Gallery

Between the Lines with Blogger Loves The King

17 May

Katherine from Catherine’s corner is hosting a blog series called Between The Lines.  I was thrilled when she sent out an invitation to recognize and celebrate bloggers over fifty. Each week she has been hosting different bloggers, and I am honored to be one of them this week.

I retired in 2011 after 43.5 years with the Department of Defense, and shortly after that my life totally changed.  I love retirement, but after being so busy my whole life the slower pace was wonderful.  It gave me time to do things I had only dreamed about like teaching, on-line Bible study, and later blogging.

Retirement

retirement2

Shortly after retirement I joined an on-line Bible study.  It was there that  I started blogging with encouragement from our leader, Melissa Taylor who is part of the Proverbs 31 On-Line Bible Studies.  She had a weekly link up on Thursdays where we shared thoughts about the book we were studying.  Eventually, I got the courage to see what it was all about, and actually taught myself through the WordPress free site.

My first blog was in  December 2013.  We were in the midst of one of those remodeling projects, and well it went on way past when the short time they promised.    I could not decorate for Christmas, I had no time to shop, and we were crawling in our bedroom window some nights to sleep as new tile floors went in.  I had a whole lot to say about In Christ Alone at Christmas.  It is one I will never forget.  We had to hire someone else at the last-minute to get the carpet in the day before our family was arriving.

Who knew I would still be doing this.  How life has changed since my retirement, finding on-line Bible studies, and learning all about Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, and Twitter.  None of that slowed me down because retiring after 43 plus years I was well into the computer world, and I love how blogging and on-line studies have kept me up-to-date in the technology world.  For such a private, shy woman, I have come out of my closet and share most of life now.  Notice I said most.

My main purpose for blogging has always been to leave a legacy for my family and future generations and right now it’s these two precious boys and our son and daughter.  We are praying earnestly for more grandchildren, but if you’ve read my blog (My Most Memorable Christmas Gift – Trust Fund Baby) you will see how hard it’s been for me and our children to have children.  I firmly believe God’s plan is perfect, and I believe because of our faithfulness He will bless us with more grandchildren.  Our family knows first-hand the miracle of babies.

us

Katherine asked us to share our feelings about being over fifty and being a blogger over fifty so here goes?

I never feel over fifty.  Honestly, most days I still feel like that young bride, and still in love with my precious man of 46 years.  I am sixty five.  That sounds so old to me, and probably to you also.  I retired primarily to spend time with my Mom knowing her days were numbered.  I spent a lot of time with her reading devotions and taking meals to her.  Sometimes I would watch her sleep and work on my Bible studies just to spend more time with her.

I love life and live it to the fullest.  Hey, I was out pushing a mower today around the pool and the pedometer has over 11,000 steps.   In addition to blogging, I started substitute teaching after retirement too, and I am a volunteer team leader for the on-line Bible studies I mentioned, and I keep my two grandsons running after them because they are one and two.   So I am very active.  I love taking them on long walks and so ready for the pretty weather so I can load them up in that double stroller and roll.

I have joined a group of ladies called His Girls Gather and we meet every couple of months to learn new things about blogging, and to just gather and share.  I traveled recently to Baton Rouge, LA to meet up with the girls.  That trip was about and eight-hour drive for me alone, but I had so much fun and learned a lot.  Our group is growing and as you can see we are all ages.

Many of His Girls Gather share our blogs at a site called Women at The Well, and are featured here.

I don’t feel like being over fifty has hindered me in my blogging world because I truly believe the older we get the more experience we have – trials,  joys and there is so much to write about.  You’ll find much on my blog about my trials of miscarriage, infertility, loss of my Mom, a grandson born with a horrible disease you can read about here and here, and how I have grown through all of my studies.  As Titus 2:3-5 says, I want to be that older woman who teaches and encourages younger mothers and wives so that they may come to love Him more.

Join us in the “Between the Lines” series and hear from many other bloggers who are over fifty.

59 Responses to “Between the Lines with Blogger Loves The King”

  1. Michele Morin May 17, 2016 at 8:02 am #

    Hey, this over-fifty pedometer wearing blogger salutes you in all your accomplishments and brave faith! There’s nothing like pushing a mower for driving up that step number at the end of the day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking May 17, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

      That mower does step up that number more than my treadmill and it also gets me out of breath Michele.

      Like

  2. Mary Geisen May 17, 2016 at 8:03 am #

    I love this! Being a woman over fifty myself I can relate to what you wrote today. I have been here before and I love your words but I rejoice with you that being over fifty can be pretty amazing. Thank you for blessing me with your words today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking May 17, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

      Thank you Mary. I can’t believe you are over fifty.

