Inspiration, Uncategorized

Jehovah Nissi

Jehovah Nissi2

 

Jehovah Nissi means the Lord is my banner.

Wendy Blight shared in her study I Know His Name so much of the history in the Old Testament about banners and how we are under God’s banner – under the covering and shadow of His wings.  She also shared the first time that term was used after God intervened in the Israelites’ first battle.

We walked  through the story of Abraham and Sarah and how God had promised them a son in spite of their old ages.  In fact, in Genesis 15:1-6 God said to look toward heaven, and count the stars if you are able to number them and so shall your descendants be.  I actually have found myself looking toward heaven and claiming that promise because it has been hard for our family to have children and now grandchildren, but I’m claiming it.  I’m claiming that promise of future generations just like Abraham and Sarah.

We walked with Issac, Rebekah, Esau and Jacob and how Jacob took away Esau’s blessing.  Because of Esau’s threat Jacob had to depart and his father, Issac, prayed a blessing over him that God would bless him and make him fruitful and increase in numbers.  Do you hear that?  Issac prayed a blessing over him?  I’m praying that same blessing over my children and grandchildren that God will make them fruitful and increase in numbers.

We all know the story of Jacob and his wives and how Rachel could not get pregnant and so Rachel but her sister did.  Jealousy overflowed when Leah gave Jacob a son.  Both women competed and Wendy reminded us how we do the very same thing in our lives when we look at someone else’s home, success, wardrobe, career, ministry and ask why we can not have that.  Honestly, I’m long past wanting to compete with other women.  Perhaps years ago I did that.  I am so blessed if God never gives me another thing  because truly I have more than I could ever deserve.  I am so very thankful for all I have.  How about you?  Are you thankful for what you have and all God has blessed you with, or are you resentful or even bitter of what others have?

As we continued to study Jacob there was another promise from God as Jacob says that he is unworthy of all the kindness and faithfulness that God has shown him, a servant.  In Genesis 32:10-12 Jacob tells God that he had only his staff when he crossed the Jordan and he said “I will surely make you prosper and will make your descendants like the sand of the sea, which cannot be counted.”  Again, God has promised future generations and I know He has for me too even on those days I get discouraged and start to question just like Jacob did, but just like God had to change Jacob radically perhaps He has to change me radically also.  God had to teach Jacob humility because he had been wrestling all of his life with his brother, Esau, Laban and God.  Jacob had to acknowledge that the blessing he had stolen had to come from God.

PicMonkey CollageExodus 1715Do you remember the story of Moses standing on top of a mountain during the battle  with Amalek?  When he raised his hands holding the staff to heaven the Israelites prevailed.  When he lowered his staff Amalek and his army prevailed.  Aaron and Hur stood on the hill with Moses and held his hands up when Moses could not.  The Amalekites were defeated and Moses built an altar and called it The Lord Is My Banner.  This should be a reminder to us during the times we are in any type of battle to raise our hands toward Heaven and call upon Jehovah Nissi.  He is our banner.  He is our victory.  His banner over us is LOVE!

PicMonkey CollageMascotEver notice how we see banners at all sorts of places like companies plastering them around the stadium at a professional football or basketball game, high school gyms with mascots, and even our flag as it waves over schools and businesses?

This is one of the banners at one of the schools where I sub.  What a sense of pride as I walk into one of the gyms there.  This banner is over the bleachers with love.  What pride we should all feel about our Lord’s banner over us.

In the Old Testament banners referred to family tribal banners.  Each tribe had its own banner.   He is like a banner over us.  Thank about that the next time you see a banner.  I have been the last few weeks as I go to school and sub and see our banners of wildcats and cougars.

If you enjoyed this post, here are my other posts on the Names of God:

El Roi

Elohim

41 thoughts on “Jehovah Nissi”

    1. Thank you for those words Lynn. It is radical change living under His banner and for so long I didn’t crave the radical change. Can’t get enough of Him today.

      Like

  1. I enjoyed reading your words. God is our banner and is ever faithful. It makes sense why banners always put up somewhere high too.

    I ma reminded of a song I used to sing and the words in it were “His banner over me is love”. Blessings on your week!

    Like

  2. What a wonderful post, Debbie. I so enjoyed reading it. Yes, His banner over us is love and how we need to remember that and believe it. I remember years and years ago, singing that little song, His Banner Over Me is Love, from Song of Solomon 2:4. Good food here. Thanks for sharing.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great reminder. Thank you for the post. I needed to hear this tonight. I am so glad I saw you at #OverTheMoon.

    Like

  4. I love this post, Deborah! I’m familiar with that verse about how God is our banner, but have never read or thought about how that was displayed in these key biblical situations. Beautiful!

    Like

  5. Debbie, what a beautiful word picture Jehovah Nissi paints in my mind. I’ve thought of God being my Banner like the finish line. But I love the protection and covering you point out is also part of Jehovah Nissi. Thank you for sharing, friend. : )

    Like

  6. So many neat thoughts! I like the idea that in the OT, a banner was connected with a family. With Christ’s salvation we are also adopted as God’s children. Having His banner over us means we’re part of God’s family and included in His household. That’s the thought that came to me while reading your post. It encourages me a lot!
    Thanks for writing!
    -Christina

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Christina. I love the thoughts you came up with. Love how God shows us different things and so many different lessons as we re-read verses. Thanks for stopping by. I visited your beautiful site but didn’t see a place to comment. Beautiful pictures.

      Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

