Kate Motaung, Time, Uncategorized

Time

Clock blog

Tick tock, tick tock, tick tock.  Where does time go?

Calendars, alarm clocks, phones ringing, message and Facebook notifications, appointment books, watches, bells ringing to begin and end school days.  Time just keeps flying.  The older I get the faster the days are going and I am retired.

One thing I have learned about time is it goes faster and faster.  People always say that, and trust me it is true it is going faster and faster.  Sometimes I just want to slow down and do less, and God whispers to me to keep going, keep going forward, keep telling others; so I do.

How do you spend your days?  I have to admit I am constantly on the move.  Sometimes I have so much on my mind it is hard to go to sleep.   I’m busy running around looking at the clock, glancing at my watch, and I know at the same time God is busy too watching me, going before me and behind me.

For some reason I thought retirement would be relaxing watching Hallmark movies and reading books and it was for a month or two, but I felt God whispering and nudging in all sorts of ways, and I did things I did not think I could do, or was qualified to do.  I know in my heart that as I started spending more time personally with Him each morning praying and in Bible study that I was able to hear Him like I had never before.

So, what am I doing with my precious time right now:

  •  I am involved in the World’s largest on-line Bible studies with Proverbs 31.  I love it, and it has grown me more than any that I have ever done at church. Don’t get me wrong, I love my church Bible studies and go to them every chance I get, but with these I am not just a participant, I am a team leader.  Who would have thought this shy introvert could do that.
  • I substitute teach.  I felt that calling to be a light in my community in the public school system.  It is certainly not for the money at minimum wage.  Some days I don’t feel like a light, but I’m working on it.  I cannot believe I followed through with this one.
  • I get to work my dream job – unpaid in dollars, but paid in love and a whole lot of joy – keeping my two grandsons while my daughter and daughter-in-law work from home.  It’s the job I always wanted when my two kids were growing up, and now God has allowed me this precious time with those boys.  I pray I will live old enough to watch them grow up, and perhaps I will get to see them marry someday.
  • Getting my house organized.  Eeeeek.  Oh my after 46 years working outside the home, running kids to and fro, doing every job at church I was asked.  You know sing in the choir, church clerk, pre-school/nursery director, teacher of 4s and 5s, coordinating women’s ministry and on and on. The house does not look like something in a magazine YET, but hey it is looking better than ever.

We all have choices of what we do with our time.  For me it definitely resolves around Jesus and Him on my mind.  I love this quote:

“For the next twelve hours I will be exposed to the day’s demands. It is now that I must make a choice. Because of Calvary, I’m free to choose. And so I choose.
I choose love . . .”.  Max Lucado\

Joining Kate Matoung today at Five-Minute Friday and the prompt is time.

Check out these small groups cards.  I am hoping to win them to use in my small groups.  

 

 

 

 

 

71 thoughts on “Time”

  1. I admit, I’m a homebody! I intentionally keep my outside activities limited but it may only be for a season, so I relish it now 🙂 Many blessings as you press forward in your Bible studies and care for your grandchildren! What a treasure!

    Like

  2. I agree Debbie time is flying faster and faster and I wish I had more of it. It seems that I only have a few hours a day to do all the things that need doing. Ultimately, the choices we make and the priorities we choose with our time show where our hearts lie. I guess that is why we have to have a “broken” heart because our hearts are needed in so many different places! Thanks for stopping by Henibean.blogspot.co.uk earlier and reading one of my book reviews. x

    Like

    1. Thanks Jade. I enjoyed reading your blogs and some words I haven’t heard before. I’m like you. My hubby just said the evenings sure go fast. I told him they don’t slow down when you retire. I can never keep up.

      Like

  3. How wonderful to be able to watch your grandchildren, teach and be a team leader in retirement! What a blessing you are to so many people around you! Thanks for sharing with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wisdom is what counts with and on me NOW! It trust the Lord for the consequences. My brain is a challenge now… I used to be a reader and speaker and writer and actress, and can hardly do any now…. but I sure loved to see the photo and the Word and a bit of Max Lucado. Thanks for your way of sparing and sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sometimes our reality is different than our vision… sometimes it’s way better! What a full and lovely life you are living! It sounds like beautiful moments are filling your life!
    Blessings and smiles,
    Lori

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am so glad I stopped by here today. Your words sound like they could be mine. Being retired doesn’t mean we are string around the house doing nothing. I admire you for substitute teaching. After 30 years in the classroom, this is one job I will not take on.

