Places to Pray

26 Jun

RehoiceRevised

My husband and I saw the movie last year, The War Room.  I came home wanting a prayer closet.  Actually I have gone to my closet to pray, but it seems I spend a lot of time on my knees in front of my sofa or in my office.

I can be found praying many places and anytime.  We should be in a prayer mode all day.  Honestly, some days I am not.

Here are some places I like to pray.  So how about you?  Where do you pray?  I would love to hear your thoughts so I can add them to this list.

  1. In the shower
  2. While shopping
  3. While driving or sitting in the car waiting
  4. In Bed – When God awakens me, when I can not sleep,  or before I get up.
  5. On the treadmill
  6. While jogging
  7. Folding or ironing clothes.  I pray over each pair of socks or underwear, or as I iron each shirt.
  8. At my kitchen table
  9. At work
  10. Washing dishes
  11. Drying my hair
  12. Walking  or Driving – Try a prayer walk around your neighborhood or what I call a prayer drive around a larger area. Want to know how I do that.  I wrote about it here.
  13. When someone upsets you on the highway pray for them
  14. In the checkout line pray for the one checking, sacking and those in line in front of you and behind you
  15. At the beauty shop for those styling and those getting styled
  16. Rocking my grand sons
  17. On the riding lawn mower
  18. On a plane or train for those around you or waiting on you and those who are driving/flying
  19. Movie theater, museums, zoo, ball games
  20. At a restaurant – pray for your waiter and those around you
  21. At church – pray for your pastor, choir, musicians, Bible study friends and those visiting
  22. School – pray for the students and staff and teachers – I often sit in my car in the parking lot lifting our schools in prayer.  I also sit in my chair as a teacher silently praying for the students as they work.
  23. For the mail person as they drive by or walk by.  Also the FedEx/UPS person as they drive by
  24. Ambulances – Pray as one passes you for the ones on the way to the hospital and the ones taking care of them
  25. Fireman – Pray for them as you see them going/coming from a fire
  26. Policeman – Pray each time you pass one
  27. While swimming or just floating in the pool
  28. Before meals
  29. At a hospital or nursing home
  30. Over my Christmas cards as I address them, and later for each one received, I pray for that family.  You can read about how I do that here.  It’s one of our favorite traditions.
  31. On the phone with a friend
  32. Sitting by my pool or on the patio
  33. On my knees
  34. At the beauty shop under a dryer
  35. Some men would say the commode.  I have not done that.
  36. A park bench
  37. An airplane or bus

So how about you?  Where do you pray?  I would love to hear your thoughts so I can add them to this list.

78 Responses to “Places to Pray”

  1. Desiray June 26, 2016 at 9:47 am #

    That was an heart moving movie, me and my husband watched it together. It spoke to us both about our prayer life.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 26, 2016 at 11:49 am #

      Desiree me too. We actually went to the movie to see it, and then bought DVD’s for our married children to watch. I hope they did. I need to ask when I see them today.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. betsydecruz June 26, 2016 at 11:47 am #

    What an encouragement, friend! I love all these ideas. You must be a prayer warrior. I like to pray also when I walk. And when I do dishes, or chop things while cooking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • blog8628 June 30, 2016 at 8:16 am #

      I’d cut myself if I prayed while chopping! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • bloggerlovestheking July 1, 2016 at 2:11 pm #

        Me too girl. I have a hard enough time not cutting myself. LOL! Just getting over these 16 stitches in my two fingers from a glass.

        Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 1, 2016 at 2:10 pm #

      Betsy I pray too when I’m walking. Sometimes I’ll go on a prayer walk and pray while I walk by each house, but most times praying for whatever is on my heart.

      Like

  3. Loved by the King of kings June 26, 2016 at 2:39 pm #

    I pray in my quiet time chair or on my knees in front of it; at the computer for the people and communities/countries involved in news stories when I read the news; for people standing at the bus stop when I drive by; for people walking along the side of the road when I drive by; for people that God puts on my mind, no matter where I am at the time. I pray with other women in the same room at church where a very small number of us have been meeting to pray for years. Sometimes one of them texts me a request, and I pray over it immediately, no matter where I am at the time. Anyplace in the church building when a sister is burdened down; I don’t like to just say I will pray for them and then forget to do so.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 17, 2016 at 10:48 pm #

      Love how you pray driving by the bus stop. I need to remember to pray for people I see outside walking or at a red light.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. GiGiMandy June 26, 2016 at 2:49 pm #

