Gallery

June 2016 Goals and May Recap

16 Jun

 

june 2016 goals

WOW it is June 15th.   Trust me that old saying that the older we get, the faster time goes is true.  Not only did June get here, but the rain stopped (finally) and it is hot.  

I am reading over my May goals and feel pretty good considering how busy the month was with things not on my goal list, and finishing up school with lots of subbing while teachers were using up their last vacation days.  I am excited what I did get done, and not focusing on the things I did not.  Setting goals is working, and when I miss one or two I just move them to the next month.

So here is how I fared in May with my goals, and I my planned June goals.  I feel retired again with school out and the phone not ringing to sub although it has rang at least three or four times a day with solicitors – you know the IRS, a free emergency phone system or hearing aids for the older generation like me.

I had this post almost ready to post on June 8th (my birthday), but on June 9th as I was headed to bed I broke a glass in my right hand and cut two fingers deeply and spent hours in the ER getting 15 stitches.  Needles to say I am not sure I will get those June goals accomplished because I can barely type right now, but I am leaving them in hopes I can get some of them finished.

With much excitement and anticipation for the month of June here goes:

FAITH GOALS

IMG_5690

May:

Five-Minute daily devotion on Acts – First-Five App – Stay caught up and not get behind.  (Completed)

Complete 5 Habits of a Girl That Doesn’t Quit.  (Completed)

June:

See that coffee cup.  I need to PRAY MORE and WORRY LESS.  I have a whole lot on my heart this month, and I know I’ll be calling out Lord to God and on my knees this month.  I already have.

Five-Minute Daily Devotion on Acts – First-Five App – Stay caught up and not get behind. Finish Acts and begin Numbers on June 6th.  Oops it is June 6th today.  (It’s June 15th and I can’t write so I am already behind on Numbers and Acts had a couple of days to finish.)

Begin Bible study at church on June 8 (Happy Birthday to me).  It’s called The Best Yes by Lysa TerKeurst.  I’ve done it before as a volunteer team leader for Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies, and I can not wait to do it with my church family. (I attended on June 8th but again I am behind because I can’t write in my workbook, and we were out-of-town today so I missed the video.)

Begin the Bible Study The Husband Project by Kathy Lipp with Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies on June 20.

FAMILY GOALS  

May:

Walks in the neighborhood with both the boys, and yes continue snuggling on the sofa with my husband.  Total success and we also had a Dairy Queen night with my mother-in-law, and a trip to South Texas and a trip to the Animal Safari with my son, daughter-in-law and grandson.

June:

Walks in the neighborhood with both the boys, and yes continue snuggling on the sofa with my husband.  

Mini-trip with my daughter, son-in-law and grandson.

Fishing Tournament with our son, daughter-in-law and grandson.

Family Reunion with my husband’s family.  Can’t wait.

HEALTH GOALS

May:

Wear pedometer (7,000 steps a day), Exercise 3-4 days a week, eat healthier, walk the boys at least twice and plan one week of meals.  Lose 2 pounds.  This one was a success also.  So proud of myself because most days I walked more that 7,000 steps and many of them were up to 12,000 steps.  I am eating healthier and guess what I lost those 2 pounds.  Now if I can keep them off.  

June:

Wear pedometer (7,000 steps a day), Exercise 3-4 days a week, eat healthier, walk the boys at least twice and plan one week of meals.  Lose 2 pounds.   (Already feeling lost on this one.  Not much I can do right now.)

FRIEND GOALS

Telephones

May:

Have lunch/coffee with a friend.  I am sad to say I didn’t meet a friend for lunch or coffee in May.  I just could not work it in my schedule, but I did talk on the phone to one for a very long time while driving to my blogging weekend six hours away.  

June:

Be The Blessing – OK I am going out on a limb here because it is June 6th and my birthday is in two days.  This year I am 66.  It seems impossible.  I wish I was 30 and knowing all I do now, but we don’t get do overs.  Anyway two days from now if I can get it all organized I want to be a blessing and give 66 things.  I was up until 1:00 this morning making a list of 66 things and I have not been able to come up with that many, but maybe my friends and family can help.  (Did it and it was great.)  (Here is my planned post.  I haven’t been able to write about all the wonderful things that happened.)

