Gallery

MARCH GOALS

2 Mar

March 2016 Goals“Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.”  Proverbs 19:21

I’ve set goals and failed so many times, but last year I actually posted goals for the year on my refrigerator.  Believe it or not all of them were crossed off but two, and they are part of my March goals.  So I believe if I write them down it will be a constant reminder, keeping me focused, and I will get much more accomplished this year.

I am going to work on monthly goals and maybe even some long-term goals for the year, but for now starting small with my March goals.

One thing  I want to remember though is that no matter what my goals are that they need to reflect God and whatever His intentions are for me each day.  If I don’t meet a goal it’s ok if it was directed at something He has intentionally assigned me today.  I want to keep my focus on Him so that I am not disappointed when a goal is not met.  I’ve fallen in that trap before.  I have plans and life happens, and that is what is important.

MARCH FAITH GOALS

“Draw Near to God and He will draw near to you.”  James 4:8

“Teach me your way, O LORD, and I will walk in your truth; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.”  Psalm 86:11

I am beginning my mornings with a five-minute daily devotion called the First Five App from Proverbs 31 Ministries.  The study started on Monday, February 29 and is on the books of  Leviticus and Hebrews.

I am finishing up a Bible study this week called Becoming More Than A Good Bible Study Girl by Lysa TerKeurst.  It’s been a great one.  I ‘ve learned how to make the Bible come alive and fallen more in love with Him, how to replace doubts and regrets and envy, learned to love who I am and all the things that God has given me, and more about prayer.  Goals –

I am beginning a study in March on the names of God.  I can’t wait.  It is called I Know His Name by Wendy Blight.

MARCH FAMILY GOALS

Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.                1 Peter 4:8 (NIV)

Goals to embrace those I love and always keeping them a priority.  I want to exhalt Him in the mundane

  • Snuggle on the sofa with my husband to watch a movie at least once a week, but more  often when we can work it in.
  • One fun day a month with my 2-year old grandson to actually leave the house and go enjoy Chick-Fil-A, McDonald’s, a park, a long walk in the neighborhood, or just outside enjoying his mow-mow as he calls it.
  • Reading children’s books with both the grandsons.
  • Playing blocks and puzzles in the floor with the grandsons.
  • Dates with the family  and hopefully a sister date with my sisters since one of them has  a birthday this month.
  • Finish up legal signing of our wills.

MARCH HEALTH GOALS

 If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.  James 1:5 (NIV)

God has been speaking to me for over a year now about my health and my weight.  I get on the band wagon and fall off constantly.  Hopefully with these monthly goals I can begin a make over.  We’ll see.  Started this morning with a green chocolate shake, and the tuna is in the refrigerator cooling and egg boiling.  If only I will ask, He will give me the wisdom to fight those temptations of food and diversions from not exercising.

  1. Cut back on sugar (Mini-goal)
  2. Cut back on diet drinks (Mini-goal)
  3. Exercise 3-4 days a week
  4. Wear pedometer – 6,000 steps a day
  5. Walk at least two Thursdays in the neighborhood with my one-year old grandson
  6.  Weekly meal planning to include healthy meals and snacks    
  7.   Lose 2 pounds

MARCH FRIEND GOALS

We love because He first loved us.    1 John 4:19 (NIV)

I am embracing relationships with those I care about.

  • Start a monthly coffee at my home this month.  Did I say that?  God has been speaking to me about this for several months.  I am going to try to plan this during Spring break at school.
  • Contact one friend by phone and one by email that I haven’t talked to in awhile.

MARCH HOME GOALS

She watches over the affairs of her household
    and does not eat the bread of idleness.  Proverbs 31:37 (NIV)

I want to exhalt Him in the mundane tasks around my house.  They are mundane but so important.  Sometimes around here my home gets  ignored because of my Bible study, watching the grandsons, subbing at school, and life when someone is sick, a death occurs, etc..  All of those come first so if you come visit my home might not be as clean or neat and tidy as yours, but my life is full of those things that really matter in the Kingdom – loving, giving and serving.

We have a huge yard – an acre and a half, lots of trees, and so many flower beds.  It is hard keeping it all done, especially controlling weeds and mowing.  I’m hoping to get ahead of it this month tackling a few things at a time.

