Gallery

New Year 2016 -One Word – Savor His Presence

30 Dec

picmonkey-image-62

SAVOR – Vocabulary.com – derive or receive pleasure from; get enjoyment from; take pleasure in

Synonyms – Dictionary.com – admire, adore, applaud, cherish, love, praise, treasure, appreciate

This past year –  2015,  the word savor constantly came to mind.  It seemed when I would blog, that word appeared, and so I believe it is the word that God wants me to focus on in 2016.

As I sit here this morning sipping my steaming coffee with gingerbread creamer smelling it, lingering over it, I reflect on that word “savor” a moment and what it has meant this past year.

  • In January we were blessed with our second grandson after many years of prayer and infertility.  Savoring, praising and treasuring that gift from God.
  • We lost a dear aunt with cancer and savored some time with her in her last days being able to visit and talk as she lay in bed her final weeks treasuring final days with her.
  • I have to tell you children and grandchildren have not come easy for myself and my kids family.  We’ve walked through miscarriages, infertility and one baby with a skin disease, but through it all God has shown us He is faithful, He performs miracles when the doctors say different, and we have been shown how truly precious the birth of a child is.
  • Christmas this year was a reminder of the loss of family, and the reminder to truly savor every moment of this time of the year – His birth and keeping it holy – decorating, cleaning, baking, wrapping, e cards and every moment of it.  I wanted to savor time with family so much more this Christmas.  In fact, I have savored so much I haven’t wanted to take the decorations down so I can just enjoy the moments.  I turned all the tree and outside lights on this morning before my grandson arrived, and just sit here savoring time with my Savior.
  • This past Saturday ten tornadoes hit the metroplex area.  That can cause us all to reflect on what we have and what is important and that is family.  I stood watching the weather and the approaching tornadoes (two of them in our area) and praying that God would keep us safe.  He did, at least in our area, but there were over a hundred homes damaged and totaled including some friends and our children’s minister at church who lost everything but what is important and what we need to savor and that is not things but others.  I look at the destruction and how close it was to us and our children, and what could have been if they had turned because they were within a mile or two of all of us.  Thankful, praising, adoring and treasuring His love and watch care over us this weekend and every single day.

In 2016,  I want to savor His presence more than ever before.  I want to savor the time in the dark stillness of the morning reading His Word, studying with my on-line study sisters with Proverbs 31 ministries, underlining verses, memorizing, verse mapping,  and savoring each word of a verse every week, singing a verse, and turning  scriptures into prayer.  It seems lately I can’t get enough and could study all day long.  It seems lately my reflection is on Him all day long, and I sometimes wonder if He is preparing me for something that may come.

I want to savor His goodness as I sit each morning in prayer and reflect on how He has blessed our family, how He has shown us miracle after miracle, and blessed us with two children, two children in laws, and two grandsons.  Life is so good and so very precious.

I want to slow down, be still, delight in Him, and savor His presence in 2016 like never before!

 

 

41 Responses to “New Year 2016 -One Word – Savor His Presence”

  1. GiGiMandy December 30, 2015 at 10:24 am #

    Oh what a good word … savor. I am still learning how to be still and wait on the Lord. but He is telling me that good things are ahead. He is working on something new in our lives! I’m still fleshing out my thoughts, but I think my word will be “ready” that is Get Ready because he has big plans for us.
    Please continue to pray for us though .. I do expect that things will get worse before they get better we’ve just got to hang on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking December 30, 2015 at 4:54 pm #

      GiGi thank you for being so faithful in stopping by and taking the time to comment. I have just lifted you in prayer for 2016. I think He is readying us all for something. Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Being Woven December 30, 2015 at 11:57 am #

    Beautiful word and much to savor each and every day!
    May 2016 be filled with the richness of Christ as you savor those moments.
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 8, 2017 at 9:06 pm #

      Thanks Linda.

      Like

  3. Cathy December 30, 2015 at 1:48 pm #

    Beautiful word for 2016! To savor, enjoy the Lord! Thanks for sharing what that has meant to you this past year. God bless and happy new year!

    I’m visiting from the ‘Unite’ link-up. : )

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 9, 2017 at 1:12 am #

      Thank you Cathy.

      Like

  4. Colletta December 30, 2015 at 2:10 pm #

    Great word for the year! May you “savor” 2016!

    I hope you can stop by:

    http://collettaskitchensink.blogspot.com/2015/12/weigh-in-wednesday-week-1-123015.html

    Colletta

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 8, 2017 at 9:10 pm #

      Thanks Coletta. Enjoyed visiting your site.

      Like

  5. Tamar December 31, 2015 at 12:18 pm #

    What a great word to focus on in the new year. Happy 2016!

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 8, 2017 at 9:05 pm #

      Thanks Tamar.

      Like

  6. Shannon @ Of The Hearth December 31, 2015 at 10:05 pm #

    I don’t have a word for this year, but I was blessed just reading your list of things you are savoring. What a great focus to have in the New Year!

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 8, 2017 at 9:04 pm #

      Thanks Shannon.

      Like

  7. readywriterbr December 31, 2015 at 10:49 pm #

    So glad you made it safely through the tornados last weekend. It’s heartbreaking when people we know lose all of their material goods, but you’re so right when you say they didn’t lose what really matters. Love your choice of word for 2016. This is my first year of doing this, and I felt the Lord wanted me to focus on joy.

    Like

  8. Mary January 1, 2016 at 2:35 pm #

    What a perfect word. So glad you were kept safe from the storms. Praying for a year of savoring the sweetness of life as a daughter of God. Love you!!!