Would you join me on my blog post for my birthday and share how you have performed a random act of kindness.  Here is my post on that.

HOME GOALS

Flower Bed

May:

Clean the front flower beds and mulch them.  Trim azaleas.  TOTAL FAILURE but we did get one flower bed cleaned.  The rain was just too much and we could not get out when we were home to do them, and if we could we had to mow between the storms.

June:

Clean the front flower beds, mulch them and trim all fifteen azaleas.

Clean out winter clothes.  Bring summer clothes downstairs.

Clean out make-up drawer.

(I am not sure any of the house goals will happen.)

 

              BLOGGING GOALS

Blogging Goals

 Continue to pray about where my emphasis should be.  So many questions on my heart right now as to how I should proceed.  (Still no firm answers)

May:

Lesson 2 – Blogging Course.   Review and clean-up my first 15 blogs.  Failure

Linky Page – Complete cleaning it up. I worked on it, but it’s not finished.  I’m hoping to finish it up the second week in June.

Attend Blogging Gathering with friends in Louisiana.  I did get to attend the gathering.  It was a six-hour trip by myself driving both ways, but I had a whole lot of time to talk and I called a lady I used to work with, and we talked for 45 minutes.  Helped on that lonesome road when there was no traffic and nothing to see.

June:

Lesson 2 – Blogging Course.  Review and clean-up my first 15 blogs.

Linky Page – Complete cleaning it up.

Names of God – Finish my blog posts on the names of God from Wendy Blight’s study of I Know His Name.

If you enjoyed this post, you may enjoy this one from March and this one from April, and here is May.

A couple of the pictures for blogging goals and the recap are courtesy of A Prettier Web and complimentary when you sign up.

 

55 Responses to “June 2016 Goals and May Recap”

  1. Lisa notes... June 16, 2016 at 8:09 am #

    So sorry to hear about your fingers and time in the ER the day after your birthday. 😦 Praying for quick healing. I particularly love your family goals of walking the neighborhood and cuddling with your hubby. I need to add those to my list too. Thanks for sharing your goals and progress with us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 12:46 am #

      Thanks Lisa.

      Like

  2. Horace@pleasingtothePotter.com June 16, 2016 at 8:30 am #

    Hello Debbie so nice to meet you here today via Thought Provoking Thursday! I am sorry to hear about your injury to your hand. I hope it is healing okay. Congrats in celebrating 47 years of marriage this year! My parents celebrated 50 earlier this year. God is so good. I love How you have these goals outlined for each month It looks like you are progressing quite well and I wish you continued success. I hope you have a wonderful weekend and may God continue to richly bless you and yours in all your endeavors!.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 17, 2016 at 7:34 am #

      Thank you Horace. I read your blog and so sorry about your dad. I hope he was able to know about their anniversary. Thank you for visiting.

      Like

  3. mysideof50 June 16, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

    I can tell you are from somewhere in Texas bc you talked about all the rain and the boring drive to La! 🙂 I live North of Houston and summer has set in. Sounds like you’ve set goals for yourself in all the important areas of life. Glad you are enjoying your Bible studies!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 17, 2016 at 7:27 am #

      Ha! I am south of Dallas. Have good friends north of Houston. Thanks for stopping by. I tried to visit you but the link was blank.

      Like

  4. lynnjsimpson June 16, 2016 at 7:54 pm #

    Great accomplishments and focus! Sorry to hear about your hand. May it heal in it’s perfect timing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 12:47 am #

      Thank you Lynn.

      Like

  5. Christa June 17, 2016 at 9:50 am #

    Debbie, we were so glad to have you with us at the blogging gathering! You are such an inspiration and I can really see the improvements you have made to your blog over the last few months. Love you, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking June 22, 2016 at 3:21 pm #

      Thanks Christa. Loved being there and wish we lived closer. Hugs.