  • Clean one flower bed a week (big goal here depending on weather)
  • Trim all the azaleas along the circular driveway
  • Deep clean office
  • Deep clean laundry room
  • Contact quilting lady
  • Have electrical wires covered by A/C unit

MARCH BLOG GOALS

Tell it to your children, and let your children tell it to their children, and their children to the next generation.  Joel 1:3 (NIV)

My goal in blogging has always been to tell His story, and to leave words for future generations to know who I am and my love for Him.  This is the first time I’ve had monthly blog goals, but I attended a girls getaway weekend to talk about blogging and goals.  As we sit down on Saturday these are a few of the long-term  goals that God placed on my heart as I sit there praying, and I hope to complete this month.

  • Clean-Up side bar (Done)
  • Add a mail follow to my blog.
  • Start Blogging Course

This is a prayer I quickly wrote as I was sitting this weekend and pondering over my blogging goals for the year.

“Lord lead me at your pace.  Slow me when I get in a hurry, and nudge me when I need to speed up.”  Debbie Williams

What are your goals this month?

Linking today With Grit and Grace.

81 Responses to “MARCH GOALS”

  1. Cheryl March 2, 2016 at 10:48 am #

    Loved this today Debbie! 🙂
    I am trying to accomplish things slowly but surely too. It’s tough doing all we do and spending time with Father. Rusty and I are working on my new blog…have never done an “official” one, so I’m am at the starting point knowing nothing! LOL
    I would love to do the course along with you girl! Let me know details through FB or email. I have no clue where to look!
    Wish I could sit down with that cup of coffee with you! If I were close, I surely would!
    (((Hugs!))) and keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Megan March 2, 2016 at 11:20 am #

    I love the idea of hosting a monthly coffee for friends at your house!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 27, 2016 at 5:22 pm #

      Thanks Megan. I think I am going to have to move that goal to another month and I so didn’t want to, but family came first that week I wanted to do it.

      Like

  3. Carolina Cisneros March 2, 2016 at 12:06 pm #

    I really like your March Family Goals. I’m going to incorporate a couple of those into my March Goals as well. Happy to be your neighbor at Women With Intention Wednesdays.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 27, 2016 at 6:54 pm #

      Thanks Carolina for stopping by and commenting. I finally got over to visit you this afternoon.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. callienicole7 March 2, 2016 at 2:13 pm #

    That study on the names of God looks so good! I might have to look into it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 9:54 pm #

      Hi it really was a wonderful study. I’m just finding I missed your comment. So sorry. There are several on this post I missed.

      Like

  5. Heather March 2, 2016 at 3:34 pm #

    I LOVE how all your goals start with a scripture— our ultimate goal is to make them a part of our lives- AMEN!?. What a great feeling to accomplish our goals– I admit I struggle with this. I feel selfish when I make goals and always ending up abandoning many of them. It’s a process I’m working on because I know the Lord wants us to grow and it sure is easier with a target in mind, i.e. a goal! I’d have to say my biggest goal this month is to pray fervently for my husband every day and to know God more. Thanks for the encouragement today Debbie- happy to be your neighbor at Holley’s ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 9:58 pm #

      Thanks Heather. That goal of praying for your husband every day is so important. Sorry I missed this comment many months back. I’m trying to go thru and find what I have been negligent in responding and also visiting your blog.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heather July 7, 2016 at 9:27 am #

        No apologies necessary dear! I think God always brings us back around to what we might have missed at just the right time : ) Have a lovely week and I hope you’ll stop by again ♥

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Caroline @ In Due Time March 2, 2016 at 4:58 pm #

    Your first goal — snuggle with your husband. My husband would LOVE that if I made it my goal 😉 Seriously though. I need to make more time for HIM!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 12, 2016 at 11:54 am #

      Caroline thank you for stopping by. YES when he is watching tv just sit down with him and take a moment and lay your head in his lap. It has changed my husband. He wants me to do it often. Loved your blog. What a ministry!

      Like

  7. Kirby Scott Ingles March 2, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

    Keep fighting the good fight. My wife and I began the Wild Diet and the Super Swap Diet for health. Our goal is to show our kids how to live a healthy life. I admire your other goals. Looks like you are setting goals in every major part of your life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 2, 2016 at 9:05 pm #

      Kirby I am going to have to check out those diets. Never have heard of either one.

      Like

  8. debolton March 2, 2016 at 8:46 pm #

    Writing down your goals are powerful. I actually rewrite my goals weekly(never looking at the weeks before). It really holds you accountable and its crazy how quickly you realize you achieve them and set more. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 2, 2016 at 9:03 pm #

      Great idea with weekly. I guess I could break the monthly down. I actually had a great time today working on getting started.

