Gallery

April 2016 Goals and March Recap

7 Apr

April Goals

Do you set goals?  In March I started a new goals strategy.  After all, if I share them with the world maybe I will stay on track.  Right?

My March goals were huge, and I completed most of them, so in April I am going to set them high again, and continue until I feel a bit more organized, healthy  and relaxed.

 Looking for that relaxation.  How about you?

March was a busy month for us.  They all seem to be anymore.  I love my life and most days feel like the happiest wife, happiest mother and Nanna around.  For me, life is about fly Lord and my family, and I pretty much drop whatever I’m doing if one of the girls needs help with one of the grandsons, or if one of them calls and wants to have lunch or just come over and visit, or when things happen to people we love.

In March unexpected things did happen, and even still continue to and so many of them are hard and sad, so we were gone a lot and a few of my goals were unmet, but God’s goals and plans are always higher than ours.  A pastor friend lost his wife so we drove four hours to the funeral with a one hour traffic jam on the way there one weekend.  The next weekend a friend got married  two hours away, and we stopped on the way to visit an aunt in a nursing home.  We went out-of-town Easter weekend.

And then there were the expected things like weather that slowed down my yard work goals and walking goals.  Storms, rain, cold, windy days happened so the trimming, weed pulling and walking the grandson goals did not get accomplished.

Colossians 323So how did I do on my March Goals and adding new April goals?

FAITH GOALS

 

March:

Five-Minute daily devotion.  (I am still behind with all that has been going on with trips, substitute teaching, and grandsons.)  Finished the Bible Study called  Becoming More Than A Good Bible Study Girl by Lysa TerKeurst.  Continue study on the names of God called I Know His Name by Wendy Blight.

April: 

Five-Minute daily devotion on Leviticus and Hebrews – First-Five App – Get caught up which will mean finishing this month and starting  new one on the book of Acts.

I am finishing I Know His Name by Wendy Blight this week, and start a Bible Study – 5 Habits of a Girl That Doesn’t Quit by Nicki Koziarz on  ??????

FAMILY GOALS

March:

Snuggle on the sofa with my husband to watch a movie at least once a week. (Success)  One fun day a month with my 2-year old grandson to leave the house and go enjoy Chick-Fil-A, McDonald’s, a park, a long walk in the neighborhood, or just outside enjoying his mow-mow as he calls it.  We did go to Chick-Fil-A and got to enjoy his mow-mow and even his 4-wheeler one Sunday afternoon.                               

Reading children’s books, playing blocks and puzzles in the floor with them.  WIN-WIN with both grandsons!  

Dates with the family and hopefully a sister date with my sisters since one of them has a birthday this month.    FAILED.  I planned the sister date but one of them had to cancel at the last-minute.  Disappointed but I used that time to take the 2-year old to Chick-Fil-A.  

April:   

Walks in the neighborhood with both the boys and continue snuggling on the sofa and maybe one trip to the deer lease with our son and daughter-in-law and a trip or two to Dairy Queen with my mother-in-law, daughter-in-law and son-in-law.

HEALTH GOALS

Blog - Proverbs 163

March:  

Cut back on sugar and Diet drinks.  Wear pedometer (6,000) steps a day, exercise 3-4 days a week, walk two Thursdays in the neighborhood, weekly meal planning and lose two pounds.  Failure and success.  I did cut back on sugar and diet drinks, exercised almost 3-4 days a week, and lost two pounds BUT we didn’t get to walk because of the weather on Thursdays and the weekly meal planning didn’t happen because of our trips out of town.

April:  

Wear pedometer (6,000 steps a day), Exercise 3-4 days a week, walk two Thursdays in the neighborhood, plan at least two weeks of meals.  Lose 3 pounds.

FRIEND GOALScoffee - pumpkin bread

March:  

Start a monthly coffee at my home for my neighbors.  I had planned this for Spring Break but I was busier with the boys and had one of them three days that week so I didn’t get to do this and I’m going to have to move it to summer just because things are so busy right now with other wonderful things

Contact one friend by phone and one by email that I haven’t talked to in a while.  (DONE)

April:  

Contact one friend by phone and meet one for lunch.

HOME GOALS

March:  

Clean one flower bed a week and trim all the azaleas along the circular driver.  (Weather prevented this when we were home to do it.)    

Deep clean office and laundry room.  They both still need work.  I can’t seem to keep all the ironing done and constantly have things hanging up to dry in the laundry room.  Clutter in the office happens.                              

Contact quilting lady – Done

April:

Finish Income Tax

Clean the front flower beds and trim azaleas.  (Keeping it simple sort of – there are at least 24 of these azaleas and the front flower beds are huge.

