5 Bible Verses – Where Do I Find Help?

22 Jul

tranquility-2

When Kate Motaung said the word prompt this week was help, I immediately thought, help what am I going to write about.  I went scripture because that is where I go when I need help, strength, advice and encouragement.  Actually, the Bible is the only place we should go for help.

Do you need help today?  Are you going through trials, studying for exams, discouraged, grieving, struggling with marriage, weight loss, children and so many other things than here  are some of my favorite scriptures on help.

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” Psalm 46:1 (KJV)  

I really wanted to see if I could understand this verse better by going to Dictionary.com and looking up the definitions of words or what we seldom refer to as verse mapping:

  • Refuge – a place of shelter, protection or safety
  • Strength – the quality or state of being strong; bodily or muscular power; vigor
  • Very– acutely
  • Present – at this time; at hand, immediate
  • Help – assist, aid
  • Trouble – to disturb the mental calm and contentment of;  worry; distress; agitate

He is my shelter, my safety, my muscle at all times – always, immediately in times of distress or worry.”

“Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.”  Isaiah 41:10 (KJV)

I love making verses personal so for the one above I would write, so do not fear Debbie, for I am with you; do not be dismayed Debbie, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you Debbie and help you; I will uphold you Debbie with my righteous right hand.

“My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth .”  Psalm 121:2 (KJV)

“Behold, God is mine helper: the Lord is with them that uphold my soul. ” Psalm 54:4 (KJV)

Joining Kate today and #FMF family writing for five minutes on the word help.  Come join us.

signature

This post was featured on Thoughtful Thursdays on 8/11/16.

63 Responses to “5 Bible Verses – Where Do I Find Help?”

  1. Emma Hughes (@verycrankymummy) July 22, 2016 at 2:14 am #

    Lots of great reminders there! Thanks for writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 7:52 am #

      Thanks Emma and thanks for commenting.

      Like

  2. Andrew Budek-Schmeisser July 22, 2016 at 9:44 am #

    Wonderful post, Debbie. Very useful approach, and one I am going to try. Thank you for sharing this!

    #1 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2016/07/your-dying-spouse-184-circle-of-help-fmf.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 2:12 pm #

      Thanks Andrew. I enjoyed reading your blog this week. Have a great weekend!

      Like

  3. Christy July 22, 2016 at 12:01 pm #

    Those are some great verses Debbie! He is our greatest help and I’m so grateful to to know Him!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 22, 2016 at 2:12 pm #

      Thank you Christy. I am so grateful to know Him. Where would we be without Him?

      Like

  4. Dianne Thornton July 22, 2016 at 10:43 pm #

    I love your breakdown of Psalm 46:1, Debbie! God is “at hand!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 23, 2016 at 7:33 pm #

      Thanks Dianne. Yes He is always at hand.

      Like

  5. gracefulcoffee July 23, 2016 at 12:52 pm #

    What beautiful scriptures! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Blessings,
    Edye | http://gracefulcoffee.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 23, 2016 at 7:24 pm #

      Thanks so much Edye.

      Like

  6. Karen Grosz July 24, 2016 at 10:43 am #

    These are great scriptures and yes putting our names in the verses does make it more personal and real. Thanks for sharing on Let’s Get Real.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 1:42 pm #

      Thank you Karen. I love visiting Let’s Get Real.

      Like

  7. Carrie July 24, 2016 at 12:44 pm #

    I love how you referred to God as your muscle! He is our strong arm in any danger! Thank you for sharing with us!

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 1:44 pm #

      Ha Carrie. That is a neat thing I derived from that verse. Thank you for stopping by and for the link-up.

      Like

  8. Lisa notes... July 24, 2016 at 5:09 pm #

    I substituted my own name in the verses as I read through them. Yes, it does make a difference! Thanks for sharing these five with us. Always needed and always good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 1:45 pm #

      Thank you Lisa. I try to do that a lot. It does make them so very personal.

      Like

  9. Michele Morin July 24, 2016 at 9:41 pm #

    These words remind me why the psalmist said, “The law of Thy mouth is better to me than thousands of gold and silver.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 1:45 pm #

      Yes so true Michele.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Kathleen Aherne (@CoolTweed) July 25, 2016 at 3:01 am #

    Thanks for sharing these wonderful verses. We so often need to be reminded.
    Kathleen
    Bloggers Pit Stop

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 1:45 pm #

      Yes we do Kathleen. Thank you for visiting and thanks for the link-up.

      Like

  11. jerralea July 25, 2016 at 11:37 am #

    Thanks for sharing, Debbie. I love all those verses, but especially Isaiah 41:10. I love to insert my name in scripture as well. It just makes it so more personal.

    I agree with you; when I need help, the first place to go is the Word.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 3:36 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by Jerralea. Enjoyed visiting you.

      Like

  12. kchripczuk July 25, 2016 at 11:50 am #

    God’s help reminds me that I don’t always have to be so strong. Thanks for linking!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 3:37 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by. You are right we don’t have to be strong because He is for us.

      Like

  13. Lydia Borengasser July 25, 2016 at 11:59 am #

    Visiting from Open Mic Monday at Cisneros Cafe. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 3:38 pm #

      Hey Lydia. Thank you for stopping by. Been visiting you this week.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Donna Reidland July 25, 2016 at 8:46 pm #

    What a great way to meditate on a verse and make it personal! Sometimes we just need to slow down and think deeply, even about familiar verses! Thanks for sharing!