      Like

  9. Emily March 2, 2016 at 10:53 pm #

    I’m impressed with your goal breakout! You clearly have put a lot of thought into them. Also that Debbie Williams quote is great. That’s new to me.

    What blogging course are you starting?

    Thanks for linking up with us at With Grit & Grace!

    Liked by 2 people

    • bloggerlovestheking March 3, 2016 at 2:15 pm #

      Hey Emily. Thanks for the link-up. That quote I wrote on Saturday reflecting at a weekend girls blogging gathering. I am starting the EBA course. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  10. lynnjsimpson March 3, 2016 at 10:26 am #

    I love how you have divided your goals into these particular categories!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Marissa March 3, 2016 at 10:52 am #

    These are great goals! I really like that you have reading with your grandkids on here – you both can learn so much through that – and it will leave a bigger impact on them than you could imagine. Maybe you could read a book about nature and then take your walks 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 12, 2016 at 12:09 pm #

      Marissa I will and had not thought of that. Thank you so much. Both grandsons (2 and 1) will be here this week and hoping the weather is pretty and we can take that walk after reading a book.

      Like

  12. miragonz March 3, 2016 at 11:01 am #

    I like that prayer you included at the very end. I had never thought of asking God to lead me at His pace–what a concept! I will have to incorporate that into my prayer time as well. And great goals, keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 10:00 pm #

      Thank you for commenting. Just catching up for some reason I missed some on this post.

      Like

  13. Michele Morin March 4, 2016 at 7:17 am #

    I always find this kind of post to be so motivating! Thanks for this peek into your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Jed Jurchenko March 4, 2016 at 8:23 am #

    What a great prayer. And thank you for sharing your goals. They are motivating and inspiring. Those are some big blogging goals too. I’m excited to hear more about the blogging course you start. Wishing you an incredible week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 10:00 pm #

      Thanks Jed. trying to catch up on old comments I missed. Thanks for the link-up each week.

      Like

  15. Julie S. March 4, 2016 at 10:27 am #

    I love how you break down the goals by category. Keep at it 🙂 You’ve got some great health goals here – I really need to work on an exercise plan cause I just am so lazy/tired after work. Good luck with your blogging course too, blog bout your results so those of us thinking about taking one know whether we should 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 4, 2016 at 8:48 pm #

      Thanks Julie that blog course is going to be intense, and I’m having a hard time logging on to get it done and it is a paid course so need to do it.

      Like

  16. Kathleen Aherne (@CoolTweed) March 4, 2016 at 10:08 pm #

    That sounds like a good idea to write your goals on the fridge. Now you have them written on your blog, that should help you get it all done or start working toward anyway. All the best and keep blogging, enjoy your course.
    Kathleen
    The Blogger’s Pit Stop

    Liked by 1 person

  17. GiGiMandy March 5, 2016 at 9:07 am #

    This is a good list. Did you write it for me cause most of this is right where I am.. maybe a list tweaking. 🙂 I went to Mayo CLinic this week for a fibromyalgia pain management clinic. It was all about scheduling your days so you don’t overdo it. I am trying my best to get back into blogging. Since we moved life has been DIFFERENT. I’m trying to figure out which of all the awesome link ups are important to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 10:02 pm #

      GiGi just found this comment. I get busy and forget to go back, but made a commitment that I need to catch up when I see them. Hope your scheduling is going well. I’m loving your blogs. Keep it up.

      Liked by 1 person

      • GiGiMandy July 5, 2016 at 10:47 pm #

        Debbie.. how sweet to go back and respond. I’m still working on getting a better schedule but as you know I’ve been blogging quite a bit. The past month has been very busy with family in and out. Fighting a lot of fatigue, but ready to get back on schedule. Thanks for checking in.

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Laura March 5, 2016 at 2:23 pm #

    What an encouragement! I love seeing people pursue pleasing the Lord in practical ways. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 10:12 pm #

      Thanks Laura.

      Like

  19. thetightwadteacher March 5, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

    I love you how have broken down the goals into categories! You also have specific tasks, which will make them easier to accomplish. It is harder to complete goals that are vague. I might try this for myself! Thanks for linking up with #BloggersSpotlight and we hope to see you back next week!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Anne's Attic - design March 6, 2016 at 7:11 pm #

    Thank you for sharing at SYC! Jo

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Carol Cook March 7, 2016 at 2:59 am #

    Good luck with your March goals. I always think it’s a good idea to put things in writing and even better to publish them on the blog. It’s a great motivator.