    I relate to you organizing your house, being involved in a bible study and really just being the best you can be. Thank you for giving us a glimpse into your day to day. Retirement is a gift that God gives us to serve and honor Him in other ways. I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sounds like the Lord has given you plenty to fill your time in retirement. What a blessing to be able to do what you love every day. 🙂 May your retirement be blessed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I too thought retirement would be drinking tea in the beautiful tended (I don’t know who I thought would weed it LOL) garden while reading a magazine. But I am busy. And you are right even though it’s not a 9-5 job you still have to make priorities with how you spend your time. But I’m looking the extra time to do the things of God and His work !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I notice that all that started with your spending more of that personal time with Him in the mornings. Like flowers springing from rich soil. I also ended up doing some further thinking on “Time” since Friday, and saw how goofed up it can all get by approaching it with action first and prayer “as soon as I get done with…” whatever. Good post. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. As a parent of young children, I’m often frustrated by how little control I have over my time, but as they grow I’m returning to being more deliberate with the little pockets I find. Thanks for linking with #SmallWonder.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it is hard to find time no matter our age as I well see that now. I went back and finished my degree in my 50s. Busy all the time, but I wouldn’t be happier any other way. Thanks so much for stopping by. Enjoy those little ones – they are out of sight before you know it.

      Like

  11. Woah! You certainly aren’t resting on your “laurels,” Deborah! I can’t imagine how you fit all that you are doing in, but I’m grateful for your energy and commitment to each aspect. I think that taking care of any grandchildren my sons eventually have would be such a joy. You are blessed, my friend, and an inspiration to the rest of us to make the most of each day the Lord gives us!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hi Debbie!

    I LOVE this! I have been retired for a year and a half after 40 years and rather than trying to figure out what to do with my time, I have discovered I seem to have a never-ending list of things I want to learn or do. I cannot imagine being bored. My grandchildren live hundreds of miles away, two are in college and the youngest of the other four is already 11, but I do spend more time connecting in a variety of ways and visiting them more often. Bible study? Yes! I participate in one with about 5 other ladies from different churches twice a month and have signed up for a trial of Simeon’s Trust courses. Beyond that, I participated in a Writers Boot Camp in June of 2015 and my website which includes my blog and some of my photography has opened up another whole new world. My husband loves that I actually have time to do more cooking again.

    I thought by now I would have everything in my house organized and would have managed getting all the woodwork washed, etc., but while that is needed it is not the priority.

    Loved visiting today from the Messy Marriage Linkup.

    Pam

    Liked by 1 person

  13. We have quite a bit in common, Debbie. Some days I think I’d love to sit and watch Hallmark, but yup … time is a tickin’. I run around looking at my watch much of time too. And, I’m a substitute teacher. I always think of the adage: the days are long, but the years are short. They do pass quickly, but yes … to pass the time with our hearts and minds fixed on Jesus is a beautiful way to live. So glad to be your neighbor at #threewordwednesday today.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Time is such a strange concept – it flies by and creeps by, sometimes in the same moment. There’s so much value in being intentional, though, that’s for sure. I’m glad you have found some good ways to spend your days! Thanks for linking up at #ThreeWordWednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Retirement allows me more time in God’s presence too; I love that about it and I’m amazed at how busy I’ve been too. Wish my granddaughters lived closer!

    Like

  16. Time definitely does fly. As I watch my kids grow up, the reality of time is hitting me like a brick wall. I’m learning to enjoy the moment and worry less about the minor mishaps. One day I will be laughing at them! Thanks for this precious reminder. I’m stopping by from Beloved Brews Thursdays.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Alisa I read your beautiful blog about your son’s last year of high school. I remember my son’s and my daughter’s. It will be ok. I tell you around here my hubby and I became like newly weds again and still are even after 15 years.

      Like

  17. I agree that time flies by so fast. I’ve always felt that we manage to find time to do the things we love. I know how important it is to find the time to serve others and draw close to our Heavenly Father! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