    I was the same after I saw the movie. I wanted a prayer closet. But had a private place in the living room in the morning. Then we moved to a smaller home and there is literally no private place, but the bathroom! Our church has created a prayer room though. I use it every Sunday before worship.
    Two of your places jumped out at me though, in bed in the middle of the night and Whenever I hear a siren… THat’s always been my time to pray for missionary friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Taylor-Made Homestead June 27, 2016 at 9:21 am #

    I’ve never seen The War Room, but I’ve heard it’s an awesome movie. I love your list of prayer locations, but I really love that you pray over your Christmas cards for each of the families. Thanks for sharing your list. (Stopping by from the The Art Of Homemaking Mondays Blog Party)

    ~Taylor-Made Homestead~
    Texas

    Like

  6. Carolina Cisneros June 27, 2016 at 9:45 am #

    I pray a lot these places on the list. I find myself more in prayer in the shower and on the commute to and from work. It’s about 45 mins to an hour so the perfect time to talk to the Lord. Thanks for this post. Have a great rest of your week. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2016 at 9:26 pm #

      Carolina I used to pray driving to work. I was about 45 minutes away too. Thank you and you have a great weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Kimberley Payne June 27, 2016 at 11:18 am #

    I love to pray while I walk…a prayer walk 🙂

    I’m going to share this resource in my BEEP (Bible study/Eating healthy/Exercise/Prayer) newsletter. Thanks for the great ideas!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking June 27, 2016 at 9:30 pm #

      Thank you Kimberley. Appreciate it.

      Like

  8. Kristi Woods June 28, 2016 at 8:31 am #

    Loved the movie. Great list! I often pray while watering the garden/landscaping and immediately when there’s a request noted on social media. Enjoyed the visit today via #raralinkup.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 17, 2016 at 10:50 pm #

      Thanks Kristi. Love that you pray while watering. I haven’t tried that but will.

      Like

  9. Diane W. Bailey June 28, 2016 at 8:38 am #

    Stopping by From Holly’s place. Great suggestions about prayer. We pray without ceasing. Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

      Thanks so much Diane. Yes let’s pray without ceasing.

      Like

  10. Karrilee Aggett June 28, 2016 at 9:48 am #

    Oh I love this.. what a great list! I pray in all of those places as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2016 at 9:23 pm #

      Thanks Karrilee for your words and for visiting.

      Like

  11. Lillian June 28, 2016 at 10:04 am #

    I’ve got a chime that goes off every hour and take that opportunity to pray particularly for my husband (and other things as well) whenever and wherever I am. Wherever I am… whether in the store, on the road or at home… I take a minute and lift up praise, a specific need or a prayer of safety over my hubby.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2016 at 9:22 pm #

      Wow Lillian you are dedicated and organized for sure. Love that. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  12. eclecticredbarn June 28, 2016 at 2:55 pm #

    I have not seen the movie, on my todo list. I pray a lot through the day when I am working, cleaning, or other chores. We always pray at meal time, whether we are at home or out.
    Lovely post.
    Thanks for sharing at Over The Moon party,
    Bev

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2016 at 9:16 pm #

      Bev we always pray at meals too and when we are out to eat too. Thanks for sharing and thank for the link-up each week.

      Like

  13. rjbritton June 28, 2016 at 3:22 pm #

    That is a very comprehensive list, Debbie. I think you have covered all the places where I pray – walking, driving, in bed, in the shower. I love how you pray for the children in your classroom. What a privilege it is for them to have you as their teacher.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bamidele farinre June 30, 2016 at 4:30 pm #

      I love this post. So true about prayer. We shouldn’t wait for the perfect moment or place to pray. Prayer is the very air that we should breathe in. It’s our lifestyle

      Bami

      Liked by 1 person

      • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2016 at 9:55 pm #

        Every moment is a good time to pray I’ve found no matter what is going on good or bad. Thank you so much for stopping by.

        Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2016 at 9:18 pm #

      Thank you Rachel. It’s humbling to pray for students as they are working quietly. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  14. inspiredbyjune June 28, 2016 at 4:05 pm #

    Wow, Debbie, great ideas. I think your list is pretty complete, and makes the point that we can pray anywhere! Have a blessed week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 9, 2016 at 2:10 am #

      Thanks for stopping by. Blessings.

      Like

  15. victorialeetaylor June 28, 2016 at 11:19 pm #

    Love your list!! I pray out loud with my kids all the time for the ambulance/medevac team just so they are aware that when we see a need to pray. My husband and I run a business and I run the retail side where I send out the merchandise. I pray over our customers as I’m mailing them their products.
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 9, 2016 at 2:04 am #

      What an example for the kids. I love that you pray over your customers.

