Uncategorized

#write31days – DAY 19 – AUTUMN LESSONS ON BEING MORE DEVOTED TO PRAYER

DSC02214

My husband and I just began week 2 of our Bible study on Sunday evenings “The Battle Plan for Prayer”.  I can’t believe all the things we are learning.  Each Sunday night we listen to the pastor a few moments, the congregation comments, we watch a video, comment some more and then get together in teams and pray.

IMG_3827[1]

One of the biggest reasons we don’t take time to pray is we run out of time.  Do you realize that Satan hates prayer?  He allows us to be busy, and even our pastor admitted that he can get so busy with ministry that he doesn’t spend as much time in prayer as he should.

I listened intently to that as we talked about keeping journals of our prayers so that we can write down when God answers and REMEMBER.  I kept a journal until last year when I got so busy in ministry with my Bible studies, my teaching, my family and even though I still pray all through the day, I haven’t kept that journal up.  To journal all we need to do is petition the Lord and date it and pray in faith.  We can look back later and remember His goodness.  So I’m pulling out a journal today and starting over and watching how God works.

In the video they shared a couple of verses about devoting ourselves to prayer, but this was my favorite:

Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.  Colossians 4:2 (NIV)

Here are some simple ways to devote time to prayer we learned from the video:

  1.  SCHEDULED PRAYER – We need to find a place and time.  Do you have a place and time?  My major prayer time is in the morning.  My place changes and is usually on my front den sofa, or on my knees in front of that sofa.  I’m wanting to establish a war room, but the closets are so full that’s a little complicated right now.  Praying that God will inspire where I need to do that, but perhaps it is the back den because that is a place we seldom use.  Some examples of scheduled prayer in the Bible are in Psalm 55:17 (NIV) where it says “Evening, morning and noon I cry out in distress, and he hears my voice.”   Daniel would open his window 3 times a day and pray.
  2. SPONTANEOUS PRAYER – What things prompt you to pray during the day?  For me it can be something as simple as throwing a load of clothes in the washer and praying and thanking God that He has blessed us with clothes, with water, with electric washer and dryers and on and on, or cleaning the kitchen or cooking thanking Him for our food and a family to eat it.  Ask God in your prayer time to prompt you to pray throughout the day.  I find myself thinking of someone during the day and I stop to pray for them.
  3. ANYTIME SOMETHING IS NEWPRAYERS – A new day, month, year, baby, automobile.
  4. NEEDS PRAYER– James 4:2 – We have not because we ask not.
  5. CONFUSION AND CRISIS PRAYERS – A meeting at work you are dreading, a family crisis asking God to bring good out of that crisis
  6.  SIN PRAYERS – Ask for forgiveness of our sins.  I know I sin daily.
  7.  STRESS PRAYERS – One of the men at our meeting shared how when he was working and driving home in Dallas traffic that when he was stressed or angry at other drivers he would pray.
  8.  BLESSINGS AND BURDENS PRAYERS – Thank God for you blessings.  We have so many every single day we need to stop and give thanks.  Also share your burdens.  Yes, He knows them already but He wants you to talk to Him.
  9. REQUESTS AND REJOICING PRAYERS – Share your requests whatever they might be and share your rejoicing.  Thank Him for all He has done.

After last night’s lesson I don’t think I’ll ever wake up again and not say, “Good Morning LORD.”

You can find my other 31 days posts at the links below.

Day 1 – Autumn Cool, Crisp Mornings

Day 2 – Autumn Sunsets and Sunrises

Day 3 – Autumn Lunchbox Free Printables, Fall Festival Cards, Game and Coloring Pages

Day 4 – Autumn Thankfulness Ideas For Celebrating

Day 5 – Autumn – Throw Open the Windows and Do Some Fall Cleaning

Day 6 – Autumn – Candles

Day 7 – Autumn October – Think Pink – Cancer Month

Day 8 – Autumn Candies

Day 9 – Autumn Decorating My Porch

Day 10 – Autumn Decorating The Kitchen

Day 11 – Autumn Means Pumpkin Bread

Day 12 – Autumn Decorating the Rest of the House

Day 13 – Autumn Songs

Day 14 – Autumn Lunch Box Notes – Free Printables

Day 15 – Autumn A Great Season for Bible Studies and a Giveaway

Day 16 – Autumn Prayer Time Is Any Season and a Giveaway

Day 17 – Autumn Did Someone Say Grilled Sandwiches Please

Day 18 – Autumn Trips To The Coast and Autumn Thankfulness

2 thoughts on “#write31days – DAY 19 – AUTUMN LESSONS ON BEING MORE DEVOTED TO PRAYER”

Leave a Reply

