Gallery

How BIG is God?

21 Apr

How BIG is God?

As I laid in bed the last two nights and listened to the winds, the thunder and witnessed the lightning here in Texas, I silently praised Him for His bigness and thanked Him that He would keep us safe even when the phone was ringing and telling us sixty mile per hour winds and hail were on the way.

Blog-Psalm 191-3

Our God is so, so big that even the heavens declare His glory and the skies proclaim His work.  Have you taken a moment lately to look up at those skies and see all of His handiwork?  Have you watched a sunrise or sunset?  Have you just taken a moment to sit outside and watch billowy  clouds floating by? I found myself doing that last weekend when we were out-of-town, sitting on a porch swing with our two-year old grandson.  I wanted to go in and grab the camera, but I wanted to sit there more cuddling our grandson as I watched clouds roll by,  and I was specifically looking for a heart in the clouds, and God sent me three.  I have the memory etched in my brain.

Our God is so, so big.   His handiwork is around us all the day long.  Have you stopped to look at it.

It’s Spring.  I love having the windows open this morning.  It’s raining and the one-year old grandson is on the way to spend the day with Nanna.  I love listening to the rain, and I really love mornings like this when I can lay back down on the sofa and nap.  No, I don’t get to do that often, but it is enjoyable once or twice a year.  How about you?

Springtime is also a time I watch all the birds outside.  One is busy building a nest in a new bird house I hung out on the porch this year.  It’s fun watching her darting in and out.  I don’t know what kind of bird she is.  I need to get out that bird book and do some research.  Anyway, the red birds, blue birds, and doves are darting around, and it’s nice listening to their tweeting in the early morning.  Not this morning though.

The flowers are all coming up in the flower beds (weeds too) and I love seeing all of them.  Some of them – the tulips – my Dad planted, and it brings back precious memories of him and Mom coming out after we moved here and working on the flower beds with us.  There are also Shasta daisies which will spring forth later and they remind me of one of Mom’s favorite flowers.

Soon there will be butterflies everywhere and well them and the dragonflies just speak to me about Mom and her love for them.

Our God is so, so big.  He performed miracles then, and He still does today.

He is the one you praise; he is your God, who performed for you those great and awesome wonders you saw with your own eyes.  Deuteronomy 10:21 (NIV)

Do you believe in miracles?  I do and have watched God over and over again perform miracles.  I will share a couple of them with you.

  • I had two awesome children when the doctors gave me no hope after many miscarriages.
  •  I have watched family members walk through infertility and then give birth.
  •  I watched thirty-four years ago as our daughter was born weighing a little over two pounds with undeveloped lungs, and a time when medicines were not available to help like they are today surive when there was little hope given to us by the neonatologist, but people all over the U.S. were praying for us because of word of mouth from churches and before Facebook and the internet.

The biggest miracle I have watched was our grandson, Colt.  He was born with a horrible skin disease that has no cure.  His feet had no skin on them at birth and he had blisters on some parts of his body.  This disease is a lifetime of pain, and we had no hope of him crawling or walking and expected him to be wrapped in bandages for his life with lots of pain.  Colt, as far as we have been able to discern from cases all over the world, is doing marvelous.

I prayed that God had given Colt a gene to heal him.  Yes, I prayed BIG and God answered BIG.  When they had genetic testing, the people told the kids that Colt not only has the EB gene, but he has an unknown gene.  I know that’s his miracle gene – it’s his God gene.  Yes they are all from God, but God gave him one that even the genetics have never seen.

Our God is so BIG because He loves us.

He gave His only son for us.  He died for us.  John 3:16 (NIV) “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

“The LORD your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.” Zeph 3:17 (NIV)

“No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.   For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 8:37-39 (NIV)

“And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in them.” 1 John 4:16 (NIV)

“The LORD appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.”  Jeremiah 31:3 (NIV)

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.  By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”  John 13:34-35 (NIV)

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8 (NIV)

“God loves each of us, as if there were only one of us.”  Augustine

 

I’m joining Suzanne Eller today for #LiveFreeThursday and the prompt is How Big is God.

Bible verses from BibleHub.  If you’ve never search Bible Hub check it out.