      Like

  16. dadbloguk June 29, 2016 at 1:26 am #

    Never seen the film, but I have seen prayer cabinets. That’s quite an exhaustive list, not sure I can add to it! #ShareWithMe

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 9, 2016 at 2:03 am #

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  17. Christa June 29, 2016 at 5:56 am #

    I love that you are not only praying in PLACES but you are praying for specific PEOPLE. These are great prayer prompts that will remind me to “pray without ceasing.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 9, 2016 at 2:00 am #

      Thanks Christa. Love you lady.

      Like

  18. mummyfever June 29, 2016 at 6:12 am #

    What an amazing list . Thanks for linking to #sharewith me – have a great rest of the week

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 9, 2016 at 1:59 am #

      Thank you and love your link up each week.

      Like

  19. mbethany June 29, 2016 at 9:14 am #

    This is SO comprehensive I cannot think of anywhere to add. And I pray at many of these places/in many of these situations too. So grateful He always hears us. And my husband and I were just discussing bathroom prayers the other day…they are very real too!! Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 9, 2016 at 1:57 am #

      Thank you.

      Like

  20. Cascia Talbert June 29, 2016 at 10:52 am #

    Great ideas! I usually pray the rosary when I am lying in bed trying to fall asleep and in the morning before I wake. Sometimes I only make it through a decade or two before I get interrupted or fall asleep. I heard that the War Room is a great movie, but I haven’t seen it yet.

    Thanks for linking up for Wordless Wednesday. Have a terrific day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 8, 2016 at 10:01 pm #

      I love praying and falling asleep.

      Like

  21. Chris Malkemes June 29, 2016 at 12:45 pm #

    Wow! Awesome. Talk about praying without ceasing. You’ve got it! I pray in the Secret Place in the morning and it starts my day. When I read the newspaper I stop to pray. Maybe these people have no one to pray for them.

    Like

  22. Kathie Whitestone Thompson June 29, 2016 at 3:55 pm #

    The movie moved me for a prayer closet too and I am still going there when I am home which prompted me to place my prayer notes, my lists and etc in a notebook, the kind with clear sleeve envelopes; the pages are protected from wear and tear and easy to add more thoughts and notes AND the big thing for me my prayer closet is portable! When I visit family, go on vacation, any time I am away from home I have MY PRAYER CLOSET with me whether sitting on my daughter’s back deck or a hotel room or cabin in the woods or . . . well, you get the idea. 🙂
    Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

  23. Susan B Mead June 29, 2016 at 6:24 pm #

    Whenever, wherever, for whomever to our Great King, Jesus! Sounds like that’s your answer too Debbie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 1, 2016 at 2:09 pm #

      Oh Susan you always come up with the perfect words and yes Mam, anytime, any place. Love it.

      Like

  24. Laura June 30, 2016 at 7:25 am #

    What a lovely list of inspiring places to pray.
    Thank you for joining Thoughts of Home.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

      Thank you Laura and thank you for Thoughts of Home

      Like

  25. Karen Grosz June 30, 2016 at 8:12 am #

    Love this list…pray without ceasing. I do say short prayers throughout the day, but I get up early just to pray. I walk around my house as I pray. When I started a few years ago, I found that I got to tired early in the morning so I walk. It is a meditation in itself and it works for me. I just wrote about prayer and how it helps willpower, so was fascinated to read this. Would love for you to share this on Let’s Get Real Friday LInk Up that goes live on 5 EST today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

      Karen thank you for stopping by. Just seeing your comment. I did link up with you this evening. Thanks for letting me know about the party.

      Like

    • Karen Grosz July 12, 2016 at 12:04 pm #

      So glad you shared on Let’s Get Real Friday party. Really love this post.

      Liked by 1 person

      • bloggerlovestheking July 13, 2016 at 12:16 am #

        Thanks Karen. I enjoyed your blog this evening.

        Like

  26. blog8628 June 30, 2016 at 8:17 am #

    What a great list! I too pray whenever and wherever the Spirit moves me. But I definitely like having a journal to return to and record my requests and their answers. Pray on, my friend! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

      I love a journal too and haven’t been using it like I should lately.

      Like

  27. Merlinda Little (Glimmer of Hope) June 30, 2016 at 9:39 am #

    Went on top of the hill and prayed there. I realized that I can pray better when I am alone outside. #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

      Jesus also prayed on top of a hill. I bet that was awesome.

