Gallery

EL ROI – THE ONE WHO SEES You

28 Mar

WHAT ARE HIS NAMES?  WHAT DO THEY MEAN?

El Roi – The Ones Who Sees You and Me

El Roi

I am studying the book “I Know His Name” by Wendy Blight.  El Roi is the second wonderful name of God that we were privileged to study.

El Roi was first mentioned by Hagar in the book of Genesis when God spoke to her.  Hagar, was a slave to Sarai who could not have a child.  Even though God had promised Abram future generations both Abram nor Sarai trusted.

Sarai told Abram to have them a child with Hagar; however, after becoming pregnant, Sarai became jealous of Hagar and treated her harshly which caused Hagar to run away.   She was alone and desperate and an angel of God appeared to her. At the end of their conversation she gave God the name El Roi.

Proverbs 15:3 (NIV) “The eyes of the Lord are everywhere, keeping watch on the wicked and the good.”

Have you ever been desperate and alone?  I think we all have at some time, and if we have not we probably will be, but we have hope because our God sees us.  He knows how we feel.

My life is an open book.  He knows everything that is going on with me.  He is longing for me to sit at His feet and talk about it.  He sees me when I’m victorious.  He sees me when I am struggling or discouraged and desperate. He sees me when I sin because I do in some way probably every single day.  I am so glad He sees all of me all of the time.  I am so thankful for His grace and mercy and love no matter what I’ve done.

Psalm 139:2 tells us He knows when we sit down and lie down.

Job 34:21 says that His eyes are on the ways of man; he sees our every step.

 God’s eyes are truly everywhere watching each of us and all that is going on in the World. We are ALWAYS on His mind. He is there every moment through our bad and our good times. Absolutely nothing is hidden from Him.  He even knows the hairs on our head.   

We need to take our eyes off ourselves and look to El-Roi.

Elohim was the first name we studied. You can read my blog about Him here.  I wrote about Elohim also during a study with Tony Evans.  You can read that one here.

I also wrote another short blog on El Roi sometime ago here.

This post was featured at  Monday Mish Mash on 4/4/16 and  The Life of This Mother on 4/9/16.

55 Responses to “EL ROI – THE ONE WHO SEES You”

  1. Carol March 28, 2016 at 10:28 am #

    The story of Hagar–and God’s love & protection–touches my heart. Yes, we have a God who sees us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 1:33 am #

      Thanks for visiting Carol and commenting.

      Like

  2. holyvacationqueen March 28, 2016 at 9:21 pm #

    I love reflecting on the names for God, and to know we can be an open book with God, nothing hidden, because he knows us by name, and knows our hearts! Beautiful words here!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 6, 2016 at 1:40 am #

      Thank you for stopping by and visiting. I’m sorry I’m just now responding. For some reason I missed many of the comments on this post.

      Like

  3. Angela Martin March 29, 2016 at 8:30 am #

    I love the story of Hagar – one of those side characters who can show us so much when we look into her life. You’re right. We all have those moments in the desert when the best thing we can do is cry out. I love that you pointed out this name for God – He was exactly what she needed at that moment.
    (She hit my heart once too! If you’re interested, check it out: http://angelamartin.us/dont-skip-the-mess/ )

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 11, 2016 at 2:25 pm #

      Hi Angela I’m just seeing this comment just at the time God would have me to.. Thanks for stopping by and visiting and commenting. I hopped over and read your beautiful Hagar post today.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. lynnjsimpson March 29, 2016 at 9:13 am #

    Nothing is hidden from God. He is all knowing. I have had those very alone, desperate times and call out His name wondering why it seems like He has abandoned me. But yes, like you mention, His eyes are everywhere! And loving

    Liked by 1 person

  5. GiGiMandy March 29, 2016 at 9:28 am #

    The God who Sees me … This has been close to my heart of late. He knows where I am and what I am going through … And He he’s got it under control!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 11, 2016 at 2:27 pm #

      Me too sweet lady, me too. So much on my heart right now and God smacked me right back to your comment and this post today.

      Like

  6. shannongeurin March 29, 2016 at 9:42 am #

    When we truly realize that he does see everything and that NOTHING is hidden from him, we can walk in Freedom! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 12, 2016 at 7:21 am #

      Amen Shannon.

