin Hill Taylor August 30, 2015 at 4:19 pm #

    So many practical suggestions here! I’ve learned the “how” looks different in different seasons but that’s okay. Thanks for linking up at #ThreeWordWednesday.

    Like

  8. messymarriage August 30, 2015 at 5:58 pm #

    Thanks for the encouragement to have our daily time with God. That’s a non-negotiable for me, Debbie. Spending that time at Jesus’ feet truly gives me the strength to make it through my day. Thanks for linking back at MM too. 🙂

    Like

  9. Barbie August 31, 2015 at 2:17 am #

    It is not hard to spend time in God’s Words. There are so many wonderful resources at our disposal. I am really enjoying the First 5 App.

    Like

  10. Laura August 31, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

    Oh I just loved my visit here…and it’s my first! Consistently reading God’s word is something that I struggle with. I get started, and then quickly fall off the bandwagon. I am familiar with Proverbs 31 Ministries and look forward to checking out the Bible study that you mention. Thank you for encouraging me to work harder at making time for God every single day.

    Like

  11. Jann Olson September 1, 2015 at 12:34 am #

    Such great tips! I have the scriptures on my phone, but I do not read them nearly as often as I should. I pray nightly, (must confess, that I miss once in a while) and thank him daily for all of my blessings, but I really need to improve on my studying! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Like

  12. Natasha September 1, 2015 at 8:32 am #

    Beautiful ideas here to spend more time with Him! Thank you! Pinning for later too. Found you at mom2mom link up!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Richella Parham September 3, 2015 at 8:50 am #

    Wonderful tips here! I’ve never heard of that app–I’ll have to check it out.

    Thanks so much for joining Grace at Home–I’m featuring you this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. ericax235 March 5, 2016 at 3:09 pm #

    I use the first 5 app. I do my quiet time at night when everyone has gone to bed.

    thanks for linking up to From the Archives Friday
    Erica

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 11, 2016 at 2:53 am #

      Erica how cool. You are the first I’ve heard from about first 5. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Momma's Meandering Mondays 115! - This Momma's Ramblings - September 6, 2015

    […] favorite post came from Blogger Loves The King with the post “Finding Time With God“! “I’ve told myself plenty of times to find time in my day to meditate and spend […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

