Gallery

Easy Ways To Memorize Scripture

15 Apr

I laid in bed tonight and could not go to sleep thinking about all sorts of things like I wonder what the word for tomorrow will be on Five-Minute Friday.  I should have been laying there quoting scripture.

Well I am up and the word is easy.  I keep hoping I will come up with an easy way to sleep on those nights like this.  For awhile I could lay there and pray and that worked.  I found myself falling asleep praying.  I tried that tonight praying for a dear friend I heard from today whose husband has cancer.  Her name is Linda and his is Rick.

Write them on the tablet of your heart.png

As I pondered on something to write about I thought why am I not quoting scripture at night when I want to sleep.  I am trying that next time.  In the meantime, I’ll share easy ways I memorize scripture:

  • I say it over and over and over.

IMG_0812

  • I type up a pretty card and put it in my kitchen window over my sink so I am seeing it throughout the day.

 

  • I usually print out three and I put another in my guest bathroom which is the one closest to our den and kitchen so I used it mostly.  I also tuck one in my purse to carry with me to appointments or school.

The one below I print out from our Bible studies at Proverbs 31.Org.  If you are doing a Bible study on-line, just print them out on photo paper.

DSC03247

  • I write them on a ceramic tablet in my dining room.

IMG_0808

  • After  memorizing keep them I keep them in a photo album or the small spiral note cards.
  • I type out part of the verse leaving blanks.  Sometimes I type a few words and add to it each day.
  • Type it or write it over and over and over.
  • Verse mapping.  Here is a post I did on how I verse map.
  • Say it out loud.

Here are a couple of things I have not used, but some of mine friends say they have:

  • Use an app:  https://scripturetyper.com
  • Keep it posted on your dashboard.
  • Use music with scripture songs for children.
  • Make a recording and take it with you in the car.

DO YOU MEMORIZE SCRIPTURE?  I would love for you to share in the comments how you do it.

NOW, it’s 12:15 and I think I’ll go to bed and quote some scripture and see how it goes.

GOODNIGHT!

Canva photo – Proverbs 7:3

Picmonkey photo – Hebrews 4:16

This post was featured on Counting My Blessings on 4/22/16.

Featured on Sew Crafty Angel on 4/26/16.

Featured on Wake Up Wednesday on 4/26/16

 

 

80 Responses to “Easy Ways To Memorize Scripture”

  1. Katha von Dessien April 15, 2016 at 2:00 am #

    Great advice! I have memorized a lot of scripture as a child, our parents made us…These days I mull things over when they appeal to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 15, 2016 at 2:10 am #

      Uh oh. I think for me I’m so thirsty or the word not having it so much as a child. I read so many verses that I missed so, so many times.

      Like

  2. Lizzy Ainsworth April 15, 2016 at 2:16 am #

    these sound like some great ideas! I have a few verses laminated in my toilet, including a Joy Printable that I made researching all the verses in the Bible that reference Joy and what the original Greek and Hebrew word root means.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking April 15, 2016 at 2:28 am #

      Lizzy that sounds like a cool idea – scriptures in your toilet. I have never heard of that and you know my favorite word is joy and guess it always will be.

      Like

  3. Alexis @ Chemistry Cachet April 15, 2016 at 8:41 am #

    Great tips! My mom teaches yoga at her church and the nursing home. She makes little scripture note cards to give out each week for everyone to have a memory verse. They love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 9:56 pm #

      I bet they doc Alexis. I need to print some out and take them to the nursing home. We have a sweet lady who used to go to our church we go to visit. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  4. lynnjsimpson April 15, 2016 at 8:42 am #

    Those cards and stands are so pretty! My first couple of years as a Christian, I did make more of an effort to memorize scriptures. I do have scripture verses on my walls that are decals but they have kind of faded in the background lately. Thanks for this inspiring post to get back to soaking in the words again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks Lynn. I love having verses to come to mind in the hard times.

      Like

  5. Winona Rogers April 15, 2016 at 9:02 am #

    It is so important to memorize scripture but I feel like I have fallen short in past years. These ideas are very thoughtful. I love the ceramic tablet where you can change out the scripture as often as you would like.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 4:23 pm #

      Thanks Wiona. i love that ceramic plate. I have two of them now. So easy to wash off and change each week.