    I’m visiting today from “Our Home of Many Blessings” linkup.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 3:38 pm #

      Thank you Donna. I always enjoy the link-up.

      Like

  15. mysideof50 July 26, 2016 at 5:37 am #

    Some of my favorite verses that I memorized years ago. And I still remember them! Thanks for the encouragement and for sharing with #overthemoon

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 3:38 pm #

      Thank you for your encouragement.

      Like

  16. heather marshall July 27, 2016 at 8:26 am #

    ♥ Your post is a very practical answer to a prayer for a little help this morning ♥ I love when I see God’s hand clearly moving. Grateful to be linked up next to you at #tellhisstory this morning. Have a wonderful day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 17, 2016 at 11:04 pm #

      Thank you Heather. Have a great day.

      Like

  17. Kathleen July 27, 2016 at 10:55 am #

    Great post! Absolutely, our help comes from God. We’re to go to Him first!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 6:01 pm #

      Thanks Kathleen. I absolutely loved your post on infected computer. I just printed it out and plan to use it like probably tomorrow.

      Like

  18. welcomesue July 27, 2016 at 11:33 am #

    great reminders – He’s there, but I don’t always act or pray that He is! An EVER PRESENT help is a great present! have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking July 27, 2016 at 5:55 pm #

      Thank you Sue. He is our greatest present – EVER PRESENT.

      Like

  19. Kristi Woods July 27, 2016 at 6:13 pm #

    PS 46:1 is an all-time favorite. I LOVE that scripture and the help He offers with it. Enjoyed the visit.

    Like

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 4:26 pm #

      Thank you Kristi for visiting and commenting too.

      Like

  20. Cascia Talbert July 27, 2016 at 7:58 pm #

    Those are all great verses. Thanks for linking up for Wordless Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 17, 2016 at 10:57 pm #

      Thank you Cascia.

      Like

  21. A Welder's Wife July 28, 2016 at 10:36 am #

    These are great versus references! I am so glad you shared these with us at Thoughful Thursday Link Up! I needed this reminder today. (It has been a rough couple of days.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 7, 2016 at 9:04 am #

      So glad you stopped by to comment and I hope this day is going much better. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  22. Bronwyn Marcus July 28, 2016 at 10:44 am #

    I just read Psalm 121 this morning…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogger Loves The King October 17, 2016 at 11:05 pm #

      I love how God works reconfirming things over and over.

      Like

  23. Michelle July 28, 2016 at 3:18 pm #

    These verses helped to remind me to prayer like this for someone who is hurting in my life right now. Thanking you for linking this today at Thankful Heart at Party at My Place.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 3:46 pm #

      Thanks Michelle. I love how God is always on time.

      Like

  24. Pumpkinella July 28, 2016 at 6:06 pm #

    I don’t turn to the bible half as much as i should do. Thanks for reminding me that’s the first place i need to go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 3:41 pm #

      I didn’t use to turn to the Bible like I should have either. I used to think it was boring. Man was I wrong.

      Liked by 1 person

  25. apoconant July 28, 2016 at 9:57 pm #

    Thanks for sharing on Peace, Love, Linkup! I hope to see you tomorrow at 6 for more sharing fun! : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 3, 2016 at 3:39 pm #

      Thank you for the link-up.

      Like

  26. Hazel Moon July 28, 2016 at 9:58 pm #

    “Yes, God is our very present help in time of trouble” – – (and always at other times too.) Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:27 am #

      Thank you Hazel for visiting and thanks for the Tell Me A Story link-up.

      Like

  27. Lux G. July 29, 2016 at 9:06 pm #

    The Bible has always the answer to everything. Amazing, isn’t it?
    We can always run to God.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:22 am #

      Oh yes it does.

      Like

  28. craftcreatecalm July 31, 2016 at 3:33 pm #

    Thanks for linking up at Welcome Home Wednesdays!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 9:18 am #

      Thank you for the link-up.

      Like

  29. mummyfever August 2, 2016 at 3:07 pm #

    Thanks for linking to #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

      Thank you!!!

      Like

  30. nikkifrankhamilton August 2, 2016 at 6:07 pm #

    These verses are my favorites, I am always needing to remind myself that I’m not alone, and these are constants for me. I can’t even choose a favorite, I love them all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bloggerlovestheking August 2, 2016 at 8:21 pm #

      Thanks Nikki!

      Like

  31. Lori Schumaker of Seaching for Moments August 5, 2016 at 12:18 am #

    Hi Debbie,
    I love personalizing and praying scripture. There is so much power in it! I love the verses you shared. Beautiful help … and hope! Thank you for sharing at #MomentsofHope. I appreciate you!
    Blessings and smiles,
    Lori

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Bible Verses – Where Do I Find Help? | Blogger Loves The King – Sarah's Attic Of Treasures - July 28, 2016

    […] https://mixwilliams.wordpress.com/2016/07/22/5-bible-verses-where-do-i-find-help/ From Blogger Loves The King:  […]

    Like

  2. Thoughtful Thursdays: Nehemiah's prayer - Creative K Kids - August 4, 2016

    […] 5 Bible Verses – Where Do I Find Help? from Blogger Loves the King […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

