Five-Minute Friday – My Surprise

18 Mar

It’s Five-Minute Friday and I am joining Kate Matoung and my #FMF friends and the word is surprise.  I was surprisee because I missed the prompt last night.

In June 2014, my husband took me on a surprise ride as a birthday trip.  He told me to gather up my camera, and let’s go for a ride.   That was something out of the norm, but I did what I was told.

These pictures share some of what I was blessed to see, and it made one of my most memorable birthdays because I had lost my Mom in February 2013.  It was the day before my birthday in June of 2014, and my hubby saw these flowers while on his way somewhere else.  Mom loved sunflowers.  We took them to her often, and we would stop often times on the way to see her and pick wild ones.

Here are some of the pictures I took that beautiful day:

blog-2 Cor 46

sunflowers2

Bloggerlovestheking

If you would like to see my other pictures and a really good lesson on sunflowers which I researched and learned after that trip please enjoy this post entitled “Lessons On Sunflowers”.

The year Mom died we had a voluntary sunflower just pop up in a flower bed in our yard.  Coincidence.  I don’t think so.  After twenty plus years at this house we never had a sunflower just pop up.  I think that was a God surprise just for me that summer.

 

 

 

50 Responses to “Five-Minute Friday – My Surprise”

  1. Nannette and The Sweetheart March 18, 2016 at 8:20 am #

    I love God surprises and your husband sounds like a keeper. ♥ Your neighbor at #FMF!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 18, 2016 at 8:46 am #

      Hey neighbor. I’m hopping thru and visiting all our neighbors today. Thank you for stopping by and I’ll see visit you in a bit. YES, YES he’s a keeper.

      Like

  2. Renee March 18, 2016 at 9:29 am #

    This is such a sweet story. That was so kind of your husband to do that. Thank you for sharing your sunflower surprise. The pictures are beautiful as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:11 am #

      Thank you Renee for visiting and commenting. Hope all is well on the mission field.

      Like

  3. Charlotte March 18, 2016 at 12:06 pm #

    Such a sweet story!
    God is good! He leaves us so many little love notes along the road of life…and I love finding them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:25 am #

      Yes He does Charlotte. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  4. Alisa @ Flourishing Today March 18, 2016 at 4:36 pm #

    What a great surprise! I love sunflowers. They are so beautiful and large! Although I’ve never seen a field of them, I can imagine it would be quite a sight to see! Linking up with you at Faith Filled Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 19, 2016 at 8:57 am #

      After I saw that one Alisa, the next summer a farmer had a big field about 5 minutes from here. I had to run back home and get my camera. They are really beautiful.

      Like

  5. Forever Joyful March 18, 2016 at 10:51 pm #

    Great post! Even though it’s a children’s book, you might like The Sunflower Parable by Liz Curtis Higgs. I shared it with my students at our homeschool co-op just today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 19, 2016 at 8:53 am #

      Thanks. I love Liz’s books. I bought one for Fall to read to my grandsons.

      Like

  6. thetightwadteacher March 19, 2016 at 5:06 pm #

    I LOVE sunflowers! Those are beautiful pictures! God is good! Thanks for linking up with us at #BloggersSpotlight! Please link up again next week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:31 am #

      Thank you. Love linking up.

      Like

  7. Marie March 19, 2016 at 5:08 pm #

    What a sweet post! I agree; that little sunflower was a kiss from God, letting you know that He was with you. Those pictures are lovely and brightened my day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:32 am #

      Thanks Marie. Yes those sunflowers were a kiss fro Him.

      Like

  8. Anna Smit March 20, 2016 at 9:57 am #

    “The year Mom died we had a voluntary sunflower just pop up in a flower bed in our yard. Coincidence. I don’t think so. ” I don’t think so either! God loves giving us surprise gifts like this, doesn’t He? On the first anniversary of Mum’s homecoming God also gifted us beautiful surprise gifts, much too co-incidental not to be from Him.

    Beautiful post. BTW I’m so sorry for your loss. So thankful God is waking beside you through the grief.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:48 am #

      Thank you for your precious thoughts Anna.

      Like

  9. inspiredbyjune March 20, 2016 at 4:06 pm #

    What a lovely surprise, Debbie! How sweet of your husband! Beautiful pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:43 am #

      Thank you June. I would love to see another field but they aren’t there this year. Moments we have to grab and savor.

      Like

  10. Lisa notes... March 20, 2016 at 5:37 pm #

    What beautiful pictures and what beautiful sunflowers! That’s wonderful that you can associate their beauty with your mother. We associate cardinals with my mother and when I see one, I always think of her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 12:43 am #

      I love cardinals Lisa. We have a family of them living here. They are so beautiful.