      Like

  7. MaryHill March 29, 2016 at 8:17 pm #

    This books sounds so wonderful. I am glad God’s eyes see me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. saleslady371 March 29, 2016 at 8:48 pm #

    El Roi is one of my favorite names to call Him. Comforts me! I’m your neighbor at Tell His Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 11, 2016 at 2:32 pm #

      Oh my I just found a number of blogs here with comments I missed probably because I was so involved with school and my grandsons. But God saves things that are important for us to find on the perfect days. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. Tried to find your blog today but when I hit saleslady371 it did not come up with your blog.

      Like

  9. elizabeth959803 March 29, 2016 at 10:05 pm #

    Beautiful! El Roi is one of my favorite names of God. And I love how each of God’s great names tells us something different about Who He is: His character, His nature, His glory. Thank you for pointing us toward the God Who Sees. Stopping by from The Alder Collective Link Party.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. sizzlesue15 March 29, 2016 at 11:42 pm #

    I’ve never heard of this name for God before. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us at #Overthemoon.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sandi March 30, 2016 at 9:24 am #

    Thank you for your post, Debbie. It is comforting to know that He sees us at all times and cares for us. We are blessed to have such a loving heavenly Father who knows every hair on our head and listens when we talk to Him. Have a beautiful day and thank you for sharing.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

  12. messymarriage March 30, 2016 at 10:58 am #

    Understanding the many names of the Lord is so crucial to understanding the facets of His divine character, Debbie. I’m so glad you’re going through this study and sharing what you’re learning with the rest of us. Yes, our Lord sees us wherever we are and that’s such a comfort.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 30, 2016 at 8:41 pm #

      Yes it is a comfort and learning about his divine character just makes us fall more in love.

      Like

  13. sunSPARKLEshine March 30, 2016 at 12:06 pm #

    I love how God reveals himself in different ways. He really is the God who sees me and I’m thankful for that. As the scripture says, he knows my coming and going. This is a great one that my kids can relate to as well.
    Thanks for sharing. I’m already looking forward to the next one!
    Marva | sunSPARKLEshine

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking March 30, 2016 at 8:40 pm #

      Thanks so much.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. kaylaloves March 30, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

    The book sounds great! Lovely post! x
    kaylaloves.com #brillblogposts

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 1, 2016 at 5:12 pm #

      Thanks Kayla. It gets better and better with each page I turn.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Amy Jung March 31, 2016 at 8:29 am #

    I love the name El Roi and the scriptures you’ve shared. All of them have been ones I’ve meditated on more recently. What a blessing it is to know God sees me and is actively involved in my life. Thanks for the beautiful reminder!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 1, 2016 at 5:11 pm #

      Thanks Amy. You are welcome for the reminder.

      Like

  16. Alisa @ Flourishing Today March 31, 2016 at 9:35 am #

    I love that name… El Roi- The God Who Sees Me. There is such great comfort knowing that God sees me at all times. It reveals HIs compassion and grace for us. Wonderful post, Debbie! Neighbors at Thought Provoking Thursday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 4, 2016 at 1:01 am #

      Hi neighbor Thanks for stopping by. I just read your beautiful blog on praying.

      Like

  17. Gayl Wright March 31, 2016 at 11:58 am #

    I love how God watches over and shows love to Hagar. I didn’t realize that this was the first place He was known as El Roi, but it’s so appropriate. No matter how alone we may feel, God is always there and He sees and knows. Thank you for this reminder. That book about the names of God sounds really interesting. I would like to learn more about each name and how it describes the many facets of His character. Blessings to you! I’m your neighbor at #ThreeWordWednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 4, 2016 at 12:52 am #

      Thanks Gayl. I tried to leave a comment on your blog but couldn’t find a place to do it Enjoyed reading about the sea cucumber.

      Like

  18. Gleniece March 31, 2016 at 1:31 pm #

    Love this series, Debbie. Thank you. I especially loved the fact that we are always on God’s mind. Funny how it takes anther’s words to make us go ” Wow! I never thought about it that way!”
    Have a beautiful day. I’m visiting from #momtomommondays

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gleniece April 4, 2016 at 12:41 pm #

      I meant to type another’s, not anther’s. Where were my glasses when I needed them.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Pam@over50feeling40 March 31, 2016 at 4:15 pm #

    Thanks for your post and for sharing with the Thursday Blog Hop! I find comfort in knowing His Eyes are everywhere…I trust He is there with me in all circumstances. Bless You!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Ellen March 31, 2016 at 5:06 pm #

    I love reading about the names of God. When I was at a church we used to attend they had all the names of God around a large planter with a tree. I took a photo of each one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 12, 2016 at 7:12 am #

      Ellen what a wonderful idea, and you got photos. Love that.

