Gallery

LIMIT

13 Feb

Limit

I’m blogging today, joining Five-Minute Friday and Kate Motaung.  The word is limit and we are supposed to blog for five minutes.  Oh my I have no words right now.

GO!

“Love knows no limit to its endurance, no end to its trust, no fading of its hope, it can outlast anything.  It is, in fact, the one thing that still stands when all else has fallen.”       1 Corinthians 13:7-10 J.B. Phillips New Testament

I chose that verse doing a Bible search of limit.  Not the direction I was going, buy hey it is Valentine’s weekend, and my husband and I just got back from a trip to Waco where we spent the night, had an awesome dinner and lunch and toured the Magnolia Market.  FUN weekend, and it’s not over. Tomorrow is church and then the kids and two grandsons will be over for pizza.

I’ve thought a lot about love this weekend and hey the rest of 1 Corinthians 13.  My husband quotes that verse at every wedding he does.  It never gets old.  I remember the first time I went to a retreat and came back and gave a testimony about how it impacted me putting my name in there.

As I ponder on this Valentine’s weekend, and reminded last night whispering and talking sweet things to my hubby about how we met in high school and this month is the anniversary of 50 years of being together because of the choice he made to throw popcorn in my hair at a basketball game and I met him that night.

Try it.  Each place you see the word love or it, insert your name instead.

Love (Debbie)  is patient, love (Debbie) is kind. It (Debbie) does not envy, it (Debbie) does not boast,  it (Debbie) is not proud.  It (Debbie) does not dishonor others, it (Debbie) is not self-seeking, it(Debbie)  is not easily angered, it (Debbie) keeps no record of wrongs.  Love (Debbie) does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It (Debbie) always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love (Debbie) never fails.  1 Corinthians 13:4-8 (NIV)

So what are you doing this weekend?  Have you taken a scripture and added your name.  I do it all the time.  It will make it come alive.

41 Responses to “LIMIT”

  1. miranda February 14, 2016 at 8:26 am #

    I love this! and it’s so true

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bluecottonmemory February 14, 2016 at 9:16 am #

    Happy Anniversary – and you spent it at the Magnolia Market – that is so awesome! Their show is one of my favorites! There is no limit on love – so we need to stop placing boundaries on it – yes? Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carrie February 14, 2016 at 2:28 pm #

    Ooh, I’ve never tried adding my name to scripture! I might have to try – I bet it’s powerful. Thank you for sharing. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  4. Colletta February 14, 2016 at 4:25 pm #

    What a great five minute post! Happy Anniversary 🙂 I hope you can stop by:

    http://collettaskitchensink.blogspot.com/2016/02/songs-on-sunday-amen-by-steven-curtis.html

    Colletta

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kara Butte February 14, 2016 at 4:33 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! Thanks for the reminder to personalize scripture. I like to put Jesus’ name into the Corinthians verse, too. His love is perfect and limitless. Thankfully. (stopping over from 5MF)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. daffodilsandcoffee February 14, 2016 at 9:35 pm #

    Stopping in from FMF. I love adding my name into Scripture…it makes it so personal, doesn’t it? Big congrats on your anniversary. Have a blessed week.

    Lynette
    ~#76 on linkup this wk

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Liz February 15, 2016 at 9:02 am #

    Debbie! So glad I clicked over from the link-up at #soulsurvival this morning. We were in Waco at Magnolia Silos this weekend, too! Such a small world! I wrote about love without limits this week and hope you don’t mind me sharing the link (http://www.creativeinspirationsatmymessydesk.com/with-reckless-abandon/) I suppose you can delete it if you choose, but it seemed to fitting to not share. Congratulations on 50 years!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking February 15, 2016 at 10:37 am #

      WOW Liz small world. Were you there when they opened. We were. I’m visiting you next.

      Like

  8. Mother of 3 February 15, 2016 at 9:32 am #

    What a neat idea to write with a time limit!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Gayl Wright February 15, 2016 at 4:33 pm #

    What a wonderful reminder that love has not limits, especially God’s love. Yes, it does make quite a difference when you insert your name into Scripture. It can be a great way to pray, too. I’m visiting from #LMMLinkup!

    Like

  10. nicaudp February 15, 2016 at 4:48 pm #

    Yes, I love this idea! I personalize scripture and declare it over me and my family. Such a powerful way to pray too. Thanks for sharing this on Monday Musings!

