Gallery

BE A GIFT TODAY – RANDOM ACTS OF KINDNESS

7 Jun

Be A Gift-4

My birthday is Wednesday, June 8th and I hope you will join me in being a gift to others.  Oh my goodness I have been shopping and planning all day long trying to dream up 66 ways to bless others because I am going to be 66.  My pedometer has 15,000 steps.   I am having a ball dreaming up things to do so I can bless others this year.

Will you join me?  Will you be a gift?  Will you blitz your town with some random acts of kindness?

Give one gift. It can be something as simple as a hug, a smile, or word of encouragement, or a wave to a stranger or something big. Find a stranger and be a friend. Go to a neighbors and share something with them. Allow God to place someone on your heart – your mailman, someone where you shop, a nurse, a neighbor, your child, your spouse, a soldier, a fire man.

Give one gift or even more, and come back here and share. Your stories will be a gift to me on my birthday. If you are on Facebook I have an event page set up if you want to visit there and share with your friends and family.  Let’s change our World.   You can find my Facebook page  here.

My inspiration came from Ann Voskamp when she did this on her birthday and one of my friends Shelly Faust who did this some years back also. I have wanted to do it each year, but have not had the time. Here are the links to Ann’s blog posts. Enjoy reading about her experience, and get some ideas.  There are a whole list of simple things to do, and if you want to get real simple open a door for someone, let them in front of you, take some doughnuts to your office – simple acts of kindness that may bless someone’s heart who so needs it today.

http://www.aholyexperience.com/…/how-to-have-the-best-birt…/

Some of the things Ann shared that blessed my heart:

Be the G.I.F.T. and Give.It.Forward.Today — and you get the gift of forgetting yourself. Say the day was as ridiculous as, oh, your birthday — and you will forget yourself and forget what day it is and you’ll end up throwing your head back and laughing because when you lose yourself is when find yourself and you can’t believe if it’s ever happened so clearly as this G.I.F.T. Blitz.

G.I.F.T. Blitz your town. And you defeat your own dark. You defeat a bit more of the dark of the whole world.

Be the G.I.F.T. and Give.It.Forward.Today — and you get the gift of forgetting yourself.

“Unless our lives are generous — our faith is starving to death.”

“There’s a turn of the calendar page and what are our lives really about and adding up to and where are the leaves and the fruit and the signs of His life unfurling and ripening in us?”

“Jesus says that to get in on the best life — give the best of your life away”

Love you all!! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

HUGS!
Debbie

30 Responses to “BE A GIFT TODAY – RANDOM ACTS OF KINDNESS”

  1. GiGiMandy June 7, 2016 at 11:35 am #

    This is an awesome idea. For years I have given my mother a gift on my birthday. Last year, because of our moving, I had to send the gift early. So I wrapped it and put a note on it. “Don’t Open until October 25th”. Oh that became the talk of the day at their home. Grandkids coming by to see if she had opened it. She would call every other day with some reason why she should go ahead and open it. It was like a month of gifts!

    Incidentally, this tradition has been picked up by one of my sons. His biological mother died when he was 9. And he became my son a year later. Every year on the anniversary of her death, I receive flowers from him with a note. “Thanks for being my mom”

    What goes around, comes around.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking June 7, 2016 at 1:21 pm #

      Wow GiGi I love how God is working through your son. So precious and thoughtful.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sandi June 7, 2016 at 3:04 pm #

    What a lovely idea, Debbie! Happy Birthday and may you continue to be a blessing to others. I always gave my mother a gift on my birthday too and she was always surprised and pleased.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King September 6, 2016 at 7:02 am #

      What a precious idea Sandi. I wish my Mom were still here so I could do that.

      Like

  3. bluecottonmemory June 7, 2016 at 3:10 pm #

    Happy Happy Birthday! Wishing you a year of blessing, joy and sweet surprises! What a wonderful idea you’ve shared – I’m going to be thinking of that when mine rolls around. I especially liked this quote: “Unless our lives are generous — our faith is starving to death.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 9, 2016 at 5:16 pm #

      Thank you so much! Love your blog.