      Like

  28. Lisa notes... June 30, 2016 at 10:37 am #

    Ugh–I’m reminded that I still haven’t seen War Room! I need to catch it soon. Although it may be on TV before I get to it. ha. I know I’ve seen it at Redbox. Thanks for the reminders that we can pray anywhere and everywhere! I’m often reminded to pray the most when I’m laying in bed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2016 at 10:08 pm #

      It should be on tv soon. I bought DVDs for our adult kids for Christmas. I need to ask them if they watched it. Hmmmmm. I lay in bed and if I can’t go to sleep I pray, and sometimes at night I feel that God has awakened me to pray.

      Like

  29. Michelle June 30, 2016 at 10:47 am #

    The Bible says, pray without ceasing. I consider that anytime, anywhere! I’ve yet to see that movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2016 at 10:03 pm #

      Oh yes it does Michelle. Thanks for sharing. You need to see that movie with your spouse.

      Like

  30. Courtney's Cookbook June 30, 2016 at 2:17 pm #

    This is a lovely and inspiring post! I like to pray throughout the day, but find that I do a lot of it while cleaning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2016 at 9:59 pm #

      Cleaning is a good time to do it Courtney. Thanks for sharing and stopping by to visit.

      Like

  31. Stacey June 30, 2016 at 5:12 pm #

    Oh I can pray anywhere and everywhere. I’m glad you shared this though because prayer time doesn’t have to be formal..if we stick to that too much it might not happen.

    Happy Thoughts of Home and have a wonderful 4th!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 7, 2016 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Stacey and thank you for Happy Thoughts of Home. Have a great weekend.

      Like

  32. sunSPARKLEshine July 1, 2016 at 5:46 pm #

    With such an extensive list of ideas, I really have no reason not to pray as I go. Love this list!
    Blessings,
    Marva | sunSPARKLEshine

    Liked by 1 person

  33. jonespr2014 July 2, 2016 at 9:53 am #

    Beautiful post today. Makes me feel good to hear about folks to have faith. When I awake in the morning I pray a prayers of worship and thanksgiving an then dedicate my day to be in prayers constantly. I crochet a lot mostly making afghans and lap covers. I offer each stitch for whomever will receive that piece of my work. God bless you. Have a blessed 4th of July holiday.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 2, 2016 at 12:07 pm #

      Thank you. I love your crochet process. How beautiful that you pray over each stitch for the person receiving it.

      Like

  34. Betty July 2, 2016 at 3:24 pm #

    I pray in the waiting room while my son is having a scan.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 9:16 am #

      Betty I would be doing that too. I hope your son is ok.

      Like

  35. Hazel Moon July 2, 2016 at 3:37 pm #

    Your amazing list reminds us that we can pray anywhere at any time, because it is evident we cannot always be on our knees. I pray at my computer, also in my yard, and at night in my kitchen when the house is quiet, I gently sway and lift my hands asking God to raise a hedge around those I pray for. I lower my hands and raise them again as I pray for different persons. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 8:56 am #

      Thanks Hazel for your ideas. I’m adding the computer to my list. Forgot that one. I’ll see someone ask for prayer in one of my groups or on Facebook and I stop to pray for them. I can be found raising my hands in tears as I pray sometimes too.

      Like

  36. Jann Olson July 3, 2016 at 1:01 am #

    Haven’t seen the movie. I don’t kneel often to pray, but find myself praying in my mine many times a day. At night I lie in bed and pray quietly. My knees just aren’t good for kneeling any more. Sure hope the good Lord doesn’t mind! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 11:33 pm #

      Oh Jann I think God understands when our knees won’t let us kneel anymore. He just wants to talk to us no matter where it is. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  37. Amy July 3, 2016 at 7:42 pm #

    Love your list. So many times during the day we just need to take a minute and thank our Creator. Thank you so much for sharing at the Monday Mish Mash Link Party.
    *Hugs*

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 5, 2016 at 8:32 am #

      Thank you Amy. As always love your link-up. Yes, it’s so easy to take a minute and thank our Creator. So thankful He awakens me each morning, and oh the rain this July so unexpected.

      Like

  38. Julie Syl Kalungi July 5, 2016 at 1:17 pm #

    I havent watched the movie, Yet This whole post speaks to me. I pray anywhere, because I believe the Spirit of God is WITHIN ME So he is listenting wherever I am. I obviously sometimes take out special time t go to the mountain, or Kneel before the alter and Simply rest in the Lord..Sometimes I whisper, or Sing, praise or shout with joy, sometimes I just chat with him like yo wold your dad with whom you are very close!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 1:40 pm #

      Julie love all your prayer methods. We don’t have any mountains around. That would be a beautiful place to go.

      Like

Leave a Reply

