Gallery

An Adventure in Life of Learning and Approving of Yourself

17 Mar

adventure

What kind of adventure story am I writing?  Am I writing one of being the light to some people who have never seen the light?  Am I writing one showing love to people who have never seen love?  Or perhaps some days, and in earlier times, I was writing one of nobody loves me, I am too fat, I can’t write (yes that’s one lie I’ve been telling myself lately), I don’t like this job, I want a larger house, I’m not a good mother, etc.. Are we writing a story  of judging ourselves and finding fault for past mistakes or evening what is happening right now?

Do you hate making mistakes?  I do, and I can beat myself up over the dumbest little things.

woman

It is time to let go of our perfectionism.  It is time to let go of the inner critic.  It is time to make peace with who you are today, not yesterday.  It’s time to start liking you. It is time to let go of other people’s approval.  If we are pleasing our Heavenly Father the rest will fall into place.

I don’t have to be the smartest, the prettiest, the funniest, the most religious, the best Mom, the best wife, the best writer.  I just need to be me – the woman God created me to be.  I need to be a woman that God can use right now just as I am.

 

 

Work

Joining Suzanne Eller today on #LiveFreeThursday

37 Responses to “An Adventure in Life of Learning and Approving of Yourself”

  1. lynnjsimpson March 17, 2016 at 12:41 pm #

    And being you is the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 17, 2016 at 2:17 pm #

      Yes Lynn our best because we are His masterpiece.

      Like

  2. Lyli @3dlessons4life.com March 17, 2016 at 1:58 pm #

    Amen, Debbie. What an encouraging word!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 17, 2016 at 2:16 pm #

      Thanks Lyli.

      Like

  3. Carly March 17, 2016 at 3:14 pm #

    Glad I visited from LiveFreeThursday. My inner critic has been too loud lately. I like the reminder that we don’t need to be the best, just to be who God created us to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:00 am #

      Hi Carly thank you for visiting and commenting. I missed commenting on this post from you. Sorry.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cindy March 17, 2016 at 5:37 pm #

    I am a recovering perfectionist too. Thanks for your reminder! Cindy #livefreeThursday

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:07 am #

      Hi Cindy. Just saw this comment. So sorry this response is delayed. Sometimes I forget to go back. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  5. Crystal March 18, 2016 at 11:04 am #

    Debbie, the older I get the more I realize how important it is to walk confidently in who God made me. So much truth found in your story today, things we all struggle with from time to time. Thank you for sharing and God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:18 am #

      Crystal I just found your beautiful comment in my approval box. Gee. But God wanted me to read your blog today and your thoughts. Thank you for stopping by, and yes the older I get the more confident I am because of Him.

      Like

  6. Chris Carter (@themomcafe) March 18, 2016 at 1:14 pm #

    AMEN. Thank you for this encouragement to live my adventure and not hold myself back with that self criticism that can surely devour me. I am getting better at this grace thing- but I need to be reminded to pour it on me constantly, as our God does constantly!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dawn Boyer March 18, 2016 at 4:26 pm #

    The wisdom of just being WHO he made us to be is a rare and beautiful nugget of gold that we can place in the treasury of our hearts to direct us and lead us always to be close to Him. Thanks for the reminder today!
    Blessings,
    Dawn

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:23 am #

      Dawn just saw your precious comment. So sorry it was lost for a few months. Thank you for visiting.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Mihaela Echols March 18, 2016 at 4:37 pm #

    Great post. We are our worst critic. This writing reminds me of the song “write your story on my heart.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 19, 2016 at 8:56 am #

      I know I am my own worst critic. I am better today than I used to be. I know when I start doing it that it’s lies from the pit. Thanks for stopping by, reading, and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Marissa March 19, 2016 at 8:21 am #

    Yes, we need to stop focusing on perfecting a specific aspect of ourselves and focus more on being the beautiful creation of God and thanking Him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 19, 2016 at 8:42 am #

      Thanks Marissa for stopping by and also for leaving a comment.

      Like

  10. thetightwadteacher March 19, 2016 at 5:16 pm #

    What a great post! Thanks for the message! Thanks for linking up with us at #BloggersSpotlight! Please link up again next week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:35 am #

      Thank you.

      Like

  11. satrntgr March 19, 2016 at 5:49 pm #

    Being “you” is the best you can do! God made us for a reason, we just have to work hard to find it and be used for His glory! 🙂 Thanks for sharing with us at the #HomeMattersParty

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:38 am #

      Amen to that.

      Like

  12. Caroline @ In Due Time March 19, 2016 at 8:22 pm #

    What a beautiful reminder to work for the Lord!! Every day matters when it’s for HIM

    Like

  13. Julie S. March 20, 2016 at 10:22 am #

    Very encouraging post! Yes, if we just take a step back and be kind to ourselves, life becomes so much more wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:40 am #

      For sure Julie.

      Like

  14. elizabethfstewart March 20, 2016 at 10:30 am #

    If we really believe we are fully loved and accepted by God, it changes everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:39 am #

      Yes it does Elizabeth. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

      Like

  15. Barbie March 21, 2016 at 11:25 am #

    AMEN!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 21, 2016 at 9:25 pm #

      Thanks Barbie.

      Like

  16. Victoria Osborn March 21, 2016 at 12:37 pm #

    “I just need to be me – the woman God created me to be. I need to be a woman that God can use right now just as I am.” Amen to this! Thanks for this reminder this morning!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 21, 2016 at 9:26 pm #

      Thanks for the comment and the link-up Victoria.

      Like

  17. pamecrement March 21, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

    Thanks so much for this! This was a much needed reminder today! Happy to be your neighbor at the Linkup on Mom’s the Word today!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Inez Bayardo March 22, 2016 at 2:39 am #

    I love the concept of being the best version of yourself. Learning that years ago really helped me stop competing with and comparing myself to others and, instead, focus on my own self. Which, I believe, is what my mother tried to tell me for years! 🙂 Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:39 am #

      Yes me too Inez. We have no reason to compete and compare.

      Like

  19. Kelly @RaisingSamuels March 23, 2016 at 7:57 pm #

    Wise words! Thanks for sharing this encouragement with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking March 23, 2016 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks Kelly and thank you for the link-up each week.

      Like

  20. Rachel @ Smart Mom Smart Ideas March 26, 2016 at 4:31 pm #

    Debbie, great reminder to be just the person we are and not compare ourselves to others or even who we wish we were. Comparison will always take away our happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 27, 2016 at 8:15 pm #

      Yes Rachel that’s so true. Comparison steals our joy. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I love your blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