    Like

  11. aladyinfrance February 16, 2016 at 6:56 am #

    I’ve never heard of putting my own name there, but I’ve heard of putting God’s name there, which is encouraging. And also helping my daughter (when the time comes) who might have a crush on a boy to see if his name fits there – like, is he loving towards others or not. Congratulations on your 50 years! May you have 50 more! 🙂

    Like

  12. Lisa notes... February 16, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

    That would be a great exercise for all the places we find love in the Bible. Glad you mentioned doing it with 1 Corinthians 13. Congrats on 50 years of being together with your sweetheart!

    Like

  13. debwilson2 February 16, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

    How cute that your husband got your attention by throwing popcorn in your hair and now 50 years later you are still together! Love it. And since my name is Debbie, this post was written for me!

    Like

  14. Mary Geisen February 17, 2016 at 9:46 am #

    I love this! How blessed to be celebrating 50 years but how amazing that you know the love of our Father as your love. I saw the pictures from your trip to Waco on Facebook and was trying live vicariously through you. What a wonderful trip and memories. Blessings and glad to be your neighbor at Messy Marriage.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 19, 2016 at 12:48 pm #

      Hey neighbor. Thanks for stopping by. Yes it was a blessing because my man usually doesn’t like that sort of thing. Loved your blessing post this week.

      Like

  15. deansandrazmm February 17, 2016 at 9:50 am #

    Happy Anniversary and thanks for sharing the neat Blog For 5 Minutes idea! I will have to try it sometime when my brain is dry as it seems to have been lately. God bless you as you continue encouraging others.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sarah Koontz (@sarahekoontz) February 17, 2016 at 10:05 am #

    Exodus 33:14 “Sarah, My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

    Like

  17. Mary (tqhousecat) February 17, 2016 at 1:31 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! 50 years! Thank Him for His unconditional love and grace. I love this 5 minute blog. (I’m not sure I could even do it). You had to limit it, but what you said has no limits to it’s truth. Thank you. I write with Onewordcoffee.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking February 23, 2016 at 12:58 am #

      Thanks Mary. I know five-minute blogs are hard for this wordy girl as they called me in college. I’ll have to check out onewordcoffee. Thanks so much for stopping by. Loved your blog too.

      Like

  18. MaryHill February 18, 2016 at 12:46 am #

    Wow, 50 years. Congratulation. Truly love has on limit. Thanks for sharing on the #LMMLinkup.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Carol Cook February 18, 2016 at 11:20 am #

    Happy Anniversary!

    50 years together is amazing. We have been together for 46 years and will celebrate 45 years of marriage in April.

    How fun to make a visit to Magnolia Market. I don’t think I can convince my husband that we need to drive all the way to Texas to shop. And, we would have to drive so I would have space to bring back lots of fun stuff.

    Thanks for sharing at SYC.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 23, 2016 at 12:54 am #

      Thanks Carol. We will be married 47 years in August. Gee and I still feel 16 around him.

      Like

  20. Stephanie February 18, 2016 at 9:41 pm #

    You are so right, that portion of Scripture never gets old. I am always so blessed by your beautiful posts, dear friend.

    The story of how you and your husband met is oh-so-precious! Thank you so much for sharing with Roses of Inspiration. Hugs to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Sandy Sandmeyer February 19, 2016 at 11:05 pm #

    I love the replacing love with your name from 1 Corinthians 13. It’s a great reminder for how I should act. Thank you for sharing your post at the Over the Moon Link Party. See you at OTM #11!

    Like

  22. Emily February 19, 2016 at 11:53 pm #

    Love (Emily) the idea of inserting your name! By the way, thanks for linking to #IBOT with Essentially Jess, but you’re only meant to link posts published that day (i.e. on Tuesday). Hope to see you back next week with a fresh Tuesday post! #teamIBOT

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking February 20, 2016 at 9:11 am #

      Thanks Emily. I’ll have to read that again. I don’t post everyday and usually I’m at school subbing on Tuesdays. I’ll check it out.

      Like

  23. kim February 22, 2016 at 2:52 pm #

    50 years is such an accomplishment! Praise God!

    Like

  24. jwiebel February 22, 2016 at 11:37 pm #

    Wow! 50 years. That is fantastic! Congratulations to your and your husband. Attraction from popcorn in the hair. It must have been really good popcorn. Thank you for sharing your five minute writing with us at Sitting Among Friends on Wednesdays. I look forward to seeing you again this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