Tidy up the office book case.

              BLOGGING GOALScomputer blog

March:

Clean-Up side bar, add a mail follow, start blogging course.  I did get the side bar cleaned up and started the blogging course, but not sure yet about the mail follow because I’m not sure where God is leading me with my blog yet.                                                                                                                                    

 April:

Complete  one lesson of my  blogging course.  

Clean up the linky page.

Continue to pray about where my emphasis should be.  So many questions on my heart right now as to how I should proceed.

If you enjoyed this post, you may enjoy this one from March.

Check out my March goal blog here:

March 2016 Goals

75 Responses to “April 2016 Goals and March Recap”

  1. Michele Morin April 7, 2016 at 7:25 am #

    Amazingly purposeful living!
    Thanks for sharing the blessing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

      Thanks for reading Michele. Appreciate you.

      Like

  2. Stacey April 7, 2016 at 8:11 am #

    Debbie, writing down my goals really helps me too. I have to post them where I read them all the time. Isn’t it silly that those are things that mean a lot to us but we push them aside. You’ve reminded me to get my shoes on and walk on this stunning spring morning.

    Thank you for joining us at Thoughts of Home on Thursday. Pinning to the TOHOT board and also my Encouragement board. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2016 at 8:43 pm #

      Thank you Stacey, Love Thoughts of Home and all your beautiful pictures. I need to print out my goals. I keep finding myself going back to the blog to make sure I’m accomplishing them.

      Like

  3. mbethany April 7, 2016 at 3:01 pm #

    Busy, busy! But it sounds like you’re busy with wonderful things : ) Thanks for sharing, this encourages me to be more intentional with my goals as well! #Thought-ProvokingThursday

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

      Thank you. My mom always teased me about being so busy. She was so relaxed. Thanks for Thought Provoking Thursday.

      Like

  4. lynnjsimpson April 7, 2016 at 10:44 pm #

    Wow…great focus! I like how you have divided your category’s. I’ve done a lot of goal setting activities, and the way you write them down is a success itself. May you continue to let God lead you on where you are to spend your time and efforts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 8:23 pm #

      Thank you Lynn. Appreciate you stopping by.

      Like

  5. Cait April 8, 2016 at 8:37 am #

    these are great goals and i hope you’re able to get them all accomplished ! so glad i found your blog through the link up! hope you’ll stop by mine! happy friday dear!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 8, 2016 at 9:47 am #

      I hope so too Cait. Thanks for stopping by and yes I visited your site just now. Love that crochet dress and little pineapple lamp.

      Like

  6. Brooke @ thevinepress.org April 8, 2016 at 8:47 am #

    Love how you set goals for all areas of your life. It must really help to accomplish all that you have in your heart to do. Thanks for sharing! (found you at Grace & Truth link-up)

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 8, 2016 at 1:24 pm #

      Thanks Brooke. So glad you found me. I enjoyed your blog today.

      Like

  7. Julie S. April 8, 2016 at 3:05 pm #

    Snuggling on the sofa with the husband sounds wonderful. And wow I love all the images with tea cups on your post! Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 8, 2016 at 5:57 pm #

      Thanks Julie. Most of my teacups my Mom gave me before she died. It was a big collection and I treasure them. I love adding them to my blogs.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Kelly S April 8, 2016 at 5:44 pm #

    I am behind on my reading in I Know His Name. I hope to catch up right along with you!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking April 8, 2016 at 5:54 pm #

      I have been trying to blog on the names Kelly and also behind on that.

      Like

  9. lauraingallsgunn April 8, 2016 at 8:14 pm #

    Your goals are such an inspiration to me. Your post is such a happy addition to Thoughts of Home on Thursday. Thank you SO much for sharing the joy.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 8:23 pm #

      Thank you Laura. Love your party.

      Like

  10. Barbie April 9, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

    How inspiring. Makes me want to get my list of goals written down. Have a blessed week ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 4:45 pm #

      Thanks Barbie. It’s all new to me and I am loving it.

      Like

  11. elizabethfstewart April 10, 2016 at 9:36 am #

    This is so good! You’ve inspired me to break down my goals into these more tangible and doable chunks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 2:36 pm #

      Thank you Elizabeth. Wishing you well. It’s really working for me.

      Like

  12. MaryHill April 10, 2016 at 12:21 pm #

    I love your categories and emphasis. I know you will meet your goals. I will pray for you this month.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 12:28 pm #

      Mary thank you so much. I’m really working on all these goals – the food one I do need prayer.

      Like

  13. Carrie April 10, 2016 at 5:10 pm #

    I love that you set high goals for yourself – and you have the courage to state them publicly! Good for you! Perhaps I’ll give some thought to goals of my own 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 8:22 pm #

      Thanks Carrie. Yes, write about those goals.