This post was featured on Inspire Me Monday on 5-2-16

 

69 Responses to “How BIG is God?”

  1. GiGiMandy April 21, 2016 at 12:34 pm #

    I love sitting and listening to the birds. Now that we are retired, we’ve been able to just sit and enjoy his creation. Just bought some chairs for our porch last week! How awesome is God.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:32 pm #

      Love sitting on the porch GiGi and watching those birds.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. arthurwears April 21, 2016 at 3:33 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your beliefs and experiences on #brilliantblogposts

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beth Willis Miller April 21, 2016 at 4:19 pm #

    Beautiful post! So many miracles…miracles all around us…the very fact that we are breathing and walking and talking are all miracles…so good to trust our Savior and Lord Jesus Christ–from Whom ALL Blessings flow…many blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:36 pm #

      Yes Beth the very face we even wake up each morning is a miracle and how we don’t appreciate breathing until someone has to carry an oxygen machine around.

      Like

  4. kim April 21, 2016 at 4:25 pm #

    I feel God’s bigness and my smallness when standing on the shore looking out over the vast sea.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:36 pm #

      Yes for sure Kim.

      Like

  5. Stacey April 21, 2016 at 5:48 pm #

    I try to look at the sky and the birds every day. I open the blinds in the mornings and say thank you God. I’m so glad you wrote this post for us. Pinning. 🙂

    Thank you for joining Thoughts of Home on Thursday. You are always welcome.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 26, 2016 at 9:37 pm #

      Thank you Stacey. Love Thoughts of Home.

      Like

  6. Cindy April 21, 2016 at 8:37 pm #

    I live in a most beautiful place nestled in he mountains of WV and I too, am constantly reminded of God’s greatness as I take in his handiwork. Cindy

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 3:06 pm #

      Cindy I have a good friend that lives in West Virginia. I see her pictures all the time and they are beautiful.

      Like

  7. lauraingallsgunn April 21, 2016 at 9:57 pm #

    Yes indeed. I adore that nothing is too small for our big God. What an absolute delight this post is!!! Thank you so very much for joining the gathering at Thoughts of Home on Thursday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 3:07 pm #

      Thank you Laura and nothing is too small. I watched His miracles in my own life. Love Thoughts of Home on Thursday.

      Like

  8. Shannon @ Of The Hearth April 21, 2016 at 10:43 pm #

    Great reminder! I’m in the Houston area, so this week has been pretty crazy as far as the weather is concerned. We need the reminder that God is big!
    What a wonderful testimony about your grandson!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 3:12 pm #

      Shannon I’m south of Dallas. I’m just seeing your post and now we are all hot. Yes I have so many testimonies. Loved visiting your blog today.

      Like

  9. Lisa April 22, 2016 at 1:14 am #

    This is such an encouraging post! I know there is someone out there who has renewed hope because of your obedience in sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 3:15 pm #

      Thank you Lisa. I pray someone does. That’s why I write. Just visited you and love your blog.

      Like

  10. Regina L. L. Wells April 22, 2016 at 10:41 am #

    Yes, I absolutely believe in miracles, and your story is another example of precisely why. The beginning of this post makes me think of the opening of How Great Thou Art, one of my favorite songs. Thank you for sharing His splendor! #BrilliantBlogPosts

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks Regina. Just found this comment. Been missing you on your blog. Hope you are doing ok.

      Like

  11. Lisa notes... April 22, 2016 at 11:51 am #

    Wow…I love hearing the miracle of Colt! God is definitely bigger than we can imagine. I still believe in miracles too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:16 pm #

      Thanks Lisa. He is still doing well – minor hiccups but praise God.

      Like

  12. Blue Faced Momma (@BlueFacedMomma) April 22, 2016 at 4:24 pm #

    Miracles happen every single day. The fact that we are still breathing is one of them. Sometimes I just wake up and start praying and thanking God for another day full of life and adventure. He is so big and so wonderful! Thank you for sharing this wonderful post. #FFBH

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 7, 2017 at 8:29 pm #

      Hi just found this comment in my spam folder. Thank you for visiting. I’ll head and see your blog this evening.