    I think you will be surprised when you wear a pedometer that you will walk far more than 6000 steps. I wore a pedometer for a month, years ago, to get a feel for how much I walked. Back then, I was working and we walked 2 miles every morning before we headed to work – about 45 minutes. I would leave for work with already 3200 or so steps.

    thanks for sharing at SYC.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Renee @ mendedandblended.com March 7, 2016 at 9:37 am #

    You have listed great goals. I like that you have broken your goals down into categories. That’s a great idea. I hope you meet all your goals.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 7, 2016 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks Renee. I hope I meet all of them too. So far that post is keeping me on track.

      Like

  23. Jamie @ Medium Sized Family March 7, 2016 at 9:57 am #

    Great list of goals! I like the goal of getting out of the house with your grandson. This is something that I really need to do with my little guy!

    Like

  24. inspiredbyjune March 7, 2016 at 10:10 am #

    I’m so impressed with people like you, Debbie, who are goal-oriented. It would take me weeks to think through a list of goals like you’ve put forth. That new study on the names of God sounds great. I did my #write31days on Praying the Names of God last year. A very blessed month! Putting God first, being flexible, and allowing Him to lead us is the best formula – it sounds like you’ve got it right! Have a blessed day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 7, 2016 at 9:28 pm #

      Thanks June. I am going to have to check out your blog and think about doing one myself during this study if I can find the time.

      Like

  25. lauraingallsgunn March 7, 2016 at 10:35 am #

    Debbie I think this is hands down the very best way I have ever seen to set goals. Thank you so very much for linking up on Thoughts of Home on Thursday. You truly added a sweet sparkle of sunshine.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Karen Del Tatto March 7, 2016 at 2:39 pm #

    I love how God-centered your goals are. Thank you for such great examples.

    I also liked how you said, ” If I don’t meet a goal it’s ok if it was directed at something He has intentionally assigned me today. I want to keep my focus on Him so that I am not disappointed when a goal is not met. I’ve fallen in that trap before. I have plans and life happens, and that is what is important.” Because goals can become bondage if we let them, but your insight here gives the freedom to continue in following God’s leading for your day.

    So glad I stopped by today. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  27. marilyn1998 March 7, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

    These are great goals. It reminds me how helpful it is to write them down and follow through. Pinned and shared. Thanks for linking up at #OverTheMoon! I hope you will join me at #Wonderful Wednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Raising Samuels March 7, 2016 at 9:38 pm #

    It is wonderful that you are giving glory to the Lord while completing your goals. When we do this, not only are goals complete, but they exceed anything we could ever imagine initially. Thanks for sharing with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you join the link up again this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Jann Olson March 7, 2016 at 9:48 pm #

    Congrats on passing off so many goals! I think writing them down and seeing them daily really does help. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Carly March 8, 2016 at 8:06 am #

    Your goals are great and I like how you’ve divided them into different categories. I’ll need to think about doing this. I haven’t taken the time to set goals for a while but when I do it definitely improves my focus and helps me to get more done.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Kelsie March 8, 2016 at 8:59 am #

    I love these goals, and the way you apply them in each area. I think I need to start doing something like this. You can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

      Thanks Kelsie. Missed this comment. Hope you are getting some goals tackled. It really is working for me. No, I don’t get them all done but I set them high and if I don’t hit one I move it to next month. Just visited your blog.

      Like

  32. Cat March 8, 2016 at 9:37 am #

    Love goalsetting. And you have some great goals. First Five App is one of my favorites too. Thanks for sharing all your goals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

      Hey Cat just visited your blog. For some reason I failed to go back and view my comments on this post. Thank you for visiting and commenting. Still loving the First 5 App.

      Like

  33. Meg Bucher March 8, 2016 at 11:50 am #

    “Lord lead me at your pace. Slow me when I get in a hurry, and nudge me when I need to speed up.” Wow! What a powerful and beautiful prayer! We have been sharing the same spaces so far this year! First Five, Becoming More, and I Know His Name…right there with you, sister! How amazing was part 2, today! I’m so excited about this study with Wendy! #awesomenes I love how you compartmentalizations your goals, and made them attainable! Really smart. Inspires me to sit down and reevaluate what I set out to accomplish in my January resolutions. Visiting from Testimony Tuesday…
    Happy Tuesday!
    Megs

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 10:06 pm #

      Megs I missed this comment. So sorry. I’m still there and doing The Husband Project. How about you? Just hopped over and visited your blog.

