Gallery

Pass It On

29 Apr

 

Pass It On-2.png

HOW ARE YOU INFLUENCING YOUR KIDS, GRANDCHILDREN, AND GREAT GRANDCHILDREN?

I’m joining Kate Motaung at #FiveMinuteFriday today.  The prompt is pass and we are to write five minutes.  GO!  Let’s pass it on.

How are you influencing future generations?  Do you drag your kids to church?  Some parents say they don’t want to force their kids to church, yet I see them dragging them or forcing them to go to school, gymnastics, piano lessons, sports, dance and on and on.  We took our kids to church.  We allowed them to do all the other stuff, but allowed them to drop out of dance, piano, and sports once they completed their year commitment.

We are the blueprint for generations now and to come of what is important in life.  Do your children and grandchildren see a real Christ in you?  If we aren’t teaching them, the world certainly is going to teach them not about Christ, but about things I don’t even want to mention.

IF CHRIST IS NOT IMPORTANT IN YOUR LIFE HE WON’T BE IMPORTANT IN THEIR LIVES.

I watch our two-year old and one-year old grandsons copying our lives.  I don’t remember seeing how much we influence those little ones when my kids were that age.  Both of the grandsons are saying thank you and please and the older one bless you when you sneeze.  He even sneezed in bed the other morning, and I heard him say “bless you”.   Those are simple things and beautiful, but if we are cursing, talking negative, whining, drinking and doing worldly things they surely pick up on it so early.  They are watching and learning from our blueprint.  What we are teaching them today, we will surely reap in their teenage years and their adult lives.

Deuteronomy 6:6-9 (KJV)

And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart:

And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.

And thou shalt bind them for a sign upon thine hand, and they shall be as frontlets between thine eyes.

And thou shalt write them upon the posts of thy house, and on thy gates.

I find myself walking with the grandsons and telling them that God created the horses and cows as we walk by them.  If we see a butterfly I tell them about the wonders of His creation and how God made them and the flowers and trees, the moon, and the stars.  I sit outside with one a few weeks back when we were out-of-town watching the billowy clouds.  Many times I will say I love you so much and Jesus does too.

We are to impress on them when we walk, wherever we go as we are riding or walking and sitting.

If Christ is not important in our lives, He probably will not be in theirs.

We are to write His commandments on our door frames.  I have things all over the house reminding not only them but me of whose I am.  I have a fruit of the spirit huge plaque on the fireplace, verses I’m memorizing in my bathrooms and kitchen, and a beautiful wreath on our second fireplace that says, ”

Tie them as symbols on your hands.  Wear some jewelry reflecting Him.

Have you ever shared your testimony with your kids?  Our pastor reminded us that it is the greatest thing that ever happened to us and yet we don’t share it.  He says when someone dies and he asks how they were saved, the family usually does not know.  So for me it was in the fifth grade when God spoke to me and I walked down the aisle, but yet I was afraid to follow through with baptism until I was in the tenth grade.  I was at a revival at our church I attended all the time and finally walked down the aisle and asked to be baptized.  Best thing ever – my good friend Mary was there with me.

I will never, ever forget our two kids and their salvation stories.  Our son was at school and heard a story and he walked down the aisle that very week at a revival.  Our daughter was at home and one day came to me.  Our son came in the house.  I don’t remember if I called to him or he just came and asked what was going on and I told him she had just asked Jesus in her heart.  He threw off his cap and said, “Let’s pray.”  Precious stories of how God touched their tender little hearts.

Share you salvation story, share the miracles you’ve seen, share the wonders of God, share the Bible stories about Daniel, Moses, and Baby Jesus, share how He has answered prayers.

One generation influences the next.  Will you be that generation?  How will you influence your family?

Psalm 78:1-8 (KJV)

Give ear, O my people, to my law: incline your ears to the words of my mouth.

I will open my mouth in a parable: I will utter dark sayings of old:

Which we have heard and known, and our fathers have told us.

We will not hide them from their children, shewing to the generation to come the praises of the Lord, and his strength, and his wonderful works that he hath done.

For he established a testimony in Jacob, and appointed a law in Israel, which he commanded our fathers, that they should make them known to their children:

That the generation to come might know them, even the children which should be born; who should arise and declare them to their children:

That they might set their hope in God, and not forget the works of God, but keep his commandments:

And might not be as their fathers, a stubborn and rebellious generation; a generation that set not their heart aright, and whose spirit was not stedfast with God.

 

35 Responses to “Pass It On”

  1. theameribritmom April 29, 2016 at 4:17 pm #

    Such a great post! We all needed reminders of our great responsibility in raising up the next generations. Visiting from FMF 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:47 pm #

      THANK YOU!

      Like

  2. Hopeannfaith April 29, 2016 at 4:30 pm #

    Wonderful post. A great reminder that they are lead by our example. God bless.
    Visiting from FMF.
    https://hopeannfaith3.wordpress.com/2016/04/29/widows-fog-this-too-shall-pass/
    https://hopeannfaith.com/2016/04/29/when-you-pass-through-the-waters/

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 5:03 pm #

      Thank you so much. Enjoyed visiting your blog today. Blessings.

      Like

  3. Carey April 29, 2016 at 7:31 pm #

    I think about this a LOT. What I live is the biggest influence over my children’s life, not what I tell them to live. Thank you for the reminder and encouragement to keep seeking Christ!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking May 1, 2016 at 7:30 am #

      It’s so true Carey. They watch everything we do.

