Kate Motaung, Uncategorized

The Gift of Being Present

oceanc

I’m participating with Kate Motaung and Five-Minute Friday today.  The prompt is present and to write for five minutes.

That word present applies to all of us I believe.  For a moment I thought not my husband because he is not into any kind of social media, although with two grandsons he has had to change to an i-phone to see pictures of those boys.

I try to be careful now when my two toddler grandsons are visiting.  I try to not pick up my laptop to check on my Bible study groups, my blog, or Facebook.  Sometimes it is hard and hey it should never be hard to put away electronics (unless we are working from home) and enjoy their presence by being present.  For the most part I have been able to wait until they are napping.  What kind of example am I setting?  Not a very good one sometimes, but I am still working hard on it – to be present in the floor, to be present watching Mickey Mouse, to be present reading a book.

Now back to my husband, and all the men out there.  How present are they when a hunting show or a fishing show is on television?  Or for your guys it might be football, basketball, baseball, a detective show or Star Wars.   Yes, they can be just as out of presence as a person with their electronics.

Sometimes when we are out to eat we look around and so many people are on their phones and it is not for just a moment – it will be the entire meal.    WHY?  Can we not put down our devices and be present? Honestly, my phone stays in my purse unless I am expecting a call from one of our kids. Life is too short and too precious not to be present.

One thing I know Christ is our example and we are to be like Him. He is right here with me no matter what I am doing – even when I’m on all these crazy devices.  He is always there every moment waiting for me to acknowledge Him.

Put down the cell phones.  Be present – be a gift to your loved ones.

 

 

22 thoughts on “The Gift of Being Present”

  1. Great post, Debbie.

    It’s not hard for me to be present – we have a sanctuary for abandoned dogs, and their needs, vocally registered, always come first. I can’t recall watching a movie on DVD from beginning to end without one of the guys needing something…a snack, water, or “Dad, I have to go NOW!!!!”

    It’s just living the dream, and I mean that very seriously. They dreamed of safety and love; and they have it here.

    #2 on FMF this week

    Like

    1. Thanks Andrew. Love that. Hope you’ve blogged about your kids. Such a great thing you are doing. I have two neighbors that foster dogs, and I get to pet them when they are out walking. We lost one of our beautiful dogs on Mother’s Day a year ago. He was our house dog and he is so, so missed. They are like family. Wanting to get another soon – he followed me all over the house – a blue lacy – the Texas state dog. Yep, it’s time and I’ve been watching a rescue site for adoptable lacys.

      Like

  2. My hubs and I never fail to notice the many couples at a restaurant who never say a word to each other the entire meal. It is so sad that life is passing them by. May I never fall into this habit and may I always stay present. Great post.

    Lynette
    ~#9 on FMF linkup

    Like

  3. Amen! Being fully present with those we love, truly is a gift. Thank you for the reminder and encouragement. I’ve vising from the Word of God Speak link-up, and am wishing you a blessed and fully present week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I stand convicted Debbie and appreciate your reminder to practice presence with the people we love. In the age of technology it’s sad that as connected as we are we are also growing more distant for the people closest to us. I’m mindful of it and pray to practice limiting my time online or screen. Blessings to you and thanks for linking up at #GiveMeGrace.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