      Like

  11. pamecrement March 21, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

    What a beautiful story! Thanks so much! I love the photos as well. I have one sunflower pic on the Gallery page of my website. Happy to be your neighbor at the Linkup at Beauty in His Grip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 21, 2016 at 9:02 pm #

      Hi neighbor. Just popped over and visited you. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. JES the Pilgrim March 23, 2016 at 8:07 am #

    What a sweet and sentimental post! Thank you for sharing this week on the Art of Home-Making Mondays at Strangers & Pilgrims on Earth! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 24, 2016 at 12:46 am #

      Thanks so much for visiting and always for the link-up.

      Like

  13. Linda Stoll March 23, 2016 at 9:27 am #

    Oh the sunflowers, the sunflowers! Now I know springtime is just around the corner. Beautiful, Debbie …

    He is risen indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 23, 2016 at 11:51 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed the Linda. Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  14. Chasing Slow March 24, 2016 at 11:07 am #

    Oh, I love your sunflower surprise! ..and the thoughtfulness of your husband. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    And, please do join us on 52 lists! I have found it to be so encouraging of deeper thoughts through such a simple, easy list.

    Sweet Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 1, 2016 at 5:15 pm #

      Thank you. I would still like to join you ladies. Having a hard time fitting it in this hectic schedule. I will be watching and hoping to continue with you.

      Like

  15. Anna of stuffedveggies April 5, 2016 at 10:00 am #

    Beautiful! My little DD is starting sunflowers in a window garden & is really enjoying watching them grow : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 6:48 pm #

      I sure do love them Anna. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  16. Debbie-Dabble May 19, 2016 at 9:38 am #

    Hello, Debbie!!
    Thanks so much for stopping by!! I loved this beautiful post!! Have a great weekend!!
    Hugs,
    Deb

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 4, 2016 at 1:20 am #

      Thanks Debbie. Just found your comment in my spam folder.

      Like

  17. Cindy Conner June 4, 2016 at 7:42 am #

    Oh I love sunflowers too. What a sweet God surprise! My motherinlove loved sunflowers. She went home to be with Jesus this Oct. will be two year ago. Last year I decided to plant just a few sunflowers. Never thinking they would come up as I grabbed a few packs of seeds from the dollar store. Well low and behold they came up and was the most beautiful sunflowers ever. The God surprise was for my middle daughter who was grieving her Nanny more so on a particular day. On that day I walked out to look at the sunflowers and there they stood, in full bloom facing the sun. I snapped a picture and sent it to her to remind her that her nanny loved her so much. I ADORE God surprises. Have a good weekend. Hugs and blessings, Cindy

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 5, 2016 at 6:16 pm #

      Cindy I adore God surprises and seems He sends them every single day. I just am too busy some days to notice them. I love how you were able to send a picture to your daughter and bless her. Hope your weekend has been fabulous too. Ours was because the 2 year old grandson spent the night last night and went to church with us.

      Like

  18. latisha June 4, 2016 at 1:22 pm #

    What a wonderful blessing. I love sunflowers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking June 5, 2016 at 6:13 pm #

      Thanks Latisha. It’s almost time for them again.

      Like

  19. Suzy Godfrey June 28, 2016 at 10:38 am #

    What a precious story and keep that thoughtful hubby you have!…. be blessed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2016 at 9:14 pm #

      Thank you Suzy.

      Like

  20. Hazel Moon July 22, 2016 at 2:54 am #

    I love it when God gives us these surprises. Yes, I believe He planted that Sun Flower just for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 9:00 am #

      Yes He did. What a blessed surprise from Him Hazel.

      Like

  21. Jaime Wiebel July 26, 2016 at 9:57 pm #

    What beautiful sunflowers. I literally have never seen a sunflower field. How pretty. Thank you so much for sharing your story and your heart about you mom. Have a wonderful week!

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King October 20, 2016 at 10:07 am #

      WOW Jaime. I have grown up with them. I had never seen a sunflower patch where they were being farmed until my hubby drove me to see one. Have a great weekend.

      Like

  22. Linda Stoll July 28, 2016 at 7:51 am #

    Good Morning, Debbie … the sunflowers are glorious … an always sweet reminder of your mom. Thanks for sharing a bit of your story. It’s so good to meet you this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 17, 2016 at 10:56 pm #

      Thank you so much Linda. Sorry I’m just seeing this comment.

      Like

  23. Stacey August 18, 2016 at 2:06 pm #

    Sunflowers are so special! They give off positive thoughts and make us smile. 🙂

    Happy Thoughts of Home friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 20, 2016 at 10:09 am #

      So true Stacey. They make you feel good following the sun.

      Like

  24. Lux G. August 30, 2016 at 12:24 am #

    Aw. What a lovely surprise that must be. Sunflower is my favorite flower too. It makes me joyful just looking at it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 20, 2016 at 10:11 am #

      Thank you. They do make us joyful.

      Like

  25. Cheryl November 2, 2016 at 8:34 pm #

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving a kind comment! God bless you!

    Like

    • Blogger Loves The King November 2, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

      Thanks Cheryl. Loved visiting you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