      Like

  6. Julie S. June 17, 2016 at 10:34 am #

    Great job with all the walking and steps you’ve been doing! I’ve been slacking there. Thanks for linking up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking June 22, 2016 at 3:22 pm #

      Thank you Julie for stopping by and thanks for your awesome link-ups.

      Like

  7. Lux G. June 18, 2016 at 1:06 am #

    I hope you get to achieve your present goals. 🙂
    Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:27 am #

      Thanks Lux G. They are going well.

      Like

  8. sunSPARKLEshine June 18, 2016 at 2:04 pm #

    Hi Debbie, it’s so fun to visit you and get an update on your goals. First of all, kudos for being so diligent in making AND tracking your goals. That alone is amazing to me and from the looks of it, you’re doing quite well. I love that you celebrate the wins without being discouraged about the things that didn’t get done.

    I hope that your hand heals quickly and that you will continue to shine a bright light here on the web.

    Blessings and hugs!
    Marva | sunSPARKLEshine

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:26 am #

      I’m doing well even thought all those things don’t get crossed. He’s in control when I don’t.

      Like

  9. Kathleen Aherne (@CoolTweed) June 18, 2016 at 7:23 pm #

    So interesting to read other peoples goals and it encourages us to do the same. All the best going forward.
    Kathleen
    Bloggers Pit Stop

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:19 am #

      Thanks Kathleen. It’s time to write out my August ones already. Feel like I’m running behind.

      Like

  10. blog8628 June 20, 2016 at 8:48 am #

    Whew… You are to productive! WOW!! I can’t even keep up! You go, girl! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking June 22, 2016 at 3:15 pm #

      HA! Girl you stay way ahead of me in getting beautiful blogs written.

      Liked by 1 person

      • blog8628 June 29, 2016 at 12:40 am #

        I don’t know about that!! XO

        Liked by 1 person

  11. thehomesteadinghippy June 20, 2016 at 4:47 pm #

    Ouch! I hope you heal fast! Sorry about your not finishing all your goals, but it’s great that you are keeping on! Thanks for adding this to Let’s Get Real!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:14 am #

      Those fingers certainly slowed me down, but they are healed now except for some of the feeling.

      Like

  12. Michele Morin June 20, 2016 at 5:19 pm #

    I always enjoy recap posts like this. So inspiring, cuz, girl, you really did a lot!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:17 am #

      Thanks Michele. I’m trying hard to get a lot done, but feel like it’s been hard this summer with cut fingers, sickness and several family deaths.

      Like

  13. Kristi Woods June 21, 2016 at 8:37 am #

    Ouch! I do hope your fingers and hand are healing well. Sometimes unexpected daily detours offer God opportunity. I hope beauty arises in the midst of the ER’s unexpected. #raralinkup

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 12:50 am #

      Thank you Kristi.

      Like

  14. Mary Geisen June 21, 2016 at 8:45 am #

    You certainly have been through a lot with the visit to the ER. However, when I read everything you set as goals and then accomplished, you should be giddy with happiness. You did a wonderful job. Thank you for sharing about your health journey. I am on one too and I love knowing that I am not alone in this journey. Blessings as you heal and get back to doing all the things you have planned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 12:52 am #

      Mary I missed a whole lot of comments with those cut fingers but they healed. Thank you!

      Like

  15. Debbie Prater June 21, 2016 at 9:53 am #

    Sounds like you have a busy summer ahead. I know I’m pretty busy too. The flower gardens are keeping me busy. Can’t wait till the tomatos are ready. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 12:57 am #

      Love fresh tomatoes Debbie. Our neighbor has a garden and brings them up during the summer.

      Like

  16. Sandi June 21, 2016 at 5:37 pm #

    You are an inspiration, Debbie. Sorry about your poor fingers. I did that below my index finger on my right hand years ago and I remember well how hard it was to do things because I am right handed. Take care and thank you for sharing your repost with us. Happy Summer!

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking June 22, 2016 at 3:10 pm #

      Thank you Sandi and so are you. I’m doing a little. Stitches are out bit the middle finger is not doing well right now.