      Like

  14. sizzlesue15 April 10, 2016 at 9:25 pm #

    I’m a goals person and I enjoyed reading your goals. It is a great feeling when we achieve them isn’t it? Thanks for sharing with us at Over the Moon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

      Thank you so much and thanks for Over the Moon.

      Like

  15. momssmallvictories April 10, 2016 at 11:14 pm #

    I love setting goals, it helps me get a list to focus on. I’m horrible about staying focused on my goals, you’re right, unexpected things always get in the way. Good luck with all your goals, I really need to work on my front yard flower beds also and make some progress in the blogging course I’m taking also. Thanks for sharing with Small Victories Sunday Linkup. Pinning to our linkup board.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:40 pm #

      Thank you so much. Love Small Victories on Sunday.

      Like

  16. blog8628 April 11, 2016 at 7:14 am #

    I like how you have your goals broken up into categories! That seems like such a smart way to do it! Best of luck on your April goals. I’ll be praying for direction from God on your blog! Blessings, liz

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:32 pm #

      Thanks Liz for being so faithful in visiting me. Hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Jamie @ Medium Sized Family April 11, 2016 at 8:53 am #

    I always love to read goals that others are setting for themselves! Looks like you’re doing pretty well.

    I’d like to set some friend goals myself. That’s one area that I am terrible at, because it seems so hard to fit it into my busy schedule.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2016 at 8:11 pm #

      Thanks Jamie. I have a hard time keeping up with friends, but hoping setting goals will help. Thank you for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Brooke Fradd April 11, 2016 at 10:38 am #

    why are sugary drinks so hard to give up? congrats on all you accomplished in March!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2016 at 8:10 pm #

      Thanks Brooke and I sure don’t know, but I did well this weekend out of town.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Lindsey Junkins April 11, 2016 at 11:53 am #

    March was a Busy month for us as well, I fell like it flew right by us!

    I have been Bullet Journaling since February and it has been a huge help. I love it! Anyways! We are moving to a new place in the beginning of May, so I have a lot of planning and boxing for the move, not to mention I am trying to really make my Art my full tome job so that is a top priority. As for family time, my husband and I are trying to squeeze some date nights in and I am also trying to make it a point to go outside at least 2-3 hours a date to different parks.

    Hope you have a great productive week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2016 at 8:06 pm #

      You are busy. I dread the thought of ever moving again. Been here 25 years. I hope your art business goes well.

      Like

  20. Mary Geisen April 12, 2016 at 8:16 am #

    Wow! Your goals are specific and measurable so you will know whether you have successfully completed them or not. I love the different categories that you have for your goals and your willingness to set the bar high to achieve them. You inspire me to reach for more. I will need to write down my goals first to see them in front of me daily to begin to then follow through with completing them. Thank you for sharing your goals today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:33 pm #

      Thank you sweet friend.

      Like

  21. Debbie April 12, 2016 at 11:48 am #

    Very inspirational and motivational…I have a lot of “to dos” but I typically set goals based on dates I need to have something done and let the spiritual ones, and others you mentioned just happen. I needed that reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:34 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Debbie. I’m loving this monthly goal setting. It’s really working for me.

      Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 24, 2016 at 7:06 pm #

      Thank you Debbie. So glad this was inspirational for you.

      Like

  22. shortybears April 12, 2016 at 5:47 pm #

    really good post

    Liked by 1 person

  23. SarahEFrazer April 13, 2016 at 7:59 am #

    I would love to read 5 Habits of a Girl That Doesn’t Quit by Nicki Koziarz, just having made the time yet. It looks like something I probably need to read! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:35 pm #

      It’s a fun, fast read book Sarah. Thanks for the link-up.

      Like

  24. Raising Samuels April 13, 2016 at 8:42 am #

    The monthly coffee with neighbors sounds like a great idea! Thanks for sharing your goals with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:36 pm #

      Again thank you for SocialButterfly and I’ll be there this week. I haven’t gotten that monthly coffee done yet, but it will happen.

      Like

  25. Valerie Sisco at Grace with Silk April 13, 2016 at 8:58 am #

    Hi Debbie,
    I’m your neighbor at Coffee for your Heart today. I like how you set goals for every area of your life! That nicely gives you a roadmap of where you’re heading and what you’ve accomplished!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:41 pm #

      I love that Valerie – a small roadmap of where I’m heading.

      Like

  26. Jann Olson April 13, 2016 at 10:14 am #

    I do set goals. Both long and short term ones. In fact, every morning I set goals for the day. Just mentally, but it helps me accomplish the things that I would like to in a day. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 24, 2016 at 7:12 pm #

      Thanks Jann. I probably should set some long term goals for the year. Last year I had a yearly list on the refrigerator for big tasks.