      Like

  3. Kristi Woods May 17, 2016 at 8:13 am #

    Your thoughtfulness of others is evident, Debbie. You’ve ventured into much “new” during these retirement days. Wonderful! It makes me think of Caleb in the Bible. It mentions that he was 85 (much older than you, of course!) and still battling. I love that he continued believing God and walking accordingly during his younger, middle and older years. Oh, to be like Caleb – living wholeheartedly.
    We may have the pleasure of meeting sometime with His Girls Gather. I’ve not gone yet, but hope to sometime in the future. #intentionalTuesday

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

      Hey Kristi thank you. I’m behind it looks like on some of my posts commenting. Are you going to the next His Girls Gather. I haven’t decided but pondering on it.

      Like

  4. lynnjsimpson May 17, 2016 at 9:46 am #

    Such a great testimony on how God took you on a new journey in His perfect timing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

      Thanks Lynn.

      Like

  5. Meg Gemelli May 17, 2016 at 11:44 am #

    What a beautiful story you have! Congratulations on retirement and I’m excited to follow your adventures online:) I’m happy to be visiting for the first time today via #raralinkup. Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:43 pm #

      Thanks Meg. So glad you visited and I know it’s late but I just visited you and read your pineapple story.

      Like

  6. Sandi May 17, 2016 at 3:26 pm #

    Life is a journey and when God is our Leader, we never know where we will end up or what we will be doing. He is filled with surprises and I know it gives Him joy to bless us. I am happy for you that you have found such joy in what you are doing. Sharing with others is a great testimony. Thank you for sharing with us.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:47 pm #

      Thank you for allowing me to share Sandi.

      Like

  7. CrystalStorms.me May 17, 2016 at 3:57 pm #

    Debbie, your life is a testimony of God’s faithfulness. Love seeing how God is making your “retirement years” fruitful. : )

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 17, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

      Thank you Crystal. I am loving retirement and life with Him.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Amy Johnson May 17, 2016 at 8:06 pm #

    Nice to meet you through Between the Lines. I’m following you on Twitter.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 17, 2016 at 9:23 pm #

      Thanks Amy. Nice to meet you too and I just popped over and followed you on twitter.

      Like

  9. Annette Daly May 17, 2016 at 8:11 pm #

    I don’t feel over fifty either. Glad to meet you here at BTL blog series.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 17, 2016 at 9:20 pm #

      Annette you sure don’t look over fifty either. The feeling is mutual. So glad for this opportunity to connect with others.

      Like

  10. mysideof50 May 17, 2016 at 9:30 pm #

    What a beautiful story you have. God has a plan and a purpose for us at every season. Sounds like you have embraced His plans for you!

    Like

  11. Kylie Howell May 18, 2016 at 1:29 pm #

    One thing I hear more than “I feel old” is that women after retirement don’t feel their age. That is SUCH an encouragement for me in my early thirties. I used to think I’d be married with children now, and life couldn’t be any more opposite of this. Reading your blog reminds me that I have SO many adventures ahead of me, and even though society tells us we’re “done” after a certain age, that’s such a lie! 🙂 Enjoy every minute of your retirement and keep doing your thing with your online Bible studies! This world needs the light you bring!

    Like

  12. Nikki G May 18, 2016 at 3:04 pm #

    I am visiting from the Between the Lines series. I am also on week 5, but I am a newbie. After reading all this, I am certainly impressed and I so look forward to retirement. God bless you and keep up the good work.

    Like

  13. Marci @ Stone Cottage Adventures May 18, 2016 at 4:05 pm #

    What a wonderful post! It’s so nice to meet you! -Marci @ Stone Cottage Adventures

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:46 pm #

      Thank you Marci. Nice to meet you and enjoy Stone Cottage.

      Like

  14. chaos2peace May 18, 2016 at 4:40 pm #

    I love the wisdom you bring to the table and and the blogging world. A slower pace sounds nice at this season of my life. Thanks so much for linking to Waiting On…Wednesday!

    Like

  15. sptchmom777 May 18, 2016 at 8:35 pm #

    Nice to find you on “Between the Lines”. Thank for sharing your joy. I look forward to reading more! Our Father is amazing and the different “seasons” in life are a delight!

    Like

  16. Hazel Moon May 18, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful story with us here at Tell me a Story. I too wanted to document my stories, so I began blogging, but kept them in a file. Later I paid to have them printed into 3 books so my children and grandchildren would have a hard copy of my life. I worked with my husband in his business, and when he could no longer work, we moved to a small town. There my daughter encouraged me to go to work, as our savings was dwindling. Eventually at age 62 I got a wonderful job as an Enforcement Officer for Family Services. After working for 10 years I retired when they offered us a golden handshake. Blogging came after retirement and I have been a blogger for 6 years.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:49 pm #

      Wow Hazel love your story, and I have never thought of having these printed and put in books. I may have to do that.

      Like

  17. Laura May 19, 2016 at 10:19 pm #

    This is a beautiful post and you have inspired those of us of an age.
    Your life sounds wonderful.
    I think I need a fitbit.
    Do you like yours?

    Thank you for joining us at Thoughts of Home on Thursday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:50 pm #

      Laura I don’t really like the fitbit. It has to be charged and I’ll get up and it needs charged so I stick with my old pedometer now. Thank you for Thoughts of Home on Thursday.