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 8, 2017 at 8:52 pm #

      Thank you sweet friend. Just seeing this comment sitting in moderation. Hugs.

      Like

  9. kim January 1, 2016 at 4:41 pm #

    That’s a great word and practice! Happy New Year!

    Like

  10. jwiebel January 1, 2016 at 6:09 pm #

    What a fantastic word – savor – the moments. I hope that you have a fantastic New Year and we look forward to seeing more posts at Sitting Among Friends on Wednesdays.

    Like

  11. RaZella January 1, 2016 at 10:49 pm #

    Wow. That is an awesome word, and I can honestly say you are the only person I have ever met with that as your one word. Thank you so much for sharing, I look forward this year to reading how God grows you through this word. Mine is hope :)http://razella.com/2016/01/01/one-word-2016-good-bye-2015/

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking January 3, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

      Thanks RaZella. Loved your one word blog. Checked it out this evening. Love the word Hope.

      Like

  12. elizabethfstewart January 3, 2016 at 9:14 pm #

    That’s a wonderful word to set the focus of your year. My word this year is listen.

    Like

  13. Lissette @Silly Baby Blog January 4, 2016 at 10:18 am #

    That is a great word to start up the year. There is definitely a lesson to be learned from it and that is to “savor” life and all it’s joys and challenges.

    Thanks for linking up on our New Year edition of the Friday Funday blog hop. 🙂

    Like

  14. Lyli @ 3dlessons4life.com January 4, 2016 at 11:19 am #

    Happy New Year, Debbie! Love the word you chose! 🙂

    Like

  15. Carol January 4, 2016 at 11:22 am #

    Beautiful choice! God is so good.

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 8, 2017 at 8:55 pm #

      Thanks Carol.

      Like

  16. Raising Samuels January 4, 2016 at 3:55 pm #

    What an amazing word for the new year! It is so good to focus on the blessings He gives us all. I’m glad you visited and linked up with #SocialButterflySunday this week! I hope that you will join the link up again this week. Blessings 🙂

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 8, 2017 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks so much! Hope to join up again soon. Been so busy with 3 new grand babies.

      Like

  17. Being Woven January 4, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

    Such a peaceful and beautiful word and way to spend time with the Lord. Savoring Him, savoring His creation, savoring His will for you, and so much more. A delight to ponder.

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 8, 2017 at 8:51 pm #

      Thanks Linda.

      Like

  18. Laura Thomas January 4, 2016 at 9:23 pm #

    I love the word “savour”… it conjures up all things lovely and comforting and beautiful. Thanks for sharing 🙂 I enjoyed Shauna Niequist’s devotional of the same name this past year, too. Such a great name for a book! I posted about my word for the year today, too—it’s such a wonderful way to focus on whatever God has put on your heart. Stopping by from Faith Filled Fridays—Happy New Year to you!

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King June 7, 2017 at 7:39 am #

      Thank you Laura. Enjoyed visiting you today.

      Like

  19. desrenewed January 5, 2016 at 10:52 am #

    I love this Debbie! I have been thinking about that too. I sometimes am so busy planning and thinking of what is next that I don’t take the time to savor the moment and God has called me to be still many times this past year. My word this year is Freedom. God has brought some incredible healing and freedom from those savored moments. Thank you for sharing your heart here today! Desiree

    Like

  20. Anita Kay Morrison January 5, 2016 at 12:36 pm #

    Yes! Your post reminds me of the words, “and Mary pondered these things in her heart”, or something like that. Savor, ponder, meditate. Remember all the blessings of God throughout the year. Thank you for your beautifully written post reminding us to savor time with our Saviour. God bless you!

    Like

  21. Gleniece January 5, 2016 at 3:37 pm #

    Hello, Debbie. I just love the word ‘savor’! I imagine things hearty and flavorful and joyful. Just like our relationship with our wonderful God.
    I found you at the UNITE link party. 🙂

    Like

  22. Pamela Cessna Kuhn January 5, 2016 at 5:18 pm #

    “Savor His presence more…” those words sank and filled my heart. I get so busy…and I forget to slow down and savor. It’s in the savoring that our soul is blessed and fed.

    Like

  23. Jann Olson January 5, 2016 at 9:42 pm #

    Oh, love this word! Life really is wonderful and how much more wonderful would it be if we learned to savor everything? I don’t pick a particular word, but just try to have a positive attitude with what ever comes my way. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Like

  24. laura January 8, 2016 at 1:58 pm #

    Savor is a wonderful word for the year. It incorporates so many qualities of a sweet God-life. May your 2016 be filled with sweet and delicious moments to savor!

    Like

  25. Chasing Slow January 11, 2016 at 9:31 pm #

    Such a lovely word to embrace in this year ahead. I might just have to remember this in combination with my word “slow” — slow & savor.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking January 27, 2016 at 11:43 pm #

      I love that because if we slow down we can savor all the more. Thanks for stopping by to visit. I’m a bit slow. Lots of happenings right now here at my house, but I’m running over to your site now.

      Like

  26. Cheryl May January 28, 2016 at 2:53 pm #

    You always have such a good word for us sweet Texas friend!
    I love your word for the year. Mine is JOY! (((hugs!)))
    Have a good week!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thoughtful Thursdays: Be a Testimony of God's Grace! - Creative K Kids - January 7, 2016

    […] Blogger Loves the King shared her word of the year in her post, New Year 2016 -One Word – Savor His Presence. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

