Let’s Meet Up Y’all – Declare Conference 2016 – Pre-Conference Post

13 Jul

IMG_3211
Hey y’all!  This Texas girl is ready to meet up with each one of you.  I am so blessed to be able to attend the Declare Conference again this year.  Last year was my first.  I love that Declare is so close to home, and I found it last year in my Facebook feed, or rather God led me there in my Facebook feed.  That sign greeted me that day as I walked in.

I blogged about that wonderful, powerful conference  with pictures here.  If you are new to Declare, check it out and see what you are about to encounter.

I walked away refreshed and ready to blog and not be concerned about statistics, but rather what God had placed on my heart originally to blog about, and that was about Him to the World and to leave a legacy for my family.  I also walked away with so many beautiful freebies.  It was like I got so much more than I paid for with all the free books and bags.

declare 7The theme last year was about going deeper with Him.  I can honestly say I have done that this past year, and it seems I just keep growing and growing deeper the more I read and study and pray, and I am loving reading back through last year’s themed and all the memories of women I met and the things that God laid on my heart.  Ladies, do you really grasp what that picture says that I took at the conference last year.

 Do you grasp how wide and long and high and deep the Savior loves you.

This year’s theme is  Presence.  I cannot wait to see what God is going to teach me this year.  My heart is open and ready.

In preparation for the conference, we were asked to share answers to the following questions and a current picture.  I hope I can find one.  I’m always the one taking the pictures.

1. If we were meeting in person, how would you introduce yourself? (job, family, career, ministry, where you live … share whatever details come to mind)

Hi there my name is Debbie.  I am a born and raised Texan, and will probably die here.  I live about twenty miles south of Dallas.  I have been married to my high-school sweetheart for 47 years this August.  Yes, I’m still in love with him.

11165319_1105851462763911_6938496122427500585_n-2

We have a son and a daughter who are both married and each of our children each have one boy.  Those little guys are one and a half and the other almost three.  I spend many days babysitting with them.  What a joy!  This was our latest picture on my birthday at one of my favorite places to eat – Cheddars.

13407261_1343918112290577_2463729259262987346_n

And this is a picture last Halloween.  The two-year old was wearing a costume my precious Mama made for my son that I had put away upstairs.

Me - Colt and Cal Halloween

I am retired, but I  substitute teach.  God really spoke to me when I retired about being a light to my community, not just at church but in the world.    Many days I substitute special needs children.

I worked for the Government, before retirement, for over 43 years in contracting.

I spend a lot of time as a volunteer team leader for Proverbs 31 On-line Bible Studies.  I love it.  It’s changed my life being in the Word every day, and this summer well it’s taught me some ways to encourage my husband in a study called, The Husband Project.  There are over 50,000 women doing this study.

My ministries are family and friends, blogging, substitute teaching, and leading at Proverbs.  Those things make a busy, hectic life that I am living to the fullest.

2. What is your favorite thing to write and why?

My favorite thing to write about is my Lord and my family because without them there would be nothing to write about.  I have enjoyed writing about my goals the last few months because they keep me on track.

3. What is your favorite thing to read and why? (If this question is too broad for you avid readers, what’s a favorite book or blog you’ve read lately?)

My favorite thing to read is my Bible.  For so many years it was boring, but the Word has come alive in my study time.   I do all the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies.    I also read the First 5 App devotional each morning on my phone which is also part of  Proverbs 31, and I can be found doing all the studies at my church too.  Occasionally I love picking up a good fiction book like one by Karen Kingsbury.

4. If you could choose to do anything for a day, what would it be?

Family Tree Research because it took a back seat for so many years, and now so many have gone that could have helped me in my research.

5. What’s one thing you love about your blog and one thing you’d like to improve?

That I am sharing with people all over the World.  It’s all about knowing Him more and making Him known to me and others.  Truly, most of my writing draws me closer to Him. My writing should be impacting me as well as others.

I have been praying about how I can improve my blog and seeking God’s direction so I stay put where He wants me.  Last year at Declare when Kris Camealy spoke, I realized my blog should be an altar and not a platform to bring recognition to me, not statistics.  Kris reminded us that when we build anything other than that altar to Him, we are not honoring Him.

6. [Lightening Round] Would you rather …

  • Read on Kindle or paperback?  Paperback so I can underline and highlight.
  • Drink coffee or tea?  Coffee all morning and tea in the afternoon and evening.
  • Go to a musical or a movie?  Movie
  • Vacation at the beach or the mountains?  Love both but probably the beach.
  • Have an exciting night out or a relaxing night in?  Relaxing night in.
  • Watch sports, play sports, or no sports?  No sports, except olympics or if some of my family is playing and yes sometimes I love watching a good ole’ Texas Ranger game.

WELCOME to Declare y’all.  Can’t wait to meet you.

I would love to connect and meet you there, but in the interim, you can find me here.

