Organization and Calendar

Organization – New Calendar, New Bible Study New Prayer Journal – New Year – 2016

Monday was my first day at home alone in 2016, but it was also a day after we got many of the decorations down and the tree up in the attic, cleaning out some stuff to trash and donate as we went, but unfortunately some are still waiting to be put up in the house attic because  I tripped over a Santa Clause Brick  and went flying with a deer and a candle, one in each hand, and landed right dab on my arms.  Well that was bad enough and before I left to go to the doctor I started a 101 fever and a virus.  Let me tell ya’ it was one of my worst in 65 years, and I went on to the doctor to see if anything was broken with an extra set of clothes.  Just being real here.  No breaks but lots of tissue damage and a healing period she said of 4-6 weeks.  YUCK.

It’s the beginning of a new year.  It’s the beginning of a new calendar and planner, and I love my calendars and planner, and my awesome new prayer book.  My favorite certainly is the one at the top and here:

My kids and their spouses gave me that awesome calendar with pictures of the grandsons up there at the top.  I LOVE it hanging on my pantry door where I see it every single day.  I got all kinds of Nana presents this Christmas, and was blessed like never before or maybe so much more in love with Jesus the gifts were all just extra special this year.

What do you think?

Here is the planner I’m using this year.  I love, love this planner.  Google and phone just can’t do all I need to keep up.   You can read my review and all about it here.

Think about how the Bible starts, “In the beginning”.  God stirs our hearts at the beginning of a new year, and it seems for me life happens and gets in the way and I don’t finish as strong as I started – like a fall, a virus, etc..  And honestly sometimes I truly believe Satan intervenes and perhaps he gently pushed me to fall this weekend to slow me down.  I won’t be slowed down by him.  So how am I beginning this year, how I am I organizing my life and my home this new beginning with my Lord?

  1. God – I spend a whole lot of time in Bible study in the mornings until the sun is really shining – well some days lately it doesn’t shine so I spend a bit more time.  Some mornings it is a bit more rushed on the days I keep the grandsons, and on the days I go to sub.  I’ve started this year, just like I did last year reading thru the Word with Wendy Pope.  Nope, I did not finish last year.  It’s a lot of work because we read, watch a video and keep up a notebook every day (including weekends), but I’m making an effort this year to stay strong.  It can be hard because I started a study today reading the book Fervent, and in a few weeks I’ll be involved with my favorite, and let me tell you the most life-changing studies of my life and that is  Proverbs 31 On-line Bible Studies for our study of Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl by Lysa TerKeurst.                                                       “Becoming
  2. Prayer –  I’m spending more time in prayer in the mornings after seeing The War Room Movie and doing the Bible study at church.  I wake up many mornings just laying in bed praying.  And I received this beautiful new book as a give away to keep my prayers written down from Sarah Frazer. I could not believe when it came that it had the same scripture on the first page as I my newest coffee cup.

prayerjournal3

.

  1. prayerjournal
  2. Health – I know we all start this bandwagon each year, but this year is different for me.   It’s truly a new beginning with Him, and I can’t do it without Him every single day.  If I am not healthy, how can I minister to my husband, my kids, and my grand kids.  How can I be faithful in my Bible studies.  How can I organize my home and minister to church family and neighbors?   I’m tracking my steps with a pedometer and walking on a treadmill. Been looking for an elliptical, but well with the little accident there is no way right now I can use that with my shoulder and arm injured.  When it warms up in the Spring I’ll go back to walking the grandsons through the neighborhood, but I am not one that goes walking in the rain and cold. Shivering just thinking about it.  I also signed up at this site who have free recipes, free exercise videos, etc.  Can’t wait to do the first workout when the shoulder feels better.
  3. Home – Today I am starting a new journey and joined a Facebook Group to organize the home.  I need some accountability, and the first week is all about the laundry room.  Mine is not too bad, but I always have things hanging to dry, and then I don’t put them away right away. And well as soon as I finish this post I am going to try to throw away old supplies with my one good arm before the trashmen come in a bit. If my home gets organized honestly it will be the first time since I retired. I’m excited to be doing all this.

So, how about your plans this year?

May we ALL be faithful to our commitments this year and not settle for anything less than what God would have us do!

This post was featured on Literacy Musing Mondays on 1/18/2016.