      Like

  6. Michele Morin April 15, 2016 at 10:40 am #

    Thanks for this practical post. I’m very big on 3×5 cards, but they’re not pretty like yours. Have you ever heard of the Harrow family? They produce a lot of Scripture songs – some entire chapters set to music. If I can sing it, I can learn it!
    Thanks for your emphasis on the discipline of Scripture memory!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 4:25 pm #

      Michele I had not hear of the Harrow family. I’ll have to check them out.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Ana (@ANAWINSblog) April 15, 2016 at 3:33 pm #

    Getting the verses I want to memorize or meditate on index cards and putting them up around my house definitely helps them to soak in. Great tips!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:00 pm #

      I love index cards too Ana and love taking them in my purse, in my car.

      Like

  8. Carly April 15, 2016 at 5:01 pm #

    I like the idea of having cards around the house. I use an app called Remember Me and also try to run through verses in spare moments like when I’m waiting for a bus or before I go to sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:04 pm #

      Carly I have never used an app for memorizing, but know it would be good. I do keep one on my phone during our Bible studies. They send us beautiful ones to download.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. suntreeriver April 15, 2016 at 6:39 pm #

    such wonderful ideas and lovely designs! I’m an artist/designer, and need to start creating many more of my own scripture illustrations. MIchele’s suggestion about songs helping with scripture memory is right on, too. We’re FMF neighbors today; I’m in spot #18 and here: http://www.desertspiritsfire.com/2016/04/five-minute-friday-easy.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 4:28 pm #

      Yes scripture in songs is on target.

      Like

  10. Lydia Borengasser April 16, 2016 at 10:28 am #

    My favorite is to use Scripture songs. There are many being written and recorded nowadays! Go to my blog, journeyoftheword.com, and click “songs” under the category “select a route” in the right-hand sidebar, and you’ll find many that I highly recommend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 4:33 pm #

      Thank you. I didn’t see the song category on your blog today, but it’s probably been revised. I missed some of the comments on this post until today.

      Like

      • Lydia Borengasser July 26, 2016 at 4:35 pm #

        Here’s the link: https://journeyoftheword.com/category/songs/. Some of the posts include more resources than just songs, but you can still find them this way. I hope to create a separate page on my blog for recommended resources such as the Scripture songs. Hopefully this will provide easier access.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. gerhardamandanel April 16, 2016 at 3:44 pm #

    This is such a good idea and also a ‘reminder’ to talk to the Lord wherever we are. I can imagine every time you see your note in your home, you talk to Him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 4:34 pm #

      Yes it is a reminder to talk to the Lord.

      Like

  12. Janet Vinyard April 16, 2016 at 10:24 pm #

    Lots of great ideas to memorize Scripture! I’m so glad to have an app on my phone so I can look up a verse whenever I want. Thanks for your suggestions! Blessings, Janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 4:35 pm #

      Thank you Janet. I don’t have a scripture app, but I do have a daily devotional app on my phone.

      Like

  13. Barbie April 17, 2016 at 11:13 am #

    Great ideas for memorizing scripture. It’s so important to hide His Word in our hearts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:07 pm #

      Thanks Barbie.

      Like

  14. Debbie Kitterman April 18, 2016 at 11:49 am #

    thank you so much for your tips on memorizing Scripture. I sometimes will write on my bathroom mirror with a white board pen. When I was younger, I did the 3×5 note cards in a spiral book and did one a week… now, it isn’t one a week, but I do try. 🙂 I appreciate your encouragement and showing what you do, it gives me more ideas. Thanks for linking up at #GiveMeGrace where we are neighbors today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 4:38 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Debbie. Enjoy your blog. I have had friends do the bathroom mirror, but haven’t tried it. Some say they write on their microwave doors too.

      Like

  15. Long Ladies April 18, 2016 at 12:18 pm #

    Great tips! I can personally attest to the Scripture songs working well. We’ve done it over and over and I remember those passages set to music better than any others.
    ~Haley

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 4:40 pm #

      That’s interesting. May have to try it now Haley.

      Like

  16. Donna Reidland April 18, 2016 at 1:06 pm #

    Great ideas here. I find that writing them out always helps and using 3 x 5 cards like you would flash cards (verse on one side, reference on the other) is a system that has worked for me in the past. Visiting today from Raising Samuels. Thanks for sharing an important subject!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:08 pm #

      Thank you Donna. I also use cards and take them in the car and my purse.

      Like

  17. Beth Willis Miller April 18, 2016 at 2:57 pm #

    Love, love, love all your ideas for memorizing scripture…have tried some of them…one that I like is Truth Cards, get 3 x 5 cards with a spiral at the top holding them together. Handwrite and print scripture on 2 x 4 mailing labels to fit the card. Carry the Truth Cards with you in your purse or car. Flip through while waiting somewhere (long airplane flights, etc.) and repeat them, repetition builds a pathway in the brain to retrieve it more quickly the next time. Many blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

      Thanks Beth. That is a better way to do the 3 x 5s than I have used. Love the idea. I also love all your names of God posts. Staying up with them.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. MaryHill April 18, 2016 at 6:30 pm #

    This post has challenged me to begin memorizing more Scripture. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

      YEA Mary.