      Like

  18. Michelle May 19, 2016 at 10:21 pm #

    So glad to get to know you a bit more. Loving Katherine’ series. Always love hearing how bloggers got started.

    Like

  19. Dianne Thornton May 20, 2016 at 8:39 am #

    Hey, Debbie! Blogging over 50 rocks! I enjoyed reading this summary of your life–which sounds beautifully FULL!

    Like

  20. Anne's Attic - design May 20, 2016 at 11:33 pm #

    Thank you for sharing at SYC! Jo

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:49 pm #

      Thanks Jo.

      Like

  21. EssentiallyJess May 20, 2016 at 11:49 pm #

    It’s lovely to get to ‘know’ you Debbie. I’m doing Bible College online at the moment, and am really enjoying it. It’s great the internet means we can do these kind of things.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 26, 2016 at 1:05 am #

      Hey Jess I haven’t heard of Bible College Online. Sounds really neat.

      Like

  22. LaVoice May 21, 2016 at 10:10 am #

    Loved reading your life story. You are in the prime of life. Wait until you are like me, 86.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 21, 2016 at 2:43 pm #

      Wow Lavoie. Thank you for the encouragement.

      Like

  23. redheadmom8 May 21, 2016 at 10:35 am #

    Wow! I found you over on #MakeMySaturdaySweet, and I’m so glad I did. You are such an inspiration!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 21, 2016 at 2:43 pm #

      Thank you so much. I enjoyed your site.

      Liked by 1 person

  24. lauraingallsgunn May 21, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

    You truly are creating a lasting living legacy. We so appreciate you joining the Thoughts of Home on Thursday gathering. May you have a delightfully lovely weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:58 pm #

      Thank you Laura. Enjoy Thoughts Of Home each week.

      Like

  25. Jann Olson May 22, 2016 at 8:41 pm #

    I will be 63 in July. Loved reading your story! We are only as old as we feel. Most of the time I feel younger, but now and then my body begs to differ. lol! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:59 pm #

      HA Jann. Sometimes my body begs differently too. Upsetting at times, but most of the time it does well.

      Like

  26. Lux G. May 23, 2016 at 4:05 am #

    This is a unique link up. It’s fun to read perspective from different groups. New learning!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King September 6, 2016 at 6:43 am #

      Thanks Lux.

      Like

  27. welcomesue May 23, 2016 at 12:03 pm #

    maybe i need start a fb group: bloggers over 60! grreat encouragement – come visit if you get a chance. welcomeheart.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King September 6, 2016 at 6:43 am #

      Ha, ha.

      Like

  28. Robbi May 23, 2016 at 12:57 pm #

    What a wonderful legacy you are weaving for your children! The church needs more women like you who see the importance of mentoring the next generation. Thanks for linking up at Aprons and Pearls! I hope to see you back tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King September 6, 2016 at 6:42 am #

      Thanks Robbi.

      Liked by 1 person

  29. Debbie Kitterman May 23, 2016 at 7:20 pm #

    I have just a few years until I turn 50, but I sure don’t feel like it. It has been so fun to read a bout your journey and your thoughts.. Keep imparting to those who are younger than you – we need it …I am so glad we are neighbors at #GiveMeGrace

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:51 pm #

      Debbie you are young. Thank you for visiting.

      Like

  30. Marie, The Interior Frugalista May 24, 2016 at 1:43 pm #

    Hi Debbie, I’m finally getting caught up on the Between The Lines series and popped over to finally meet you! Looking forward to getting to know you.

    Like

  31. Ligeia May 25, 2016 at 7:12 pm #

    How nice meeting you via the fantastic BTL series. I think you should get double or triple credit on your fitbit for your miles behind the mower!

    Like

  32. Liz Jo May 26, 2016 at 11:49 am #

    You look great for 50! I always believe it’s how old you feel not how old you are.

    Thanks for linking up with Welcome Home Wednesdays! Live every Wednesday at 7AM EST.

    liz @ j for joiner

    Like

  33. apoconant May 26, 2016 at 10:39 pm #

    Thanks for sharing at Peace, Love, Linkup! The next party kicks off tomorrow at 6! Hope to see you there : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 25, 2016 at 8:50 pm #

      I’ll be at the party.

      Like

  34. The Little Tourist (@TLTourist) May 27, 2016 at 9:36 am #

    This is such a wonderful post. Your story is inspiring to me, as a younger woman, who feels the pressure to get everything done- right now. It’s just impossible! To know that your life doesn’t have to end just because you gain a few years is encouraging. This is actually a favorite verse of mine. I crave for more older women to draw close to us who are younger. To share their wisdom and their lives. It’s absolutely priceless. Thanks for sharing at Friday Funday Blog Hop 🙂

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking May 27, 2016 at 5:58 pm #

      Thank you so much for your sweet words. I love drawing closer to younger women – maybe because I love my daughter and DIL so much. Thank you for stopping by. I love the blog hop each week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