      Like

  27. messymarriage April 13, 2016 at 10:55 am #

    I love that you are putting out there for us all of your categories of goals, Deborah. This is a great way to hold yourself accountable as well as inspire the rest of us to get our lives on track and organized. If it isn’t on my calendar or to-do list, it almost never gets done! Great post, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 24, 2016 at 7:13 pm #

      Thank you Beth.

      Like

  28. Susan Chamberlain Shipe April 13, 2016 at 12:05 pm #

    I’m your neighbor #35 at Holley’s today. I love your goals and the flexibility you have learned that “things happen” – every good plan is subject to change. Amen?

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 24, 2016 at 7:13 pm #

      Amen Susan. A little delayed responding. Missed this. Thank you.

      Like

  29. Lisa notes... April 13, 2016 at 1:20 pm #

    I love that you set some tangible goals. And I thought that *I* was a list maker. ha. You put me to shame. You have many goals that I should adopt for myself as well. Congratulations on all that you completed and will complete because of goal-setting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 24, 2016 at 7:17 pm #

      Thank you so much Lisa for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  30. Jamie @ Medium Sized Family April 14, 2016 at 9:17 am #

    Popping in a second time to say thanks for sharing at the Friday Funday Blog Hop #FFBH!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 24, 2016 at 7:18 pm #

      Thank you Jamie and thank you for Friday Sunday. Been missing it.

      Like

  31. abountifullove April 14, 2016 at 10:23 am #

    I always tell myself to sit down and write goals. You are amazing! Thank you for the inspiration. Thank you so much for sharing this over at #bloggerspotlight link and Pin-it Party. I do appreciate it and hope to see you again! Pinned!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 4:20 pm #

      Thank you and enjoy sharing.

      Like

  32. Julie April 15, 2016 at 5:15 pm #

    What wonderful goals! I love this idea and think I will try to implement doing this in my own life. I say try because, like you, I have things that disrupt my days and then I get really uptight about not keeping to the schedule/goals I’ve set. I like how you’ve done this, though, and also how you have so much grace when you don’t do everything. Maybe that’s what I need – more grace for myself! lol Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful post on my Counting Our Blessings linkup! I’m always so excited to read your posts you share.

    Blessings – Julie

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 4:21 pm #

      Thanks Julie. Hope you were able to try it. Yes, grace because God is in control with all the happenings that come our way to change our course.

      Like

  33. Rachel @ Smart Mom Smart Ideas April 15, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

    I am working on setting more goals. You have done a great job planning and goals for April. I look forward to hearing what you accomplished. Thanks for sharing at Mom-to-Mom Monday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:05 pm #

      I keep setting them each month. Not meeting them all, but doing so much more than I normally would. Thanks for Mom-to-Mom Monday.

      Like

  34. Hazel Moon April 15, 2016 at 9:26 pm #

    Goals and keeping them are difficult for me, but I see your goals are manageable. It is good to be able to drop everything and help your children. I understand how that is too. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:45 pm #

      I love helping our grown children Hazel and especially being such an influence on the grandsons lives. Thank you for visiting and thanks for Tell Me A Story.

      Like

  35. swathi April 18, 2016 at 1:16 pm #

    looks like you are booked whole month, for me it is difficult to keep up the goals, thanks for sharing with Hearth and soul blog hop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:45 pm #

      I stay pretty booked for sure. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  36. Jenny April 19, 2016 at 3:23 pm #

    I love that while you make new goals and things to do each month you go back and recap on the goals you set yourself the month previous. I think its important we look back and stop just saying we will do things but make sure we do them. it always feels better in the end if we do. This is lovely. Happy April and thanks for sharing them on #ShareWithMe

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:43 pm #

      Thanks Jenny. Yes because I go back the first of each month and review last month’s goals it keeps me on track and I eventually get it done much quicker than I would were it not on my list.

      Like

  37. Taren Dixon @ Dixon Family Farm April 24, 2016 at 11:05 pm #

    I love how you have so many goals based around relationships. I struggle with hospitality and making time for relationships because of other things I have going on & my tendency of being an introvert. I am working towards doing better at this with my own life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 13, 2017 at 7:08 pm #

      Thank you Taren. I just saw this lovely post today. I know it’s long ago, but God’s timing is perfect. I enjoyed visiting you today and reading about black berries.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. June 2016 Goals and May Recap | Blogger Loves The King - June 16, 2016

    […] you enjoyed this post, you may enjoy this one from March and this one from April, and here is […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