      Like

  19. saleslady371 April 18, 2016 at 9:01 pm #

    When my children were little, I used scripture cards in several rooms of the house to help us memorize verses. Yours are very pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:12 pm #

      Thank you! I enjoy memorizing and making them pretty and accessible.

      Like

  20. Hazel Moon April 19, 2016 at 3:19 am #

    As children at Sunday school, we learned the books of the Bible with a song. Singing the scriptures is good too. I think your idea of small cards or a ceramic tablet, with the verse written on them is a wonderful way to memorize. When I was young, my mother would have us memorize scripture as we read the Bible each morning. She chose a verse and we would say it for a week. Some of those verses I did learn, but the meaning did not arrive until I was much older. Thank you for sharing your lovely post with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:14 pm #

      Wow Hazel. Your mom sounds wonderful and I believe she has passed down her faithfulness to you. To have a Mom that did study with you in the morning is a treasure.

      Like

  21. Lux G. April 19, 2016 at 3:29 am #

    Although I don’t memorize scriptures verbatim, I take their meanings or lessons at heart. I think that’s most important.

    Great and helpful tips.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

      Yes Lux we have to take them to heart and know their meaning. Memorizing them and also verse mapping them teaches me so much about what they do mean.

      Like

  22. KreativK April 19, 2016 at 5:50 am #

    That’s a great way of memorizing, I memorize my favourite quotes and I love your idea of having them printed out and around the house to see them! Thank you so much for sharing at Sweet Inspiration #2!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

      Thank you. Love Sweet Inspiration.

      Like

  23. Lorraine Reep April 19, 2016 at 8:20 am #

    Great post, Debbie! I commit Scripture to memory and I know it’s there, but recall is a challenge. I have never had a great memory, but I’m trusting that the Word still does its work in my heart, even when I struggle to remember the exact words or “address”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

      Lorraine sometimes recalling can be hard for me too, but I agree it works on our hearts as we are memorizing.

      Like

  24. Lisa notes... April 19, 2016 at 10:36 am #

    Your cards are so pretty! I often say my memory verses in the middle of the night too, when all is quiet and I have nothing but time and attention. I don’t always get them *right* during those hours. ha. But I pray that I get the gist, which is the main thing anyway, and the time spent with the Lord is precious. Praying for Rick’s healing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 8:17 pm #

      Thank you Lisa. It takes me a bit to get them right also.

      Like

  25. Kristi Woods April 19, 2016 at 10:58 am #

    Yes! I memorize verses as well. There’s such profit in it. In fact, I have a scripture memory program called #ScriptureBank2016 that posts each Monday on my blog. Also, I’ll be adding your link to my Pinterest Scripture Memorization Board here: https://www.pinterest.com/KristiWoodsPin/scripture-memorization/
    Thanks for sharing! Visiting via #raralinkup.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

      Thank you so much Kristi for adding me to your board. I love the Scripture Bank you use.

      Like

  26. Ellen Eason Chauvin April 19, 2016 at 12:49 pm #

    I was just thinking this morning that I need to start up my scripture memorization again. I use Beth Moore’s plan, a small spiral of notecards that I can stick in my purse and carry. I do so love your pretty cards! What a great idea! Joining you today from Intentional Tuesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:23 pm #

      Ellen I often write mine on an index card if I’m going to the doctor’s office or somewhere I’ll be sitting and carry them in my purse. I’ve been known to have them in the car memorizing at red lights, going thru the bank or a drive thru.

      Like

  27. Isabelle April 19, 2016 at 12:52 pm #

    I TRY to memorize verses. I have great difficulty with my memory so I find it frustrating. I wish it wasn’t so hard. What HAS helped is typing up a little card and placing it in an area I visit frequently, like my kitchen or the bathroom. I like the idea of adding on in my car also. I will try that. What bothers me right now is that I had memorized one piece of scripture, and once I took the card down, I had such a hard time remembering it. I could only remember parts of it. Hopefully with your help and the help of others, my scripture memorization will improve. Thank you for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 8:27 pm #

      Isabelle just keep trying and take it one verse at a time and take your time. Keep pulling it out.

      Liked by 1 person

  28. CrystalStorms.me April 19, 2016 at 3:10 pm #

    Love how pretty you make your memorization cards, Debbie. : ) I print out one chapter of the Scripture I’m memorizing and put it into a page protector to keep it safe. Then I just recite as far as I can remember and refer back to the page for prompts or to add on at the end. I’ve also tried reciting the piece I’m memorizing and listening to the recording. Thanks for sharing, friend. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 8:29 pm #

      Thanks Crystal. Been missing you.

