Faith, Inspiration

ELOHIM – YOU AND I ARE HIS BEAUTIFUL CREATIONS

elohim

WHAT ARE HIS NAMES?  WHAT DO THEY MEAN?

I know many of His names, but I do not really know them, and what they mean.   I want to know more than just the titles, and I hope to share that with you during my journey the next few weeks in studying “I Know His Name” by Wendy Blight.

I began this intense study on the names of God two weeks ago.  I am learning so much from the book and Wendy.  The more I study, the more I love Him.  How great is He – the one who created you and me.

God has many different names in the Bible.  As we read the Bible we learn that Biblical names carried much meaning.  If you think about it ours do to?  I remember trying to pick names for our children based on what they meant and how important a family member was to us.  As I think of that and how I have always complained about my middle name, it makes me a little ashamed because I was named after my mother.  My name is important. My name is special.  My name is unique.  Our son was named after my husband and his father.  Our daughter was named because of the meaning and we found out later her middle name was also her great grandmothers.

His name is plural.  Genesis 1:26 (NKJV) says, “Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; ……  it says, Us and our.  Wendy mentioned this was surely the first mention of the trinity – the Father, the Son and the Holy Ghost.  What a revelation to me to know that Jesus was right there with God and the Holy Ghost making me in the Father’s likeness.  El means mighty or strong.   He is our mighty God in three persons.

Elohim.  I have heard that name many times.  How about you?  I have bought books and well, life happened, and they sit on the shelf with only a few pages read.

Elohim, pronounced as El-o-heem as Wendy Blight taught us is the God who created us.

We started with Genesis 1:1, and I can tell you that verse has never been more powerful. IN THE BEGINNING GOD.   Elohim spoke the word into existence.  Elohim created the heavens and earth and everything in it.  He created you and me.  I have always known He created us for His glory, but just reading Isaiah 43:7 gave me a whole new perspective.

Everyone who is called by My name, And whom I have created for My glory, Whom I have formed, even whom I have made.”  Isaiah 43:7 (NASB)

We are not accidents.  Have you ever heard anyone say a baby was an accident or unplanned?  I have.  I think my Mom even said that about my sisters and I.  I was born exactly nine months to day after Mom and Dad married.  Eeeek.  My second sister was born twenty-two months later and hey the baby was born ten years later.  Perhaps we were not planned so soon by Mom and Dad, but we were planned long ago by Elohim.

Oh how He loves you and me.  How powerful that He formed you and me.  How personal it was as he took that dust and created and breathed life into Adam – a breath that we were reminded that was past down to us.

He created me, He formed me.   He loves me.  I am unique.  You are unique.  Do you hear that?  You are unique and He loves you?

Wendy reminded us “we should never again look at ourselves (or others) as being without value or worth.”  Does that just hurt you to think about how you may have in the past looked at yourself without worth or others that you come in contact with daily?  It certainly does me.

Here is how He made you and me:

  • We are fearfully and wonderfully made.  Psalm 139:13-16 He has created us wonderfully the way we are for a reason.  We are unique.  We do not have to compare ourselves with others.  He created us fearfully which means to have respect for Him.
  • We are created for His glory.  We are highly renowned by Him.  Isaiah 43:7
  • We are God’s workmanship.   For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.  Ephesians 2:10
  • We are made in His image.  We are a depiction of Him.  We bear His image, and yet we compare and sometimes want to look different, be different, and act different.  Genesis 1:26
“We bear the image of God.  Cling to this truth and treasure it always in your heart.  We share, though imperfectly and finitely in God’s nature.  He imparted His identity, emotions, personality, creativity, wisdom, love, holiness, and justice into each one of us.” Wendy Blight

You and I are Elohim’s beautiful creations.

Wanna read more about Elohim.  I wrote sometime back during a study with Tony Evans on the Names of God.  Read that one here.

I Know His Name Bundle

 

63 thoughts on “ELOHIM – YOU AND I ARE HIS BEAUTIFUL CREATIONS”

  1. Debbie, isn’t it so interesting to study the many names of God. I’ve been intrigued by this topic for a long time. I’ll have to look into this study of Wendy’s. Thanks for sharing. Look forward to hearing what you have to share in the weeks to come. Happy to be your linkup buddy at Sue’s place this morning. ((blessings))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Always so important to remember we are made in His image. And that we reflect His name. I think that is something we need to study everyday! Thank you for sharing what you are learning with Wendy’s study.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by. Sorry to be commenting now, but trying to catch up and visit all who have been here.

      Like

  3. This sounds like a meaningful study.
    My husband and I are somewhat fascinated by names. We’ve spent a lot of time deciding what to name our children…choosing names based on their meanings. So, learning about the names of God is fascinating to me!
    What wonderful reminders you have shared about our worth as people created in God’s image.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Shannon for stopping by and commenting. I’m sorry I just saw this post today. Trying to go back and catch up on the ones I’ve missed.

      Like

    1. Thank you Jacqueline. It is a wonderful study. Sorry I am just seeing this comment. I missed a few somehow.

      Like

  4. What a wonderful and loving God we serve! I love that the Trinity is mentioned so early in the word. He is and was from the very beginning. When we realize that each baby is wonderfully formed in the womb by our God, we are reminded that even those that ‘are accidents’ are truly not accidents at all for He has a purpose and a plan for that little one. Yes, names are important and aren’t we blessed to be called by His name, “Christian?” Thank you for a lovely post and Happy Easter!

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been wondering about the various names of God so that I can teach my children. This sounds like a great resource and I’m glad you shared a preview for us. I look forward to reading more, soon! Blessings!
    Marva | sunSPARKLEshine

    Like

    1. This is really a great study and I haven’t finished my second post. Gee I hoped to on Friday but this weekend was busy with family. Thanks for stopping by. I just checked our your new site. It’s beautiful and so are your posts.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I can think of no better study than to do a study on the names of God. I love them all but seem to be most drawn at the moment to the name “I AM”. Blessings to you this Easter! Thanks for linking up at Over The Moon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jennifer. I love your site and your words each week. Thank you for stopping by and visiting me and commenting.

      Like

  7. thank you for sharing your post today at #ThoughtProvokingThursday were we are neighbors. I really have enjoyed your post on on the names of God. In all my years in church I have only had 1 time where a pastor did a series on the names of God – it was so eye opening and powerful – It is awesome that there is a study about God’s names – it is so very important that we learn and know about who God is and all the faucets of His Character as well…. He (Father, son, and Holy Spirit) created – formed – fashioned us in their image! Such a powerful revelation! Thank you again for sharing – Blessings upon you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad to get to know you and hope you are feeling better today. A bit behind on some of my responses. Thank you for stopping by and visiting. I enjoyed your site.

      Like

  8. Your post made me think back to when I read the book “The Purpose Drive Life”. In the book he says that there are no accidental children. Sometimes I find myself wondering what God’s purpose for my children are. I hope they change the world! Thanks for linking up with us at #BloggersSpotlight and we hope you come back again next week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