      Like

  13. Kathleen Aherne (@CoolTweed) April 23, 2016 at 6:55 am #

    Thanks for this hugely encouraging post of how big our God is. May you keep writing and motivating in these ways.
    Kathleen
    Blogger’s Pit Stop

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:17 pm #

      Thank you Kathleen.

      Like

  14. Michele Morin April 24, 2016 at 9:10 pm #

    The glory of God on display right here! Thanks for this encouraging post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:22 pm #

      Thank you sweet friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Horace@pleasingtothePotter.com April 25, 2016 at 1:42 am #

    Very nice to meet you and what a great last name Debbie;) I am thankful to witness God’s glory every chance I get outside. Which varies here in Texas! This beautiful Sunday morning as I sat outside early waiting for my sister and family to pick me up for church; I thanked God for revealing Himself to me and allowing me to know Him as my Savior. What an amazing God we serve! Thank you for sharing such beautiful thoughts.( What a wonderful verse from Jeremiah!) Have a wonderful week and may God bless you and yours!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 13, 2017 at 7:17 pm #

      LOL Horace. Please forgive me just seeing this comment. Thank you for stopping by. I found several of yours in my moderation folder.

      Like

  16. blog8628 April 25, 2016 at 7:10 am #

    Thanks for sharing your inside story with us! Beautiful and encouraging! Blessings, friend. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

      Blessings right back sweet friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Kelly S April 25, 2016 at 10:48 am #

    It is such an important spiritual discipline to get quiet and remember! Thank you for the reminder. Visiting from #LifeGivingLinkup!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

      Yes it is Kelly. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Blessings.

      Like

  18. BlessingCounterDeb April 25, 2016 at 2:46 pm #

    Debbie, What a beautiful reminder to stop and pay attention. To notice. To praise. He is great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:23 pm #

      Yes He is Deb. Thank you.

      Like

  19. Naomi Trevino April 25, 2016 at 3:03 pm #

    Beautiful! I live in Houston.What part of Texas do you live in? It was bad weather but God does take care of us. I am glad you are ok as well. He has done so many miracles for you and your family. I am standing for miracles myself that I cannot see right now. What a beautiful testimony to God’s mercy and love towards you. It encourages me to stand for miracles.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 13, 2017 at 7:23 pm #

      Naomi I am just seeing this comment. Not sure how I missed it. I am south of Dallas. Thank you for visiting. I’m headed to visit you.

      Like

  20. mbethany April 25, 2016 at 3:28 pm #

    His God gene, I love it! Praise the Lord for the miracles He has shown you. He is SO BIG. And so awesome. Thanks for sharing!! #LLMLinkup

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

      Thank you Bethany.

      Like

  21. marilyn1998 April 25, 2016 at 3:49 pm #

    Thank you so much for linking at #overthemoon! I look forward to seeing what you share every week. Please come back for #WonderfulWednesday or #ThursdayFavoriteThings. Don’t forget to comment your link #’s so I can be sure to visit and get a chance to be featured! Pinned and shared.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:25 pm #

      Thanks Marilyn. I need to remember to add my link #. I haven’t visited Wonderful Wednesday or Thursday Favorite Things yet.

      Like

  22. Jennifer | The Deliberate Mom April 25, 2016 at 5:19 pm #

    YES! Our God is so big!

    I love all the points you’ve highlighted and especially the scriptures you’ve shared to demonstrate His greatness!

    Thanks for sharing (and for linking up to the #SHINEbloghop).

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:26 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Jennifer.

      Like

  23. Ruth Campos April 25, 2016 at 5:23 pm #

    I love those verses in Zeph 3:17 and Romans 8! Thanks for the reminder that our God is BIG, and He does BIG things! 🙂
    One of my stories of looking up at the sky is blogged at: https://plantedbylivingwater.wordpress.com/2015/08/15/meteor-showers-and-perseverant-focus/

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:27 pm #

      Thanks Ruth. I am heading over to read your meteor shower post now.

