Gallery

Collecting People Not Things

14 Apr

14-for-if-ye-forgive-men-their-trespasses-your-heavenly-father-will-also-forgive-you_15-but-if-ye-forgive-not-men-their-trespasses-neither-will-your-father-forgive-your-trespasses-16-moreover-when-y

Collecting people – not things. Most of us, including myself, spend years buying things – houses, cars, the latest phones, iPads, laptops, clothes, shoes, jewelry, etc..  WHY?  I’ve truly gotten better the older I get, and the older I get the more I realize people are more important than things.  I can go shopping and come home with nothing.  I do it often because the house is full of too much “stuff” I don’t need and truly I need to purge and purge.  When we lost my Mom a few years back, I learned what happens to all the stuff:

  • You take a lot of it home.
  • You have several garage/estate sales.
  • You give away and give away and give away to friends and neighbors and organizations.
  • You store it for more sales and then you give more away.
  • You throw away and throw away and shred and shred.

I also learned when we lost Mom and Dad and many other loved ones are not the things but the memories of all the times we spent together making memories, and all the little things that I brought home that bring back memories – the pictures and the little teacups and a few dishes, an old radio, and old wall phone – little things that remind me of them.

Collecting People – Not Things.   What are we doing that will last a lifetime because those cars, houses and gadgets won’t?  Or how about that closet of clothes and shoes and purses.  Yes, mine is one of those or should I say my four closets are overflowing. It’s embarrassing.  Cars get old, gadgets crash, and homes have to be remodeled over and over, unless you are buying new ones all the time, and those clothes and shoes go out of style.  At what cost have we or are we harming our families because those things are more important than them?

 

 

Collecting people – not things.  Your husband has his eyes on a ball game, a fishing show or even that awful RFD channel.  Does it drive you crazy or do you take the time to enjoy it with him?  Sometimes I try and usually give up on the fishing and hunting shows, unless I am sitting here blogging, tracing my family tree on ancestry or working on my Bible study and doing my own thing, BUT at least I am sitting here with him and not in another room watching something else.  But people more than things.  Does you spouse have to compete with your cell phone, your computer, or your television?  It’s much more fun snuggling in his/her lap and enjoying a movie together.

Collecting people – not things.   I substitute teach and see so many students and parents placing emphasis on things – tennis shoes, shirts, pants, purses, backpacks, cell phones.  I’ve even listened to kids make fun of another’s  tennis shoes when I am subbing in gym class. It’s sad judging someone by their shoes.  Is that how they are being taught at home, rather than judging one by his/her personality or heart.  Oh how must our Lord cry out “people are more important than things.” You might hear me talking back when that happens in a nice way.  Oh how I wish I could talk to them about Jesus like my teachers were allowed to do.  How different would this world be if we could love like Jesus and share His love!  I just want to cry sometimes because a child is hurting and I want to say, “Jesus loves you and died for you.”   I can’t but our students can.  Oh to share the love of Jesus and not the love of things breaks my heart most days when I’m at school.

Collecting people – not things.   I see people when we are out eating with our family or just me and my hubby.   I mean really people, why can’t we put them down for thirty minutes.  Aren’t people more important than things?  Isn’t that smile from a grandchild or a comment from your family more important than that text dinging on your phone?  Can we just feast on real life with our friends and family.  I am thankful our family does ignore their phones.  My husband even commented on Christmas Day about all of my family and how they were involved with the games we were playing and not sitting there texting but enjoying family.

How can we collect people – not things?

  • Have lunch/coffee with friends, neighbors or family.  Turn your phones off.
  • Get in the floor and play with your kids or grandkids – blocks, puzzles, cars, etc..
  • Go for a walk or run with someone.  Hold hands with your hubby.
  • Go for a drive and visit while you do.
  • Visit a neighbor.  Take them some cookies or cake.  I especially like to do this for a recent widower and his daughter.  Find a widow or widower in your neighborhood or church.
  • Read a book to your kids or grandkids.
  • Call someone and really talk instead of texting.
  • Snuggle up and watch a movie with your loved one.
  • Have a date night.
  • Cook a romantic dinner and sit down and really talk.
  • Call your husband/wife at work and ask how their day is going.
  • Meet your loved ones at the door and welcome your spouse with a kiss as they walk in the door.
  • Pray together as a family.  Sit down and ask for requests and pray.
  • Visit a nursing home and take some small jars of flowers and visit some folks who don’t have family.  Ask the nursing home.  They will share with you who you can visit.
  • Take a meal to someone who is shut-in.
  • Offer to keep some children for a couple can have a date-night.  Many young adults in your neighborhood or church don’t have family around to help.

Let’s stop basing our happiness on things and base them on others.

“Love people, not things; use things, not people.”  Spencer W. Kimball

Joining Suzanne Eller and my #LiveFreeThursday friends today and the prompt is Collecting People Not Things.

 

 

25 Responses to “Collecting People Not Things”

  1. krisbrenes April 14, 2016 at 4:47 pm #

    Thank you for sharing! I’m your neighbor at “Living Free Thursday” and I appreciate all of the great suggestions you gave us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:31 pm #

      Thank you. I’m just seeing this comment in my approval basket. So glad I saw it today because I got to read your blog today and loved your “ME” post.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura April 15, 2016 at 3:03 am #

    Thank you for sharing this inspirational and wise post on Thoughts of Home on Thursday.
    We are so glad you are here.
    The list of things to do to connect with people is a keeper!

