Gallery

Lose

17 Jun

stitches

This past week I have suffered the loss of my hand.  I have had to learn what it is like to lose the use of two fingers because of a nasty cut and sixteen stitches.  Ouch, ouch, ouch.

I waited so long for summer to get here.  I was excited it was my first week out of school and freedom to work in the yard, take long walks, exercise, and really clean house.  Last Thursday night (a week ago) we were heading to bed.  I picked up my glass beside me to put in the dishwasher and start it.  I walked into the kitchen and picked up my tea glass to empty and fill up with water.  I don’t know what happened but perhaps one was falling and I grabbed it and perhaps hit it on the granite.  It happened so fast and I was bleeding so bad I have no clue.

We spent 3 hours in the ER.  The worst part was the four shots they gave me to deaden the fingers and boy did it deaden for a full twenty-four hours.

Right now I feel like I am losing control – losing control of my Bible studies and writing in my workbooks, blogging, commenting on other blogs, cleaning up old emails, yard work and house work and all those drawers and closets that need cleaning out so I can donate, and that pool is calling now that the days are over 100 degrees.

Next week the stitches will come out.  I’m looking forward to losing the stitches, but not what it may feel like while they pull all sixteen out, nor the tenderness for the next few weeks, but this too shall pass.

Today I am joining Kate Motaung and my five-minute Friday friends.  We are blogging about the word lose this week.

 

 

10 Responses to “Lose”

  1. Susan Chamberlain Shipe June 17, 2016 at 9:08 am #

    Debbie, this is awful BUT, you know the drill….God can even use THIS! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:40 am #

      It’s so true Susan that He can and He did.

      Like

  2. Cheryl June 17, 2016 at 12:06 pm #

    God is giving you time to rest in Him sweet sister…praying for you…take some time for yourself and just breathe in that fresh Texas air…((((hugs!)))) Luv you bunches Debbie! Phil. 4:13 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:36 am #

      Love you right back sweet sister, and I know that was the only way He could slow me down.

      Like

  3. Loved by the King of kings June 17, 2016 at 12:26 pm #

    When one member of the body suffers, the whole body suffers. You are living proof of what Scripture says, a walking object lesson.
    Sorry you’re having to go through this, though. Get better soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:32 am #

      Thank you. It’s healed. Finally trying to catch up on my past posts today.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Mama Muse Me June 17, 2016 at 10:36 pm #

    Sorry to hear that’s how your summer is starting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:31 am #

      It wasn’t fun, but the stitches came out and it’s looking better.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lisa notes... June 21, 2016 at 10:09 am #

    I pray that your hand is healing more and more with each day! And that you’re gaining back some of the things you lost. And discovering new things to gain during this time of loss. Praying with you, Debbie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:07 am #

      Thanks Lisa. It sure was nice getting the stitches out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