      Like

  4. Christy April 30, 2016 at 9:31 am #

    Such an important part of our Christian walks, sharing Jesus with our children. So often I think Christians are quick to “get people saved” but then forget that they need to be discipled too. Being a Christian is so much more than saying a prayer or getting dunked, sprinkled or poured. It’s a lifestyle of imperfect love to our Heavenly Father…Thank you for your words!
    In the #30 and #32 spots this week at FMF

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking May 1, 2016 at 7:28 am #

      Keep writing – enjoyed the baby story.

      Like

  5. Lillian April 30, 2016 at 10:14 am #

    A wonderful reminder to show by example our love to the Lord!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking May 1, 2016 at 7:22 am #

      Thanks Lillian.

      Like

  6. debwilson2 April 30, 2016 at 10:18 pm #

    This week we studied Proverbs 31 where a mother instructs her son on pitfalls and the type of wife to look for. This is an example of what you are talking about. If we want to raise noble sons and daughters then we must be intentional in teaching them the ways of the Lord.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking May 1, 2016 at 7:21 am #

      That’s so true Deb. Both our kids looked for Christian mates. Both my husband and I prayed for that from their birth.

      Like

  7. Gold May 2, 2016 at 6:55 am #

    Such a great post. Thanks for reminding me to be intentional in influencing the next generation. If we don’t teach them the world will.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 5:07 pm #

      You are right the world will and does even sometimes even when we do teach them.

      Like

  8. marilyn1998 May 2, 2016 at 10:13 pm #

    Thank you so much for linking at #overthemoon! I look forward to seeing what you share every week. Please come back for #WonderfulWednesday or #ThursdayFavoriteThings. Don’t forget to comment your link #’s so I can be sure to visit and you get a chance to be featured! Pinned and shared.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 5:16 pm #

      Thanks Marilyn.

      Like

  9. Michele Morin May 3, 2016 at 8:05 am #

    What a beautiful Deuteronomy 6 approach to discipleship you have described here. Absolutely heart warming to this mum and “gram-in-training.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 5:17 pm #

      We are both grams-in-training. We’ve got 3 more on the way.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Doris S. Swift May 3, 2016 at 8:26 am #

    Such an important message! As a grandma myself, well “Gammy” actually, I know how amazing teachable moments can be. Thanks for the reminder to slow down and always shine the light of Jesus, because little eyes are watching. Big eyes, too 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 5:20 pm #

      You are so right Doris. Big eyes – my adult children are watching me too. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  11. gracefulcoffee May 4, 2016 at 11:59 am #

    Such a lovely post! I love that verse in Psalms, such a great reminder to follow The Lord’s teachings 🙂

    Blessings,
    Edye | http://gracefulcoffee.wordpress.com

    Like

  12. pamecrement May 4, 2016 at 1:08 pm #

    This is so excellent and true! Our lives are textbooks they are reading when we never notice and it is true we see this more often with our grandchildren than we did with our children. Maybe we were much busier just raising them then. One thing I do know got picked up was my children recall seeing me sitting somewhere reading in the Word each morning and now as adults, it is a habit woven into them with our my telling them to do it. I had not thought about losing the legacy of sharing a testimony with family. Thanks for that! So blessed to be visiting you at the Linkup at Beauty in His Grip!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:11 pm #

      Thank you so much and I’m just finding your comment. So sorry and I’ll be visiting your blog in a bit. Love that your children have followed that tradition.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Cascia Talbert May 4, 2016 at 3:16 pm #

    It is so important to pass our faith on to the next generation. Thanks for sharing this and linking up for Wordless Wednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:14 pm #

      Thanks Cascia.

      Like

  14. Lisa Appelo May 5, 2016 at 3:05 am #

    That scripture has been so foundational to me in my parenting and choices. Such important work to pass on our faith and teach diligently about God. Happy to be visiting today from Three Word Wednesday. 🙂

    Like

  15. blog8628 May 5, 2016 at 7:25 am #

    So true! We need to keep reminders for ourselves so we will be immersed in His love and grace. You never know when you’ll need something tangible to prick your heart or mind! xo, liz

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:15 pm #

      Girl I keep finding comments of yours I missed. I’m sorry. Love you and thank you for being so supportive. I am trying to catch up on these old posts slowly but there seems to be no time.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. apoconant May 5, 2016 at 9:53 pm #

    Thanks for sharing on Peace, Love, link-up!
    The next party is tomorrow at 6, so stop on by and share anything new you might be working on!

    : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:15 pm #

      Thank you. Enjoy linking up.

      Like

  17. Gayl Wright May 6, 2016 at 10:44 pm #

    It’s so important to share our faith with our children and grandchildren, not just in words but in our lives. I didn’t hear the story of how my dad became a Christian until I was in my late teens although I knew he was a Christian because of his actions. I’ve been blessed to be able to have some discussions with my kids and some of my grandkids. Thanks for sharing your thoughts at #LMMLinkup.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:16 pm #

      Thanks Gayl. So sweet you got to hear your Dad’s story. Enjoy linking up.

      Like

  18. Hazel Moon May 7, 2016 at 9:32 pm #

    Children (and grandchildren) are always watching and listening. It does cause us to be the examples that Jesus expects us to be. What a lovely post and telling your children your personal salvation story is a must. Other meaningful spiritual experiences are good to share with your family. Thank you for sharing here with us at Tell me a Story.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life is Lovely #8 | Grace Love Life - May 10, 2016

    […] Pass It On by Blogger Loves the King […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

