Gallery

Advent – Week 3 – The Joy of Christmas

18 Dec

joya

I am joining Kate Motaung today, and the word is our choice.  How can I not choose my favorite word – JOY?  It’s the last five-minute Friday of the year. Where did 2015 go?  Now to write for five minutes.

This week of Advent is about the joy we have because Christ entered the world.  That is what Christmas is all about – Jesus’ birth and Jesus in us  -not only at Christmas but every moment.  Jesus is our joy and without Him I am not sure how you hang on to joy.  I know I could not.

How do we smile through tears?  How do we find joy during storms?  How do we keep Christmas joy in the hustle and bustle of the season or in the midst of pain and turmoil, or when there is no money to buy the kids presents?  It’s not about presents, it’s about having Him present in our lives, and walking in joy no matter what season we are in.  As the song goes, He is with us ALWAYS.

Have you lost your joy?  Beth Moore tells us it’s right where we left it – in His presence.  She says to anticipate it, expect it and share it.

Jesus talked about rejoicing to His disciples in John 16:24 that even though He was leaving them and they would be distressed that their joy would be complete when He returned.  Anticipate His return, expect it and share it.

Philippians 4:4 (NLT)  tells us to ALWAYS  be full of joy in the Lord. I and   1 Thess 5:18 says to rejoice ALWAYS give thanks in ALL circumstances.  There is no sometimes, tomorrow, next year when things are better.  The verses tell us to ALWAYS be full of joy and to ALWAYS give thanks no matter what season of life we are in.

Jesus is our JOY!  Seek the joy of knowing Him this Christmas.

JOY to the world because the Lord has come!

13 Responses to “Advent – Week 3 – The Joy of Christmas”

  1. potelobop December 18, 2015 at 3:17 pm #

    There really is so much joy in the presence of the Lord! And the joy that comes from Him is constant because it is based on His goodness. Thank you for that reminder! I have been trying to focus myself on Christ and fill up with His true joy this Christmas season, so it was a timely reminder : )

    Like

  2. Michele Morin December 21, 2015 at 8:47 am #

    What a joyous post! It bubbles forth from your words! Merry Christmas!

    Like

  3. Ann December 21, 2015 at 6:31 pm #

    It is amazing how we often assume that everyone will automatically be joyful this time of year. But joy doesn’t always come easily, especially when there is stress, loss, or conflict in one’s life. As you expressed, I too am so thankful that I can put my faith in God to take care of things and find joy in Him alone!!

    Like

  4. Sandi December 22, 2015 at 3:15 pm #

    It has been a difficult year for our family but in the midst of it all, joy can still come bubbling up because He is in me. Faith in our Lord can take us a very long way and I expect He will turn this past year into something wonderful that we never expected. Thank you for sharing and Merry Christmas!

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Like

  5. Dawn Boyer December 23, 2015 at 9:00 am #

    I love that quote from Beth Moore… and how true it is. Psalm16:11 is one of my favorite verses about joy. ” There is joy in the presence of the Lord.” His Presence is the power-packed truth that fills us with JOY.

    Merry Christmas!
    Blessings,
    Dawn

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking December 23, 2015 at 8:31 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Dawn. May we remember that journey to the manger. Your words blessed my heart today.

      Like

  6. carlybenson December 23, 2015 at 9:04 am #

    Lovely post. Jesus’ presence truly does bring joy. Praying that you know the joy of Emmanuel, God with you, this Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. jwiebel December 23, 2015 at 1:11 pm #

    I love this 5 minute write. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Sitting Among Friends. I am sorry if you stopped by to share in#4 and it kicked you out. I hope you will re-post this in this weeks party too, since it is right before Christmas. This is a fantastic quick read full of wisdom.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kristin Hill Taylor December 23, 2015 at 4:35 pm #

    JOY has been my word this year, and what a journey it’s been. I’m grateful for all God has shown me and looking forward to whatever is coming next. Thanks for linking up at #ThreeWordWednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking December 23, 2015 at 8:19 pm #

      Thanks Kristin. I need to choose a word for 2016. Oh my. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  9. rjbritton December 24, 2015 at 6:31 pm #

    Thanks for your post. It’s put me in a joyful frame of mind as we I go to our Christmas Eve service with my family and celebrate Jesus’ birth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