      Liked by 1 person

  34. Nili March 8, 2016 at 12:48 pm #

    This is a great goal list, I love how you have a scripture with each category. I am not much of a goal/list girl and I am working on myself to change that.

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Lyli @ 3dlessons4life.com March 8, 2016 at 2:11 pm #

    Debbie, I love how intentional you are about writing out your goals in each area. This is so inspiring. I started in December writing yearly, montlhly, and weekly goals… but life has been a bit “crazy crazy” the last month or so, and I did not follow through in February. This was the nudge I needed for March. Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 12, 2016 at 11:47 am #

      Lyli glad I gave you the nudge. I’m having to stay on top of mine to stay on top. HA! Haven’t accomplished them all but working hard to this month. Yes life gets in the way sometimes. Thank you for stopping by and the encouragement this morning to me. I’m behind on my comments. Maybe that needs to be an April goal.

      Like

  36. Stacey March 8, 2016 at 4:00 pm #

    Oh yes, posting goals and revisiting them often makes a huge difference for me too. I like that you’ve so thoughtfully connected them to your prayer life.

    Thank you so much for joining us for Thoughts of Home on Thursday. We are thrilled to have you. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  37. Sandi March 8, 2016 at 4:47 pm #

    Debbie, I really like how you have outlined everything and shared it with us. Inspiration and encouragement are oftentimes the best motivators and I pray you will reach your goals while growing closer to Him. Thanks so much for sharing this with us and have a blessed week…Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

  38. Angela @ Setting My Intention March 8, 2016 at 8:10 pm #

    These are great goals! I didn’t add garden beds to my March goals, but I should have. I really want to get my 4ft x4ft garden bed back in shape for this summer. Thanks for reminding me of that!

    Liked by 1 person

  39. Lissette March 8, 2016 at 10:25 pm #

    It important to have goals and a way to remind yourself of doing them. I’ve been guilty of wanting to accomplish goals but being overly-ambitious in the goal planning and not getting them all done, which leads to disappointment. I’m still working on this.

    Thank you for sharing with us at the Friday Funday blog hop! #FFBH

    Liked by 1 person

  40. Jenny @ Let's Talk Mommy March 9, 2016 at 9:59 am #

    I am loving everyone’s march goals best of luck with them. Thanks for linking up to Share With Me. Sorry to be late commenting we have my mother visiting from America. 🙂 Thanks for joining in. #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

  41. Dolly March 9, 2016 at 3:49 pm #

    I loved Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl! Love that you’re writing down goals! You can’t achieve a goal that isn’t written down!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  42. JES the Pilgrim March 10, 2016 at 5:01 am #

    Your goals are very inspiring! Time to me to get out a piece of paper and plan too! Thank you for sharing this encouragement on the Art of Home-Making Mondays at Strangers and Pilgrims on Earth! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  43. Forever Joyful March 12, 2016 at 8:58 pm #

    Love your goals and how they are clearly attainable and measurable. Thanks for sharing at the #LMMLinkup.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 17, 2016 at 8:08 pm #

      Thanks for the link-up and for visiting me.

      Like

  44. Rachel @ Smart Mom Smart Ideas March 26, 2016 at 4:35 pm #

    Debbie, you have an amazing list of goals for March. In 2016, I have been working to be more focused on simple goals. Writing them down and working on them a little every day helps. Thanks for your openness and sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 1:29 am #

      Thanks Rachel. Just getting back to all these comments. I don’t know how I missed them but guess it was a busy time with school and family.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CHOICES | Blogger Loves The King - March 9, 2016

    […] I exercise or don’t exercise.   I eat healthy or unhealthy.  I snack or don’t snack. Those choices will show up on the scale, and in results at the doctor’s office.  Trust me they have been.  I’ve made some March goals and trying to stick with them – faith goals, family goals, health goals, friend goals, home goals and blogging goals.  I made a whole lot of goals and a whole lot of plans, but some of them will change and that is okay.  You can read about my March goals here. […]

    Like

  2. Five Minute Friday – DECIDE -Deciding to Lose Weight | Blogger Loves The King - April 1, 2016

    […] month I wrote about March Goals as God was speaking, and I’ve done well.  Today, I need to sit down and really pray about my […]

    Like

  3. What are your goals this month? - Women At The Well - April 26, 2016

    […] Learn more about these goals that would be great for you to implement by visiting Debbie Williams at Blogger Loves the King. […]

    Like

  4. June 2016 Goals and May Recap | Blogger Loves The King - June 16, 2016

    […] you enjoyed this post, you may enjoy this one from March and this one from April, and here is […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