Personal Blog

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook Ministry Page

Declare-Attendee-Button-2016

56 Responses to “Let’s Meet Up Y’all – Declare Conference 2016 – Pre-Conference Post”

  1. Carolina Cisneros July 13, 2016 at 9:57 am #

    I’m in San Antonio, Texas! Where is this Declare Conference held and is there a writing aspect to it? How fantastic. Love hearing about this and of course, who can beat a good ole Rangers game. I named my son after Nolan Ryan! 🙂 xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 13, 2016 at 2:23 pm #

      Hi Carolina. It is in Southlake this year but always around Dallas. I just saw someone post a ticket for sale at her price of $129 because she bought early, and now can’t go. Yes, it is all about blogging. We don’t actually write, but there are lots of speakers. I’ll see if I can add a link here. Should have put one on the blog. http://declareconference.com

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Valerie July 13, 2016 at 11:29 am #

    I hope you have a great time at the conference. I hope to attend one some day! I loved reading about what you’ve learned blogging. I also love a book I can hold and make notes in! I’m your neighbor at Coffee for Your Heart linkup. It’s a joy to meet you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 13, 2016 at 2:59 pm #

      Hey Valerie I know I will. So glad you were my neighbor. I loved your blog and tweeted one of my favorite thoughts from there. Thanks.

      Like

  3. Dianne Thornton July 13, 2016 at 11:40 am #

    Debbie! I hope to meet you there! I’m bummed you missed out on the link up. But I’m so glad you posted this and I got to come over and learn more about you. 🙂 This will be my first time … but I feel like I know so many already!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 1:26 am #

      Thanks Dianne. I think it is so nice that they have the link-up. It was there the night before and I got to writing because I had missed it and finished up and it was closed. HA! God’s always on time and in control. You are going to love it.

      Like

  4. GiGiMandy July 13, 2016 at 1:20 pm #

    sounds like a great conference. Wish I was able to come.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 13, 2016 at 2:54 pm #

      Wish you could come too so we could meet GiGi.

      Liked by 1 person

      • GiGiMandy July 15, 2016 at 9:54 pm #

        My sister lives in Austin. If I have one desire it would be to visit her. And I am finding many other reasons to go to Texas. Such as yourself. But for now must be friends apart. 😦 I saw the Hope Writers workshop is n in Charlotte. . That one is a little more possible.. but finances as still an issue right now.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Cascia Talbert July 13, 2016 at 3:15 pm #

    Have a fabulous time at your conference!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 1:15 am #

      I will Cascia. Thank you.

      Like

  6. Lynnae McCoy July 13, 2016 at 8:37 pm #

    I love the colors of your blog! Beautiful!

    I hope we get to meet at Declare!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 1:13 am #

      I hope so too Lynnae. Not sure how big it is going to be and if we’ll all recognize each other but I’ll remember your name for sure. Thanks for the compliment on my colors.

      Like

  7. queenofthehousehold July 14, 2016 at 7:06 am #

    That sounds like a great conference. I didn’t know there were Christian blog conferences! I didn’t used to pray about my blog, but about 6 months ago, I finally realized that it was something that I needed to let God use rather than worry about the numbers. It was fun reading more about you. My son is 2, so he is right in between the ages of your grandsons. They have so much energy at this age!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 1:08 am #

      My grandsons are so different. One is content playing with toy cars all day or watching Mickey Mouse, but the younger one is climbing in chairs, tossing toys all over and playing with one for a few minutes. They are fun and yes energy for the 1.5 year old. Hoping he slows down a little bit.

      Like

  8. Brooke Grangard July 14, 2016 at 8:42 am #

    Sounds like a wonderful time! Nice to read more about you too!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 1:04 am #

      Thanks Brooke. I’m so ready for some refreshing Godly downtime with sisters in Christ.

      Like

  9. Renee Fisher July 14, 2016 at 9:24 am #

    Looking forward to meeting you too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 1:01 am #

      Hope we can all find each other.

      Like

  10. Lisa notes... July 14, 2016 at 10:49 am #

    Wish I could be there too, Debbie. It sounds like a great event and I LOVE the theme of Presence. Can’t wait to hear more about it after you return.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 1:00 am #

      Thanks Lisa. I can’t wait to take pictures this year and write about it again. Memories. Oh yes write it. I just read about writing words down on your blog a bit ago.

      Like

  11. Heather July 14, 2016 at 3:43 pm #

    Wow… I really wish I lived in TX now! How great to have such and uplifting conference right in your backyard! I loved learning more about you Debbie!! And thank you especially for sharing this bit of wisdom —> when we build anything other than that altar to Him, we are not honoring Him…. It was hard for me to realize last year when I was so consumed by the stats… but it’s been so much more fulfilling to turn them off (!!) and lift others up and give Him the glory He deserves! P.S. I also love family history research– I did some for my dad on Ancestry.com for Father’s Day and it was FASCINATING! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 12:47 am #

      Thanks Heather. I love Ancestry.com. Been a member for a long time, but it is hard these days to get on and spend a lot of time. Thank you for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Michelle July 14, 2016 at 5:44 pm #

    Loved getting to know you better and I want to come hang out and have tea in the afternoons with you. The conference sounds life changing for sure. Thanks for sharing on Book Wino today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 12:44 am #

      Thanks Michelle. I hope I get to do that tea. So much happening around here right now. Thanks for the link-up.