      Liked by 1 person

  29. sandraj2015 April 19, 2016 at 3:29 pm #

    “Write them on the tablet of your heart” Prov 7:3. Wow, wonderful truth shared in your post! Thanks for the great reminders. I’m visiting from Life Giving Link Up. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 8:29 pm #

      Thanks Sandra.

      Like

  30. nikkifrankhamilton April 19, 2016 at 9:13 pm #

    This is an area I really need to work on. I love to be able to quote scripture to myself or my kids. Since my stroke I have a harder time with this, the remembering. Your tips are great and I bet they would help. I love having business card sized verses, I tuck them in my jacket pockets, finding them the next time I wear it is like a gift.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

      Nikki bless your heart. I bet that is hard. What a blessing to find them tucked later in your pocket.

      Like

  31. Candace April 19, 2016 at 9:33 pm #

    These are great tips! I really need work in this area. I didn’t become a Christian until later in life so I missed those early years of memorizing scripture. I love the idea of posting them throughout the house and putting one in your purse as well. I think I’ll start with that tip! Thank you :).

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 8:46 pm #

      Candace I missed out too. I did become a Christian in high school and faithfully went to church, but I was so busy working at church and working full-time raising kids I didn’t memorize. I barely had time to do all I did and I think that is one reason I love memorizing so much now.

      Like

  32. loralovinosburn April 20, 2016 at 10:55 am #

    Great pointers for memorizing! I use to post them around the house and even on the bathroom mirror until my husband told me he was having a hard time seeing in the mirror! It was a small mirror; but I moved them to the closet door! We will never go wrong memorizing the word! #ByTheLampLight

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:01 pm #

      Thank you and a closet door is a new one for me but sounds like a very good place.

      Like

  33. Lauren Gaskill | Making Life Sweet April 20, 2016 at 1:49 pm #

    I LOVE these tips! So practical and so easy to implement into your own home. 🙂 Happy to be your neighbor over at #CoffeeForYourHeart today. Blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks Lauren. I loved visiting your blog this evening. Behind on the comments on this post for some reason.

      Like

  34. Raising Samuels April 23, 2016 at 8:57 pm #

    Prayers for your friend and her family. These are great way to memorize scripture. My husband uses bright index cards and writes it out and then memorizes one to two scripture a week. Thanks for sharing with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:09 pm #

      Thank you for your prayers and for stopping by to comment. Thank you for Social Butterfly. Love, love visiting.

      Like

  35. revolutionarywives April 25, 2016 at 8:54 am #

    These are great ideas! I really want to be more intentional with memorizing scripture. Thank you for these practical ways to hide the word in my heart. Thanks also for linking up at #lifeislovely

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 13, 2017 at 7:21 pm #

      Thank you so much for commenting. Enjoyed your blog.

      Like

  36. Forever Joyful April 25, 2016 at 11:04 am #

    The Scripture I have memorized gives me the greatest peace when I can’t sleep at night. Focusing on reviewing Scriptures brings my focus to God, and I often end up falling asleep. Of course, meditating on Scriptures is important by day, too. Thanks for sharing at the #LMMLinkup.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:09 pm #

      Thank you and thank you for the link-up each week.

      Like

  37. April J Harris (@apriljharris) April 25, 2016 at 11:17 am #

    I love the ways you have integrated memorising Scriptures into your daily life – visual cues work really well for me so seeing things written down in different places really would be so useful. Thank you for sharing this helpful and encouraging post with us at the Hearth and Soul Hop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:10 pm #

      Thank you April. Love the Hearth and Soul Hop each week.

      Like

  38. Jenny Ripatti-Taylor (@letstalkmommy) April 27, 2016 at 5:26 am #

    Great tip. Thanks for linking up to Share With Me. #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:24 pm #

      Thanks Jenny. Enjoy linking up.

      Like

  39. Carmen I Marriedbyhisgrace June 10, 2016 at 4:23 pm #

    I love how you handwrite and put the scriptures all over the house. I usually put post it notes on my bathroom mirror to see every morning. I’m going to start putting them on my kitchen window.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 25, 2016 at 10:30 pm #

      Yes Carmen I spend a whole lot more time in the kitchen than I do my bathroom but both places are great.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wake Up Wednesday Linky Party #118 | Epic Mommy Adventures - April 27, 2016

    […] Easy Ways To Memorize ScriptureBlogger Loves The King […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