      Like

  4. sarahgirl3 June 8, 2016 at 3:59 pm #

    Happy birthday! I love this idea!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 9, 2016 at 5:19 pm #

      Thank you so much. I enjoyed visiting you today.

      Like

  5. Lisa notes... June 8, 2016 at 9:22 pm #

    Happy, happy birthday! I did this the year before my 50th birthday. Such a beautiful gift you’ll be giving 66 times, Debbie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 9, 2016 at 5:19 pm #

      Thanks Lisa.

      Like

    • Blogger Loves The King October 9, 2016 at 5:23 pm #

      Thank you so much Lisa.

      Like

  6. lynnjsimpson June 9, 2016 at 11:17 am #

    Happy Birthday, Debbie! I have followed Ann but had not heard of this idea of GIFT. And to dream up 66 ways is creative indeed! I’ll be thinking of doing this now for my next birthday. Have a fun-filled giving day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking June 22, 2016 at 3:29 pm #

      Lynn I had a wonderful birthday. Haven’t had a chance to post the wonderful blessings as I cut 2 fingers the night after, but thankfully the stitches came out last night.

      Like

  7. nicaudp June 10, 2016 at 11:04 am #

    Happy Birthday, Debbie! What a wonderful idea!! Giving a GIFT on your birthday; what a blessing! You have encouraged me. Linking up with you at Dance with Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 9, 2016 at 5:29 pm #

      Thank you so much! Enjoyed visiting you this evening.

      Like

  8. Regine Karpel June 10, 2016 at 1:44 pm #

    Love.
    http://www.rsrue.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 9, 2016 at 5:34 pm #

      Thanks Regine. Visited you this evening.

      Like

  9. Debbie Kitterman June 10, 2016 at 6:00 pm #

    First of all Happy Birthday – and 2nd – what a way to have an awesome birthday – you get to give and receive blessings (little gifts) all day long as you encourage others. I am your neighbor today at #CoffeeShopConversations

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 14, 2016 at 11:55 am #

      Hey Debbie good to see you and run into you often. Heading over to visit you. I cut two fingers last week so it has been difficult to be on line.

      Like

  10. MmrliRuddy June 13, 2016 at 9:14 pm #

    Love this. Especially in light of recent events in Orlando. The world really can use more expressions of love and generosity. What a great sentiment. Hope you had a wonderful birthday and thank you for gifting us all with this post.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 14, 2016 at 11:53 am #

      Thank you so much. I am praying about a way to continue this. Not sure how. I know I’ll do a follow up listing all the neat things people did on my Facebook event page, but I am wanting to carry it further, but just don’t know how to do that yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      • MmrliRuddy June 14, 2016 at 4:12 pm #

        Well, be sure to blog about it would love to see how everything turns out and what lives you are touching. It’s a wonderful experiment!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. April J Harris (@apriljharris) June 15, 2016 at 12:13 pm #

    This is a beautiful, inspiring post! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful way to bless others with us at the Hearth and Soul Hop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 12:46 am #

      Thanks April.

      Like

  12. Amy June 18, 2016 at 7:42 am #

    What a wonderful idea for a birthday… to gift others. You are a beautiful soul. 🙂
    Thanks so much for sharing at the Monday Mish Mash!!
    *Hugs*

    Like

  13. Raising Samuels June 18, 2016 at 5:35 pm #

    Happy belated birthday! I hope you had a wonderful day. I love the acts of kindness and blessing others idea. Thanks for sharing with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:20 am #

      Thanks so much!

      Like

  14. Forever Joyful June 19, 2016 at 1:48 pm #

    What a wonderful challenge and happy belated birthday! I’m excited about some of the service projects our church is involved with. We hosted a community breakfast this morning before the service. I am so glad you shared this with our readers at the #LMMLinkup.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking June 22, 2016 at 3:19 pm #

      Thank you. I love service projects at church. We always have many happening at ours. I especially love the community ones. What a blessing sharing breakfast with yours, Hope it was a huge success.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. June 2016 Goals and May Recap | Blogger Loves The King - June 16, 2016

    […] that many, but maybe my friends and family can help.  (Did it and it was great.)  (Here is my planned post.  I haven’t been able to write about all the wonderful things that […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

