Gallery

#write31 Days – DAY 23 – AUTUMN SOUPS

23 Oct

IMG_4155[1]

I always love our first pot of soup.  This year Autumn has been slow in coming and so has the soup.  But today it is a bit cooler (still in the 70s) and it has been raining all day, so I came home from school and put on one of my favorites which I just call Hamburger Soup.  My mother-in-law always made this and we just put all sorts of things in.  It’s never the same.  It sure was good a pan of cornbread, and then my husband made some homemade ice cream with my grandson who is over to visit this evening.  That’s probably the last freezer of the year and he made banana/strawberry.  It was really good, but now I’m cold.

Here is how I make the hamburger soup.  I take a pound of lean hamburger meat and brown it.  I put that in a big soup pot and add about a cup each of  diced, cubed potatoes, chopped onion, frozen or fresh green beans, frozen pinto beans, a can of tomatoes,  frozen corn, frozen blackeyed peas, frozen green peas, fresh chopped carrots and a can of tomato sauce and lots of water.  Sometimes I add frozen okra (I love, hubby does not) and sometimes black beans.  Tonight I added some small gluten-free rigatoni for our grandson.  He loved it.  Let it cook a couple of hours and serve with cornbread.  It is so good on a cold day and so easy.

I wanted to add a few more recipes here that I plan to try this season.

Pasta Fagoli

Crockpot Mistake

Potato Soup

This year I am working on preparing double batches of soup and casseroles and am going to try to freeze them for quick lunches and dinners when the grandsons are here and I don’t have time to cook, or to use on a lazy Sunday evening after church.  Any comments or suggestions on freezing I would love to hear from you in the comments.

You can find my other 31 days posts at the links below.

Day 1 – Autumn Cool, Crisp Mornings

Day 2 – Autumn Sunsets and Sunrises

Day 3 – Autumn Lunchbox Free Printables, Fall Festival Cards, Game and Coloring Pages

Day 4 – Autumn Thankfulness Ideas For Celebrating

Day 5 – Autumn – Throw Open the Windows and Do Some Fall Cleaning

Day 6 – Autumn – Candles

Day 7 – Autumn October – Think Pink – Cancer Month

Day 8 – Autumn Candies

Day 9 – Autumn Decorating My Porch

Day 10 – Autumn Decorating The Kitchen

Day 11 – Autumn Means Pumpkin Bread

Day 12 – Autumn Decorating the Rest of the House

Day 13 – Autumn Songs

Day 14 – Autumn Lunch Box Notes – Free Printables

Day 15 – Autumn A Great Season for Bible Studies and a Giveaway

Day 16 – Autumn Prayer Time Is Any Season and a Giveaway

Day 17 – Autumn Did Someone Say Grilled Sandwiches Please

Day 18 – Autumn Trips To The Coast and Autumn Thankfulness

Day 19 – Autumn Lessons On Being More Devoted To Prayer

Day 20 – Autumn My First Trip To A Pumpkin Patch

Day 21 – Autumn Time To Buy A  Planner For 2016

Day 22 – Autumn Brrr It’s Cuddle Weather

This post was shared on Tasty Tuesday on 4/11/16.

Leave a Reply