      Like

  21. queenofthehousehold March 31, 2016 at 9:10 pm #

    I have never heard of that name of God before. It is a comfort to know that He sees all. Even though I know it, sometimes I forget and that is usually when fear sets in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 7:19 pm #

      I am so glad God brought you here to know a new name. I have loved studying some of His names. I still have a few more blogs to write on this study and can’t wait to go back and review and share. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  22. Sarah @ The Life of This Mother April 2, 2016 at 3:48 am #

    This blessed me so much. I’ve had a few hard weeks with a friend that has left me feeling confused, hurt and asking God for help. Sometimes I continually doubt myself over my actions or thoughts or motives, and I feel that God is far away because I am so imperfect. But this experience has given me glimmers of His intimate care for me, and your words and the words from Hagar have blessed my spirit. I love that, “His eyes are everywhere…” and your words, “You are ALWAYS on his mind”.

    Thank you! And thank you for linking up at my new link-up, Discipline. Keeping my mind set on Him, El Roi, instead of my own feelings and thoughts is a discipline I am still learning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 7:06 pm #

      Sarah thank you. You blessed me so much and I love your new link. Know it is going to do well. You made my day reading this. Sometimes I get tired because blogging is work with no pay for me because right now I just want to bless others and some days Satan starts shouting that I can’t write.

      Like

  23. Jemma April 2, 2016 at 9:25 am #

    Beautiful scriptures and He is the one who loves us so much.
    He fills my days with joy and comfort.
    Thank you for sharing His word and blessing with us at Thoughts Of Home On Thursday.
    Blessings,
    Jemma

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 4, 2016 at 12:41 am #

      Thanks Jemma. I enjoy sharing at Thoughts of Home and appreciate you stopping by to visit me and commenting.

      Like

  24. Kelly @RaisingSamuels April 2, 2016 at 6:56 pm #

    It’s interesting to learn all the names of God. Thanks for sharing this post and book with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 4, 2016 at 12:32 am #

      Thanks Kelly. I’ll be back.

      Like

  25. Hazel Moon April 2, 2016 at 7:35 pm #

    God’s Name is Holy, and the many names of God are an excellent study. Each name reveals more about him and his wonderful attributes. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 4, 2016 at 12:31 am #

      Thank you Hazel. I love sharing on ell Me A Story. Loving learning more about Him and as I do I fall more in love. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  26. Rachel @ Smart Mom Smart Ideas April 3, 2016 at 9:24 am #

    Comforting to know that God sees us and cares for us. His plan is better for us than any we can make for ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 4, 2016 at 12:22 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Rachel.

      Like

  27. Jennifer | The Deliberate Mom April 4, 2016 at 1:40 pm #

    God has many names and I love how they reflect a part of His nature! What a wonderful idea for a study!

    Thank you so much for sharing (and for linking up to the #SHINEbloghop).

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Jenny @ Let's Talk Mommy April 5, 2016 at 4:37 pm #

    Interesting I have never heard of this name reference before. Thanks for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2016 at 5:18 pm #

      Thanks Jenny. Love linking up with you.

      Like

  29. hilkayaker April 5, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

    Thanks for linking up at #bloggerspotlight, I pinned this to our group board. Don’t forget to link up again on Thursday night.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 8, 2016 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks so much.

      Like

  30. Dawn Boyer April 7, 2016 at 9:55 am #

    There is so much to learn about God and His Word, His Names and His love for us. I am with you, so glad that our lives are an open book and yet He still love us.

    Thank you for sharing this at the #GraceMoments link up today.
    Blessings,
    Dawn

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2016 at 8:37 pm #

      Thank you Dawn. I love Grace Moments.

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Mish Mash Link Party #11- Country Mouse City SpouseCountry Mouse City Spouse - April 4, 2016

    […] El Roi – The Ones Who Sees You and Me […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

