Gallery

REFLECTING ON A NOT SO BUSY, HURRIED CHRISTMAS’

11 Dec

tree2015

Today has been a time of reflection because well that’s the word we are writing 5 minutes about on Kate Matoung.

I sit here this morning with my 2-year old grandson who spent the night.  As soon as we walked in the dark den, I asked him if he wanted me to turn on the Christmas tree lights.  He did, and I paused to show him a couple of ornaments with Santa kneeling down worshiping Baby Jesus.

This time of the year we can get so burdened – burdened with loss of loved ones and burdened with all that we as women are doing to make our homes and hearts ready for Christmas.  I even get a little teary eyed putting up the tree each year because many of my ornaments were from Mom, and that little gold one up near the top is an ornament my baby sister made me one Christmas with Mom, Dad and us three girls when we were little.  I’ll get teary eyed in a bit when I put that beautiful Avon Christmas nativity set my Mom gave me that fills up the top of our piano.  But God has blessed me with precious memories, and I want to bless my family with memories when I am gone.

I’m not reflecting this morning on busy, hurried, frantic Christmas’.  This year is different.  I’ve slowed down and there is still much to do,BUT I’m savoring it all – taking it in and keeping it about Him.  My husband even commented about the tree and how it reflects Him and as he prayed the other night He asked God to bless others as they come to the house and see it.  I found some beautiful ribbon at Hobby Lobby with the names of Jesus, and have so many ornaments now that say peace, and faith and joy and a couple of crowns and lots of crosses.

As you take some time to worship with Him in the morning while looking at your tree, think on the things that keep Him in Christmas, think of the things you “get” to do, not what you have to do.  We “get” to do Christmas.  We “get” to bless others.  We “get” to wake up each morning.  We “get” to celebrate another year of Jesus’ birth.

Reflect this year on whose you are and spend time with family and friends.  One thing I’ve learned someone we love can be gone in an unexpected moment.  Make some memories this year.  Love like you’ve never loved before.

Merry Christmas as you reflect on what is important.

16 Responses to “REFLECTING ON A NOT SO BUSY, HURRIED CHRISTMAS’”

  1. theameribritmom December 11, 2015 at 11:23 am #

    Visiting from FMF. I truly loved this post. I’m so sorry about your mother. I recently lost my grandmother and am experiencing a lot of those same emotions, but find peace in knowing that this Christmas she is with Jesus. I love how you’ve made a point to slow down this season. It’s something I’ve tried to do, but I haven’t quite slowed down enough. You captured the essence of this season in this post. Great job, and Merry Christmas!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking December 16, 2015 at 9:54 pm #

      Thank you. I don’t know how people lose loved ones without a relationship with Christ. Thanks for stopping by. Hopping over to visit you this evening. It’s been hectic, but a beautiful time this year.

      Like

  2. RambleSAHM W. December 11, 2015 at 11:49 am #

    Beautiful words . . . and wonderful advice! Now that I’m the granny it seems even more important that my legacy to my kids and grands be one that reflects Jesus.

    Have a great weekend!

    Brandi (@Fitzysmom)

    Like

  3. Michele Morin December 14, 2015 at 9:29 am #

    I felt my pulse slowing as I read this peaceful post. Merry Christmas, and many blessings to you!

    Like

  4. Helene December 14, 2015 at 11:19 am #

    I totally agree! In fact, that’s what we are writing about this week. Not the need to slow down, but our meditations as we did slow our pace!

    Like

  5. Mary Geisen December 16, 2015 at 9:04 am #

    Amen! Slowing down is always a good choice. God loves when we are still in the busyness and spend time with Him. He will always give us what we need. Blessings!

    Like

  6. Donna Reidland December 16, 2015 at 1:13 pm #

    What a beautiful reminder! Working at a church, we have a Christmas pageant, a Christmas Eve service and so many other things going on. Add to that my shopping and grandchildren (4 with birthdays this month) and it gets … well … you know! But I’m determined to enjoy the season more this year than I have the last couple! This week-end … cookies and taking some of the grandchildren shopping. Should be fun!

    Like

  7. Jennifer | The Deliberate Mom December 17, 2015 at 11:27 am #

    Your words hit me hard this morning.

    This Christmas season has been the saddest for me. My grandma is on her last breaths and the thought of her passing has overshadowed the usual joy we have during the holidays. It’s made me lean in closer to God – and rely on Him to direct me to still be joyful for my children. It’s hard though.

    Plus there’s been so many stories in the media about the removal of Christ from Christmas. It grieves me greatly.

    Prayers and blessings to you.

    Thanks for sharing (and for linking up to the #SHINEbloghop).

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking December 17, 2015 at 5:27 pm #

      Jennifer I just lifted you in prayer and your precious grandma. I know how hard it is, and I still miss my Mom and Dad and grandparents so much, but I have so many precious memories to hold on to and now I’m making them with my kids and grandkids to leave a legacy. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Love and hugs to you sweet one.

      Like

  8. Karen Del Tatto December 17, 2015 at 11:45 am #

    I love the idea of having ornaments that all reflect the true meaning of Christ in Christmas.

    Thank you for sharing your cherished memories with us.

    It was such a blessing to visit here today.

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

  9. kchripczuk December 18, 2015 at 12:22 pm #

    AS Christmas nears, I’m letting go of a lot, moment by moment, in exchange for the opportunity to be present. Thanks for linking.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. kim December 23, 2015 at 11:39 am #

    Lovely post. This year I said no to so much busy stuff. I really struggled this year to find that same “magic” of years gone by, but slowly and surely God showed me that was exactly His plan for me this year. He was showing me that He is enough. That Christmas is really about the longing of our Savior to come. That yes, we direct our sadness towards Him and await His coming.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking December 23, 2015 at 8:25 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Kim. We have to find that magic even in the hard times. I’ve struggled more this year missing my Mom and Dad. Not sure why, but I have.

      Like

  11. Jann Olson December 28, 2015 at 11:19 pm #

    Yes, love the idea of ‘getting to’, not ‘having to’! If you look at it right, everything is truly a blessing! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

