Gallery

WHOLE

8 Apr

Joining Kate Matoung in #FMF and the word to blog about for five minutes is WHOLE.

What does loving God with ALL our hearts mean?  I looked up the definition of all in Merriam Webster.  Here is what I found:

  1. nothing but, only
  2. the whole amount
  3. completely taken up with, given to, or absorbed by
  4. as much of

Deuteronomy 6:5 is the first commandment.  It tells us we are to love God with ALL we have – our hearts, our souls, our minds.  I come short of that every day.  How about you?

As I think of all the ways that I am trying to improve on loving my Lord and being wholly committed, I think of ways that I strive to do that:

  • Getting out of bed each morning, and as soon as I finish making the bed, washing my face and eating breakfast, I grab that first cup of coffee and spend time seeking to know Him more through Bible study and prayer.
  • Worship Him as I go through my day thanking Him for the little and the big things.  Have you stopped today to gaze a sunrise, a sunset, blooming spring flowers, a mother holding a baby, the rain, the sun, the moon? There is so much to be thankful for each day, but sometimes we are too busy to notice.
  • Seeking fellowship with other Christians.   For me it is at church, in on-line Bible studies, and with other bloggers.
  • Acknowledging Him in every situation – good and bad.  He is always there whether we feel Him or not waiting for us to call on Him.  He sees everything that is happening in our lives every day, and He knows how we are hurting.
  • Acknowledging Him in my daily conversations and daily activities.  Sometimes it’s hard especially at public school, but I can say bless you when someone sneezes, and I can find other ways throughout the day and sometimes that is just sitting there and praying one by one as the students work on a paper lifting them in prayer, praying for their salvation.  Sometimes just a smile to a passer-by or someone checking us out will change their day.
  • Tucking scripture away in my heart by memorizing and pulling it out to witness to another, bless another or even myself.

Being wholly committed is letting the  Lord be LORD of all  in my life – not only portions of my life.

26 Responses to “WHOLE”

  1. Christy April 8, 2016 at 7:08 am #

    This: wholly committed is letting the Lord be LORD of all in my life – not only portions of my life. I’m ALL in!
    In the 10 spot today

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 8, 2016 at 9:59 am #

      Yea Christa! Let’s do it.

      Like

  2. Carly April 8, 2016 at 7:14 am #

    I like how you’ve come up with practical ways to focus on God throughout the day and to be conscious of him in every part of life. These are good tips. I’ve been memorising some verses lately and I’ve found that a really helpful way to focus on God throughout the day. Glad to be your neighbour at FMF today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 8, 2016 at 9:37 am #

      Carly it’s fun memorizing isn’t it. I keep reminders around the kitchen.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. lynnjsimpson April 8, 2016 at 9:02 am #

    Yes! I know my mind is always skipping ahead to what is next instead of treasuring the moment. Today I commit to seeing the beauty around me, even in just maybe soap bubbles!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 8, 2016 at 9:35 am #

      Lynn that’s so true. Think of those in countries that can’t have the joy of soap bubbles. I’m laughing because our 2 year old grandson says toot bubbles when he is in the bathtub and lets one. Thanks for making me smile this morning.

      Like

  4. renesloan01 April 8, 2016 at 1:39 pm #

    I know I fall short each and every day! Thank you God for loving me the same each and every, in spite of my shortcomings. Oh I love this, and so needed to read this today! Thank you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 8, 2016 at 1:45 pm #

      Thank you. That’s why I love blogging. It reminds me of whose I am and how much He loves me and how unworthy I am.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. jerralea April 8, 2016 at 2:06 pm #

    I was going to say the same as Carly – thanks for practical steps to apply this to everyday life!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:21 pm #

      Thanks so much!

      Like

  6. mbethany April 8, 2016 at 3:28 pm #

    The “whole” part is so challenging, isn’t it? I appreciate your ideas and encouragement to surrender!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:22 pm #

      That’s so very true.

      Like

  7. Elena Alice April 8, 2016 at 8:07 pm #

    Great post! I think it is easy to skip over or not realize the significance of words like whole and all. They are powerful, important words! I went through a devotional called “My All in All” once and it went through different Bible passages with “all” in them, such as Deut.6:5 that you posted. It is so good to remember that God wants ALL of us, our WHOLE mind, body, and soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 5:09 pm #

      Elena that sounds like a wonderful devotional. Thanks for sharing and stopping by to comment.

      Like

  8. Erica Ashley April 8, 2016 at 9:31 pm #

    Love this ! Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 10, 2016 at 8:32 pm #

      Thanks Erica for stopping by.

      Like

  9. krista April 11, 2016 at 6:46 pm #

    This is a wonderful breakdown and good examples of how to apply it daily – in everyday life examples.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2016 at 7:57 pm #

      Thanks Krista.

      Like

  10. Chasing Slow April 11, 2016 at 7:13 pm #

    Beautifully shared and encouraging! I needed this today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 11, 2016 at 7:57 pm #

      Yea I’m glad it blessed you.

      Like

  11. Shannon @ Of The Hearth April 12, 2016 at 3:05 pm #

    I love your thoughts here. It’s especially encouraging to me because several ladies in my Bible study group and I are memorizing Deuteronomy 6:5-9 together!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:27 pm #

      Isn’t it wonderful Shannon how God puts something on our hearts over and over. I love how this happens.

      Like

  12. elizabethfstewart April 13, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

    Your goals are really wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:27 pm #

      Thank you so much Elizabeth.

      Like

  13. Rachel @ Smart Mom Smart Ideas April 15, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

    Great insights on how God makes us whole and we can be wholly devoted.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 3:29 pm #

      Thank you Rachel.

      Like

Leave a Reply

