Encouragement, Inspiration, Mundane Daily Tasks, Organization and Calendar, Self-Sacrificing, Suzanne Eller, Suzanne Eller Live-Free Thursday

When I’ve Done Everything I Can

iron

Do you have days where you’ve done everything you can, but you feel like you have not accomplished anything?

I know for me some days I have done everything I can, and I feel stretched thin.  It is in those stretching times that I can really look back over the day and see all I have accomplished.  The washing and ironing are done, clean sheets on the beds. kitchen counters are clean, floors mopped, but there is still so much clutter lurking in closets and desk drawers and I can’t get to it.  And then, you look outside at all the work to do in the yard and flower beds. Why is that?  What have I done?

  • Spent and hour or two in Bible study.
  • Read a chapter in a current on-line Bible study I am in.
  • Posted and loved on my Bible study Facebook group.
  • Blogged a few lines or finished up one.
  • Visited some blog parties and posted encouraging comments.
  • Kept a grandson or two.
  • Substitute taught at school
  • Attended Wednesday coffee at church
  • Exercised
  • Cooked a gourmet dinner
  • Spring and summer I may have mowed for 3 hours on all this acreage
  • Spring and summer I may have been outside moving water hoses all over

Days are never the same at my house.  There is no scheduled routine because my schedule is not based on me, but others and serving.  I’m doing everything I can since retirement, and honestly can’t get enough of the Word, the grandchildren, blogging and teaching.  The weeks fly by and I want them to slow down a bit so I can savor it all.  Sometimes I just want to sit down and watch a movie or just read a historical fiction book out by the pool, but that does not happen as often as I would like.

Am I doing everything I can?  I think so.  The organizing is going slow, but I did throw away a whole lot of papers this week going through the office, and set aside a box of stuff to donate.  The more I do, the more it seems there is to do, but the house didn’t get this way over night.  It sit here while I worked outside the home for 40 plus years, raising a family, going back to college for my degree, and working in church.

I think God would say “well done”.  I think He would agree I am doing the things that bless and honor others.  I sure hope so because on those days when I can’t get it all done and feel stretched thin, I can look around and see that I am doing those things that really matter in the Kingdom.

When I’ve done everything I can each day, it feels GOOD.  Sometimes when I can’t do all I want to do each day, it’s a bit frustrating, so I figure out what is important and what is not and do what I can do, and not worry about the rest.  BUT, whatever I do, I know that I am heartily doing it as unto the Lord, not unto me.  How about you?

Linking up with Suzanne Eller this morning.

This post was featured on Oh My Heartsie Girls on 2-26-16.

36 thoughts on “When I’ve Done Everything I Can”

  1. I can totally identify with this! With 5 kids in the house I feel like I’m doing all I can to stay afloat, and still nothing seems to ever be done. But in the midst of the chaos, there’s a thankfulness. A gratitude that I have people to serve and clean up after. Thank you Jesus! Thank you for this sweet reminder! Linking with you at #LiveFreeThursday.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had to laugh at your post because most of my days are crazy busy, but today it’s cold and windy so our beach walk was shorter than usual. The laundry is finished, my pictures for my next blog post have all been taken. I am between projects and I actually simply sat on the window seat and read. We were just talking about what a nice day it has been being lazy, reading and listening to classical music. But, tomorrow is another day!

    It sounds to me like your are doing everything you can!

    thanks for sharing at SYC.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey that’s a great list of accomplishments, and we can only do so much in one day. Keep up the positive thoughts 🙂 Thanks for linking up to Gratitude and Goals. Can you add our banner to your linky page? Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, you’ve put the accent on the right syllable with this post, for sure! When I’ve done everything that I can do, I know that the work has already been finished in Christ. I know that he is there to carry me to the finish line!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I wish I was half as productive as you! I feel like I get nothing done between a 3yo and a 1yo running around and getting into everything! Thanks for linking up with us and come back next week! #BloggerSpotlight

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bless your heart. I know the feeling some days. I have a 1 yr old and 2.5 yr old grandson but they are not both here the same days most of the time. The 1 year old is into every thing. The older one plays but leaves a lot of messes. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  6. There’s a bit of ingenious advice I’ve been given regarding clutter. “Clutter didn’t happen in a day and it won’t be taken care of in a day either.” Spend just a few minutes a day decluttering and it’ll be gone before you know it. Now I just need to listen to my own advice…

    Thank you for sharing with us on the #FFBH!

    Like

  7. Debbie,
    I am following you from Raising Samuels. I have been here before because I am following you on Twitter. I would love you to follow me back.
    Yes – I am a writer, blogger and artist; follower of Christ; grandma of 7; “retired” but I say realigned to what God wants me to do. Yes – I want more hours in the day and days in the week; but I too just relax and let Him show me what needs doing and what to let go.
    Blessings,
    Great post,
    Janis

    Like

  8. I really love this post because sometimes after my most busiest days I wonder – did I really do anything today?? I realize that I have to appreciate any work that I do as long as my heart is in it.

    Stopped over from the linkup. Would love if you checked out my blog as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ve had to learn to give myself grace over the last several months. I always want to do so much, but I stretched myself too thin and became ill. God slowed me down since I wasn’t willing to do it! Now I need to be thankful for all that I can do and let the rest go without Mama guilt! Beautiful post! Thanks!
    Blessings and smiles,
    Lori

    Like

  10. When we do what we can, and leave it up to Him to finish the working, we are choosing the good thing. If we look at all that is left undone, we can be overwhelmed. My grandmother always said, just do the next thing and you will find you have accomplished so much. I think we also need to remember to follow His example of getting away to rest in the Father’s Presence, so we can finish the race well. I am trying to do more of that these days… working from rest. 🙂
    Blessings,
    Dawn

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I think we always manage to achieve what is the most important tasks for our day. If some get left for another day, then that’s fine. God wants us to be content and appreciative of our lives, so doing your best is often all that is required. Thanks for sharing at our #OTM link up ~ Leanne 🙂

    Like

  12. Lovely and I can totally identify. I think often we “forget” to acknowledge all that we do – which can be a lot in one day! Thank you for the encouragement and thanks for sharing (and for linking up to the #SHINEbloghop).

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

    Like

  13. Yes indeed! Seems to be an ever-expanding list of things to be done. When I remember to be “on His agenda” versus mine, the days certainly go much smoother. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  14. Completely identify with this With four children, three under three, there is very rarely a time when I have done everything I need to do but definitely a time when I have done everything that I CAN possibly do! #overthemoonlinkyparty

    Like

  15. I am right with you on this one! I retired about a year and a half ago and you expressed many of the things I am experiencing and feeling. By now I should have so much more done in my house and more of the stack of books done that I seem to keep adding to! Loved this!! Visiting today at the Linkup for A Little R & R.

    Like

  16. Amen! You are doing the important things. The cleaning, dusting, ironing and everything are always going to be there and its good when those things get done, but to be in the Word and serving is so important. Thank you for sharing this reminder with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