28 thoughts on “Organization – New Calendar, New Bible Study New Prayer Journal – New Year – 2016”

  1. I have a totally too long list of goals. Still need to go through it and get realistic. The biggest thing right now is adjusting to a new home new life. Now that we are no longer pastor ing you would think I’d have lots of time. Ha ha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing how you are starting your new year. I hope you heal quicker than the 4-6 weeks, but enjoy the time to “slow down” and be in His presence. 🙂

    I was introduced to the First 5 app by Proverbs 31 ministries and love the bible devotionals. I also started a prayer journal this year. I am just using a notebook, but I loved the one you shared and the quote on the cover. What a beautiful visual it paints.

    So glad I stopped by! 🙂

    Like

  3. Sorry your new year got off to such a difficult start. Hope you’ll be feeling better soon. While what you can do is limited, it’s a good time to spend extra time in God’s Word and prayer.

    I started my year by signing up for #Write365, and am making my writing one of the main focuses of the year. I didn’t set New Year’s resolutions, just chose one word to focus on for the year: joy.

    Like

  4. Those verses are special to me, too, as I have children and grandchildren! So sorry you started your year with a fall. Hope you heal quickly! I’m visiting from Tai’s linkup. Blessings to you!

    Like

  5. Great post, Debbie! Journaling my prayers have been an essential part of my time spent in GOD’S PRESENCE. I pray that your year will be filled with love, peace, divine health, prosperity, and the joy of THE LORD! GOD bless you, beautiful friend! 🙂

    Like

  6. Good morning!

    I was “parked” by you on Modest Mom, and I’m glad to find your post today.

    Love the calendars, the organization, and your plans for the year. I do agree with you – if we put God, the Word, and prayer first, everything else will fall into the right place!

    Hope you have a blessed day~
    Melanie

    Like

  7. Debbie, I am prone to trip and fall, so your story made me smile and think of how you are a kindred spirit. I think it’s great that you are being intentional about casting a vision for your year through planning. I need to do better in this area and am praying for God to show me the way. Happy New Year!

    Like

  8. I will have to check out that planner. This year I just got one from Target, and so far it is working for me. It doesn’t have all the bells and whistles that some do, but I needed simplicity this year.

    I hope you heal quickly and without any more complications.

    Thanks so much for linking up this post to Fitness Fridays on Drops of Learning. I hope to see you back later this week!

    Like

  9. So much cheerful encouragement! Thank you for it all. I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed this morning and needed to read this! Now, off to be faithful in the little things and get the day started for my family.

    Like

  10. My son gifts us a family calendar every Christmas and it is a precious gift! Sorry about your fall! I took a flying fall three years ago {on my birthday, of all times} and I’ve been going to physio therapy off and on ever since. Even though I am in pain a lot, I am thankful that it wasn’t any worse. Prayer is a way of life for me and one needs to begin their day and end their day in His word. It is food for the soul and gives us answers to so many questions. His word is a light to my path! Thank you for sharing your plans with us and Happy New Year!

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Like

  11. Hope you’re healing okay. Golly, you had quite an eventful start to the year! So glad nothing is broken. Here’s my favorite (portion) of your thoughts today: “If I am not healthy, how can I minister…” This one resonates with me. It blankets so much of life. It’s personal because I, too, am focusing on my health in order to think more clearly for writing what He calls me to pen and speak to others. Praying for you…and me…as we enter this year of more of Him. Blessings to you. Visiting via #raralinkup.

    Like

  12. Hope you are feeling better. The calendars with family photos are amazing! That is the only gift my husband wants each year for Christmas. Thanks for sharing your goals with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Like

  13. So sorry to hear your year got off to a rocky start 😦
    I was inspired by War Room, too – haven’t seen the movie but LOVED the book. My planner this year is online. It’s my first year of going totally (well, almost!) paperless, but i’m actually finding it freeing…
    Anyway, thank you so much for all you’ve shared here, and sharing it over on Coffee & Conversation! Love seeing you there!

    Like

  14. My dear friend, you’ve had quite the year already! I am thankful to hear you are doing better and I will pray you are back to your normal self in no time!

    Thank you for sharing this sweet and encouraging post with Roses of Inspiration. Hugs and blessings!

    Like

  15. Thanks for sharing at The Loft about your goals and resources for the coming year. I’m getting ready to read Fervent too. Can’t wait!

    I think bible study first thing in the morning is an awesome time. May the Lord richly bless your study time.

    Like

  16. I loved War Room. I started creating mine and have a few things on the walls, but going back to work after the holidays has taken me away from it here lately and I need to get back to it! Thanks for posting!

    Like

  17. Hello! I’m getting to you late after you linked up at The Loft, but I’m so glad you did. Your calendar is beautiful, and such a wonderful reminder of the love of your family. Bible study and prayer….such necessary parts of our day. I like how you are using different methods to study. Thanks again for linking up with us!

    Like

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