      Like

  13. mummyfever July 14, 2016 at 6:46 pm #

    Hope you have a great time and love that Halloween costume…also love Texas by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 12:42 am #

      Thank you and yes I will. That costume hopefully will be worn by the younger grandson this year.

      Like

  14. lauraingallsgunn July 14, 2016 at 8:22 pm #

    This conference sounds wonderful. I am in the D/FW area and will look into next years conference. Thank you so much for joining the gathering at Thoughts of Home on Thursday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 12:42 am #

      Yes you would love it and thanks again for the Thoughts of Home link-up.

      Like

  15. Kathleen Aherne (@CoolTweed) July 15, 2016 at 3:34 am #

    It sounds like a wonderful conference. Do you know Wendy, who wrote our featured post on Memories, she is going to the conference too. I trust you will be greatly blessed as you go.

    Kathleen
    Bloggers Pit Stop – the home of great posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 12:32 am #

      Kathleen I don’t know Wendy, but hope to meet up with her. I chatted on her post with her.

      Like

    • Wendy July 17, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

      Whoop, whoop!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  16. kim July 15, 2016 at 10:26 am #

    Nice to learn a bit more about you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 12:26 am #

      Thanks Kim and thanks for Little Things each week.

      Like

  17. welcomesue July 15, 2016 at 10:44 am #

    So glad to be blogging next to you this morning – i’ve run across the title Declare on my instagram but haven’t researched it yet – this helps and God bless you mightily! I’m heading to She Speaks on Wednesday and plan to enjoy an equal blast (:

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 16, 2016 at 12:25 am #

      Enjoy She Speaks. I want to go one day, but I’d like to have a book ready. It’s expensive to go from Texas so Declare is the next best thing and so close to my home.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  18. jrosieallen July 17, 2016 at 1:23 pm #

    Sounds like fun!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 21, 2016 at 9:10 pm #

      It certainly was last year. Thanks for stopping by and visiting. Loved your grace story.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jrosieallen July 21, 2016 at 9:13 pm #

        It’s hard not to love Jesus….I have a feeling that’s why we all write about him!

        Liked by 1 person

  19. Wendy July 17, 2016 at 8:38 pm #

    Debbie, I keep finding you in different places – this time at Over the Moon! 🙂 We DEFINITELY have to meet in person at Declare. Just 11 days!!! Can’t wait! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2016 at 7:58 pm #

      Ha! Ha! Wendy. Let’s link up at Declare.

      Like

  20. MmrliRuddy July 17, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

    I remember reading about bloggers like Tsh Oxenrider from the Art of Simple, rave about the Declare conference. You are so lucky it is near by. Sounds like a great met up! Also I really enjoyed reading the answers to your questions. Have a great time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

      Thanks Melissa. I am so glad it’s close.

      Like

  21. Michele Morin July 18, 2016 at 7:09 am #

    Stopped in my tracks: When we build anything other than an altar to Him . . .
    Trusting for grace to avoid building a Tower.
    What a convicting thought.

    Thank you for sharing your experience, and I hope you have a wonderful time this year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2016 at 9:22 pm #

      I know Michele. It stopped me too last year. Thank you sweet lady.

      Liked by 1 person

  22. gabrielletylerblog July 18, 2016 at 12:59 pm #

    I want to go! I’m about to look into this a little more! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gabrielletylerblog July 18, 2016 at 1:04 pm #

      Man, I am already at a retreat the dates of the conference. 😦 Maybe next year!

      Liked by 1 person

      • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2016 at 7:59 pm #

        Shoot! Maybe next year Gabrielle.

        Like

  23. Mary Geisen July 19, 2016 at 7:55 am #

    Oh how I wish I was going to Declare. I would love to meet you. I enjoyed reading the answers to your questions. I always love getting to know blogging friends better. I pray the conference is fulfilling and uplifting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2016 at 7:59 pm #

      Mary I wish you could come. I feel like I already know you.

      Like

  24. MaryHill July 20, 2016 at 11:33 am #

    I love conferences. I am at the Highlights Summer Camp at the Barn this week. You learn so much about writing. I am trying to learn how to write a novel. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

      OH wow a novel Mary. Eeeeeek.

      Like

  25. Mary-The Boondocks Blog July 20, 2016 at 3:09 pm #

    That sounds like a really great conference. And they were right to tell you to stop worrying about statistics and concentrate more on what your purpose is.. I really like the idea of a blog as an alter. It was nice meeting you and I thank you for joining us over at Sweet Inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 20, 2016 at 9:06 pm #

      Thank you Mary. Love joining you ladies.

      Liked by 1 person

  26. Hazel MOon July 22, 2016 at 8:27 pm #

    Our Pastor has been emphasizing the importance of being in the Presence of Jesus, and then taking His Presence out into our world. The Declare conference sound amazing. I am committed to a Joyce Meyer Conference next week in Sacramento, CA. and am desiring to soak up the presence of God. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 23, 2016 at 7:42 pm #

      Hazel I can’t wait to see what all God is going to teach us. I pray you’ll hear just the words He has for you too. Let’s soak it up and come back here and share His presence with the world.

      Enjoy. I love Joyce.

      Like

Leave a Reply

