Five Minute Friday, Kate Motaung, Uncategorized

Our Haven Gives Us Rest

When I heard Kate’s prompt for this five minute writing (haven), all I could think about was that old, old song The Haven of Rest, and who can sing it better than the Gaithers.

As I sit here this morning pondering on how I would write about that word, I had to go to the Dictionary to look up haven and it says, “a place of safety or refuge.”  I then went to scripture to see what it said about haven.  There it was right there in Psalm 107.  How many times have I read that verse and absolutely read it so fast I missed this.  Oh Lord thank You for slowing me down each day to dwell in your precious words.  I want to know more about You.

picmonkey-image-37

I am amazed daily as I really study what I have missed my whole life.  I sit here with tears right now thinking of all I have missed.  As we lost two precious friends yesterday morning  (Richie and Deanne) both to cancer I know life is not forever, time is short, and there is so much to learn about Heaven and Jesus.  No more rushing to read thru the Bible in a year.  No more rushing to do my Sunday Bible study lesson.  I want to savor every word and study to know more about Him.

I am so blessed to hear words in songs each day on the radio or as I sit here just letting Youtube play Gaither songs as I type this and I hear the words I have read.  The more I am in the Word, the more I see how precious songs today and then were written with scripture in them.  I’ll be reading a scripture and it is like BAM when I hear a song with those exact words.

As I close, look at that verse with me again. He stilled, He hushed the waves, He grew them calm, He guided them.  That is exactly what He will do for you and me when the waves of life rush in on us, when we are in despair with life we need to anchor our souls in Him – the haven of rest and he will still us, hush us, calm us and guide us through those wild, stormy, angry seas we call life.

Join us today at Kate Motaung in #FMF or #Five-Minute Friday.

16 thoughts on “Our Haven Gives Us Rest”

  1. I’m so sorry for the loss of your friends. Times like that definitely remind us of what is really important. It’s easy to get caught up in rushing through life but what really matters is getting to know Jesus. I love the words you point out from Psalm 107- that he stills us, hushes us, calms us and guides us as we make him our haven.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Carly and we got another call today – so a third one. Thank you for stopping by and yes the things that are important are what matter and it’s Him, family and people.

      Like

  2. It interesting but the first thing that came to my mind also when Kate gave us the word was that same song even though I didn’t use it in my post. I think we even sang it in church when I was growing up. Thanks for visiting my blog earlier. 🙂 Thank you also for sharing that psalm so full of meaning. I’m so sorry to hear that you have lost some friends to cancer. May God grant comfort. Blessings to you!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. So sorry to hear about your friends 😦 Very tragic, and you’re right that this life is very short and nothing is guaranteed, so finding peace in something bigger and finding a haven is so important.

    Like

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss. I’m glad you are taking time out to just soak up God’s word and grow closer to Him.

    Like

  5. It is amazing how a piece of scripture we have read so many times, can effect us differently each time we read it. Thank so much for sharing with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. MERRY CHRISTMAS and BLESSED NEW YEAR!