      Like

  17. MmrliRuddy June 21, 2016 at 7:09 pm #

    I really like how you break up your goals. I did that once at the beginning of the year but have not really revisited them since. I also like that you have a friend goal. I have not seem people do this before but I think that it is a really important overlooked area. It should be a goal to devote proper effort into maintaining our friendships. You really got me looking at my goals in a different way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 1:01 am #

      Thanks so much.

      Like

  18. Kim Cunningham June 21, 2016 at 11:10 pm #

    Looks like you have accomplished much. Sorry to hear about your fingers, and I hope they heal well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking June 22, 2016 at 3:09 pm #

      Thanks Kim. Hoping to accomplish much this month. Stitches came out last night so don’t have a lot of time.

      Like

  19. Katie Jenkins June 22, 2016 at 6:12 am #

    These are such fantastic goals. I love that they’re a challenge, yet still attainable. This post has motivated me to come up with a list of goals to accomplish for the month of July! Thank you so much for sharing this. I truly enjoyed your post! #smallvictories

    Like

  20. Carmen I Marriedbyhisgrace June 22, 2016 at 6:09 pm #

    Love how you put your faith, family, and personal goals on your blog. Its keep accountability.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 1:02 am #

      Thanks Carmen.

      Like

  21. Tanya @ Mom's Small Victories June 22, 2016 at 8:50 pm #

    I’ve been so bad about blogging my goals. I love that yours includes family, faith, daily walks and snuggling are so important! Thanks for sharing with Small Victories Sunday Linkup last week. Pinning to our linkup board and hope you joined us again this weekend.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 22, 2016 at 10:34 pm #

      Thanks Tanya. Yes I love the Small Victories Link-up.

      Like

  22. Over Heaven's Hill June 23, 2016 at 12:53 am #

    I like the idea of setting goals.Id be worried I wouldn’t manage any of them but I think it’s a good idea. Thanks for giving me something to thing about #brilliantblogposts

    Like

  23. mummyfever June 23, 2016 at 9:41 am #

    This is very impressive and organised – maybe I should try this? Hope the hand gets better soon. Thanks for linking to #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 1:05 am #

      Thank you. The hand took a while to heal with all those stitches and I missed so many comment responses.

      Like

  24. Hazel Moon June 23, 2016 at 6:03 pm #

    I applaud you for being a goal setter, and not beating yourself over the head if you need to push the goals ahead. I did sort out long sleeved shirts and blouses and brought out the short sleeved ones for summer. My husband is our gardener, and our vegetables are doing well. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 1:06 am #

      Thank you Hazel. I’m not beating myself up when I miss goals, but rather thankful that God placed something better in my path.

      Like

  25. Honest Mum June 24, 2016 at 3:50 pm #

    Fab goals here, I’ve started a bullet journal and it’s helped me focus so much x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 1:07 am #

      A bullet journal sounds interesting.

      Like

  26. Amy June 24, 2016 at 8:49 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear about your fingers!! I hope you are healing well!
    Congrats on the goals you did reach, and “You Can Do It” for the ones you set for yourself this month. Thank you so much for sharing to the Monday Mish Mash!
    *Hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 1:08 am #

      Amy thanks so much for the link-ups.

      Like

  27. Raising Samuels June 26, 2016 at 2:23 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your fingers. Hope you are feeling better. It sounds like you have many healthy and fun plans for June. Thanks for sharing your plans with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you join the linky party again this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 1:08 am #

      Thank you. Hand got well, and I got behind and missed so many comments. I’m trying to catch up.

      Like

  28. April J Harris (@apriljharris) June 27, 2016 at 9:02 am #

    I really like that mug! What a great reminder. I’m really sorry to hear about your fingers too – that can be such a painful thing as we use our hands so much. It’s lovely of you to share your goals like this, it’s a real encouragement. And congratulations on your fitness and weight loss! Thank you for sharing with us at the Hearth and Soul Hop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 11, 2016 at 1:09 am #

      Thank you April and thanks for the link-up each week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