    Laura
    White Spray Paint
    TOHOT

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 19, 2016 at 1:34 am #

      Thanks Laura. Enjoy visiting Thoughts of Home.

      Like

  3. lynnjsimpson April 15, 2016 at 8:30 am #

    These are all wonderful ideas to connect with others. I like the idea of bringing a meal to one who is shut in. I am going to find a way to do that! Also, what resonated with me in your post is how you could not tell that hurting child that Jesus loves them. It is a sign of our times.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lisa notes... April 15, 2016 at 11:19 am #

    You offer us great wisdom here, Debbie. Having just spent the past few weeks memorizing Matthew 6:19-21, this is beautiful timing as well. Collecting people above things is indeed laying up treasures in heaven. Only our relationships will last, not any of our things. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. jackykuhn April 15, 2016 at 11:22 am #

    These are beautiful words of wisdom and encouragement to care for the only thing Jesus really cared throughout his walking on earth: people…. this is our only mission as Christians, the one that most often we neglect: to care for each other! Great to connect with you Debbie!

    You might also enjoy this post from JoyfulSavings: Stay safe and add Emergency Contact to your cellphone!

    Like

  6. Stacey April 15, 2016 at 6:21 pm #

    This is just so good. I wish everyone would read this and take it to heart. I’m certainly guilty of buying more than we need. You are right – it’s just fodder after awhile. Thank you for sharing this with Thoughts of Home on Thursday. 🙂

    Like

  7. Kathleen Aherne (@CoolTweed) April 15, 2016 at 7:22 pm #

    A lovely reminder of where the real value is. Since our last house moving and big clean out, I have a rule to think twice or even thrice before I buy anything, do I really need it, will I use it etc. And yes, let’s put people first, your list is very helpful in practical ways to do this.
    Kathleen
    Blogger’s Pit Stop

    Like

  8. mmstreeter1 April 16, 2016 at 6:59 am #

    I love this! I couldn’t agree more! Things, we can’t take them with us and you are right, when a loved one passes on, we sometimes are in awe of the stuff they accumulate and what to do with it. Live simple is my motto!

    Like

  9. Jemma April 16, 2016 at 8:59 am #

    Beautifully written and a wonderful reminder for us all.
    Thank you for sharing this thoughtful post with us at TOHOT.
    Jemma

    Like

  10. TheMomCafe.com April 16, 2016 at 9:42 pm #

    Oh this is SUCH an important message to share! I love that… collecting people, not things. Just love.

    Thank you for this reminder. It’s SO easy to get sucked in to the superficiality and materialistic force of this world. It’s the PEOPLE in our lives that matter most. That is my priority. That is GOD’S priority too.

    Like

  11. Janet Vinyard April 16, 2016 at 10:29 pm #

    Great post! I appreciate the list of suggestions on how to collect people. Well done! Thanks! Blessings, Janet

    Like

  12. Beth Willis Miller April 18, 2016 at 2:50 pm #

    What a great post! Always people before things…the Jesus way…you have a great list of ideas too, for grandparents as well as parents! Many blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:26 pm #

      Thank you Beth and yes I am a grandparent so use these a whole lot.

      Like

  13. Carolina Cisneros April 20, 2016 at 3:05 pm #

    Great post on unplugging and infusing ourselves into building and cultivating relationships with people. God was in community and asked us to do the same. This post is needed in this technology-driven world. It’s easy to think we’re connected when we’re having a conversation over FB, but in reality it’s the listening and the body language and the pauses that make life so rich. Thank you so much for linking up at Open Mic Monday for the soul at Cisneros Cafe. Have a blessed week, friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:23 pm #

      Thank you Carolina.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Jamie @ Medium Sized Family April 21, 2016 at 11:27 am #

    Such a simple mantra, but it means so much! A great reminder. Thanks for sharing at the Friday Funday Blog Hop #FFBH!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

      Thank you for the Friday Sunday Blog Hop.

      Like

  15. kchripczuk April 22, 2016 at 10:46 am #

    So true, but (sometimes) so difficult to remember. Moving and shopping yard sales helps – seeing stuff I wanted years ago for sale now in someone’s yard for a small bit of what it cost to buy new, really changes how you see the value of things!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

      That is so true. Mom had so many collectibles and they sold for nothing.

      Like

  16. Gena Hood April 22, 2016 at 6:48 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this at The Loft! What a great reminder! I was bemused because, as I read, I was sitting here in the bedroom with my husband, just to be in the same room with him. Good stuff! Because God is so very, very good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:25 pm #

      Thank you Gena. Love our husbands. Good stuff.

      Like

  17. Cascia Talbert April 22, 2016 at 6:51 pm #

    Great point! I think we all need to learn how to let go of the things in our lives and hold on to the people in our lives! Thanks for linking up for Wordless Wednesday. Have a terrific weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:25 pm #

      Thank you Cascia. Have a great week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

