Gallery

Advent – Week 2 – Peace

8 Dec

NamesofJesus

Not only are we in week 2 of Advent, but the calendar continues to count down to Christmas.  I love it.  I love every single thing about it.   I love the cards, the recipes, the decorations, the shopping, the cooking, the Hallmark Christmas movies, the Christmas music, wrapping gifts, and last week watching our two-year old grandson smile when I said Nanna and PaPa bought you presents for Christmas and hear him say Christmas.  Confession – No gifts wrapped yet, but some were put in the mail yesterday for sweet friends.

The older I grow, and the more we lose dear loved one, the more special Christmas becomes.  Actually, every single day becomes more special.  We don’t get do-overs, but oh how I wish we did so I live for each moment, each day to savor with loved ones.

I know this time of the year can be hard for so many.   Trust me I have been there.  The first year my Dad died I so dreaded Christmas and having all my family here and Mom coming in that door without him.  Oh it was tough for a moment, but she brought angel pins for us 3 girls, one of my sister’s wrote a poem (Dad always did) and gave each of the grandchildren one of Dad’s clocks and read the poem.

In reading about Advent this year, I learned that the wreath represents God’s never-ending love for you and me.  The evergreens represent His gift to us of eternal life.  The candles remind us Jesus is the Light of the World.This week of advent represents peace.  I did not know until I started researching that Shalom means peace.  How cool is that?  Jesus came to be the Prince of Peace.

Blog - Isaiah 96

SHALOM!

 

8 Responses to “Advent – Week 2 – Peace”

  1. Mary Geisen December 9, 2015 at 9:15 am #

    Beautiful! We should never take for granted how difficult a holiday especially Christmas can be for those who have lost a loved one. Thank you for getting me excited about Christmas. It has been in the 50s here and it is not feeling like Christmas. Blessings to you and your family!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking December 9, 2015 at 4:59 pm #

      Thanks Mary. You are so sweet. Well it’s in the 70s here in Texas and we are tying a record for 80 on Friday and then a cool front that us Texans call cold front coming Saturday in the 50s. Thanks for stopping by. Love your smiling face.

      Like

  2. Ann December 11, 2015 at 2:03 am #

    When I think of the peace of God, especially with all the turmoil and heartache the world has recently experienced, I am reminded of Philippians 4:7 – And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. How beautiful is this peace we can have!!!!

    Like

  3. Ifeoma Samuel December 11, 2015 at 7:26 am #

    Hi Deb, its great joining you here. I am sorry for your loss! I like the thoughts you have and encouraging words to help others who facing such challenges.
    PS Your Google+ doesn’t have your blog links. I think people it will be helpful updating your profile.
    Blessings to you.

    Like

  4. Ifeoma Samuel December 11, 2015 at 7:28 am #

    Oops I am sorry! I meant people would follow your links there if you update your Google+ profile

    Like

  5. Lissette December 11, 2015 at 12:00 pm #

    I’ve also had a few rough years where we were missing key members of our family who were taken from us too soon. It does get better with the passing year, and the memory of them may still hurt, but not as much. What it does teach is us that life is fleeting and you can’t take this moment for granted. Enjoy every bit of it.

    Thanks for sharing on the #FFBH. ❤

    Like

  6. Lori Schumaker of Seaching for Moments December 12, 2015 at 6:45 pm #

    My heart is with you as you miss your loved ones.
    I also wanted to tell you I have that same ribbon from your first photo! I absolutely love it streamed around my tree as a reminder of His hope and peace.
    Blessings and smiles,
    Lori

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking December 30, 2015 at 5:28 pm #

      Thank you so much for stopping by Lori. Great minds think alike with those ribbons. I haven’t taken mine down yet, but maybe tomorrow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