      Liked by 1 person

  24. Jennifer Clarke April 25, 2016 at 9:18 pm #

    Thank you for these words that encourage us to consider the BIGness of our God. A dear friend of mine loves to declare that “God is the biggest.” And it’s true! Thanks for linking with us at Grace & Truth!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King June 13, 2017 at 7:11 pm #

      Thank you Jennifer. So sorry I missed this post. Reviewing old blogs today and saw this. Appreciate you commenting. Heading over to visit you this evening.

      Like

  25. betsydecruz April 26, 2016 at 7:29 am #

    Yes, God is BIG! We must be on a similar wave length, because I just wrote a post about God being big enough for anything we need! I love your reflections here, and am praising God for his intervention in little Colt’s life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:36 pm #

      Thank you Betsy. Colt will be 3 in a few days. We are celebrating this Sunday.

      Like

  26. Mary Geisen April 26, 2016 at 8:47 am #

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful testimony to our big, big God. The story of your won children and the miracle of your grandson really touched me. Looking for the amazing in our life will always point us to Jesus. I’m praying that I do that each day as a prayer of thanksgiving to God.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:37 pm #

      Thank you Mary.

      Like

  27. Wise Hearted April 26, 2016 at 6:17 pm #

    This is such an encouraging post. I love looking for those small but important miracles in what ever trial I am going through. My mother just recently died, april 9th and God so preform miracles after miracles in the family through her dying process. Some would say, well, I don’t call that a miracle, she died. She sure did but her soul went straight to be with the Lord, salvation and what it brings is the biggest miracle there is. Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:35 pm #

      Thank you and you are correct about your Mom. Like mine she is no longer suffering and she is healed.

      Like

  28. thetightwadteacher April 26, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

    Isn’t God awesome?!?!?! This was a great post and I enjoyed reading about your miracles! Thanks for linking up with Blogger’s Spotlight and please come back again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:33 pm #

      Thank you so much!

      Like

  29. Hazel Moon April 26, 2016 at 9:32 pm #

    Our God is bigger than our problems. Thank you for this beautiful reminder that he can create something that is missing and bring about health where there seems no hope. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story- – http://letmetelluastory.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:32 pm #

      Oh yes He is Hazel and He does. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  30. Carolina Cisneros April 27, 2016 at 8:49 am #

    I prayed about those heavy storms here in San Antonio as well. They hit hard and last night we thought we’d see another round, but thank God we didn’t. God is mighty and I love the miracles in your life which you stated here. I love how the Almighty works in and around us whether we can see it right away or not. Thank you for linking up to Open Mic Monday for the soul at Cisneros Cafe. Have a blessed week, friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:32 pm #

      Thank you sweet Carolina.

      Liked by 1 person

  31. Raising Samuels April 28, 2016 at 2:55 pm #

    Amen! God is so good. Both my boys are miracle babies. After two rough pregnancies, I almost lost them both at delivery. God does huge miracles. So glad to hear you have seen these miracles in your family as well. Blessings from #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking June 10, 2016 at 12:04 pm #

      His there and thank you for visiting. Appreciate your comments and love the party. Hope to be back but not sure I can blog. Injured my hand.

      Like

  32. JES the Pilgrim April 29, 2016 at 2:59 pm #

    Wonderful inspiration!!! Thank you for sharing your miracles with us this week on the Art of Home-Making Mondays at Strangers & Pilgrims on Earth! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:31 pm #

      Thanks JES

      Like

  33. createwithjoy April 30, 2016 at 3:47 pm #

    Thank you Debbie for sharing your wonderful devotional with us at Inspire Me Monday at Create With Joy! I’m so happy to feature you at our upcoming party this week – # 226 – to kick off the month of May.

    Have a glorious week! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking May 1, 2016 at 7:22 am #

      Thank you so much!!!!

      Like

  34. Cascia Talbert May 2, 2016 at 5:27 pm #

    That is beautiful and so true! Our God is Big and Awesome. Thanks for linking up. Sorry I am so late commenting this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:31 pm #

      Hey Cascia I am later than you commenting. Sometimes I forget to go back and I missed several on this post. Thank you.

      Like

  35. Jenny @ Let's Talk Mommy May 4, 2016 at 5:05 am #

    What a lovely way too look at the world. Thanks for linking up to Share With Me. #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:30 pm #

      Thank you so much Jenny.

      Like

Leave a Reply

